The Collector - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Collector Reviews

Page 1 of 150
November 2, 2017
I've seen without exaggeration every horror movie (with the exception of two of them) that has come out in the past decade and this is the best I've ever seen. It is SO much more than just gore porn. It actually takes the time to explain the main character's motivation and personality and puts the audience in a ton of suspense. Have you ever seen a horror movie and thought to yourself "Man this guy is an idiot he should be doing ___ instead" Well picture a main character who does every thing right and still things keep going wrong. Nothing is scarier than having a character do exactly what you yell at the screen for him to do and still end up in deeper trouble because it means you as the audience would not do any better in the situation. overall great movie.
½ September 28, 2017
PROS: The protagonist is likable, so you'll pull for him to get out of the house. The villain is pretty twisted and creepy, in part because he just seems unbeatable. Some of the traps in the house are ridiculously over-the-top but do give the film a bit of a "Saw" feeling.

CONS: How does the protagonist sneak around the house for so long without running into the villain? Did the villain really need to set up those many elaborate traps just to take down a Dad and his wife and daughters? The film makes you feel uneasy but doesn't really have any big scares.
July 25, 2017
This is one of those cat and mouse game type horror films, which makes for some suspense, but, after a while, becomes tedious. The Collector ain't a bad movie, on the contrary, fans of bloody torture while adore this flick. But the character development is very thin and I would really have liked to know, with more details, the killer's motivation, although this may be explained later in the sequel. This movie is a lot like Saw, in fact it was written by the same people, so you can be sure it's gonna be a very gory flick, with over the top kills, which is it. But it's a descent horror movie and I also recommend it for gore hounds !!
July 5, 2017
Suspense too the max!! Definaltly caught my eye... a little slow, at first, but picked up right away all the way till the last minute!
July 3, 2017
An indie horror series that is extremely underrated. The first film I really liked as it has genuine terror in a cat and mouse plot setting. The gore is also pretty sweet and you can tell it had a Saw influence. The one downfall is the acting from some of the actors and actresses is subpar but it's still a great watch
May 22, 2017
Awesome movie, creepy, great acting! There was torture and gore but that made the movie even scarier. I was in the edge of my seat for most of the movie!
March 2, 2017
The Collector has a compelling premise (burglar breaks into a serial killer's home) that quickly devolves into standard torture porn fare.
February 18, 2017
Really great. I always love to see Frances se la Tour. The fashions are breathtaking and what beautiful actors.. I can't wait to see season two
December 27, 2016
I love this home-invasion torture porn films, I really do, and this one is by far my favourite one.
November 15, 2016
"He always takes one"

Sangre, tripas y violencia que no tienen una historia creíble para apoyar todo el gore. No sólo asquerosa sino sin ninguna motivación y el villano es debil porque ni siquiera da miedo. Escena fortuita donde se muestran senos innecesariamente. No tiene ninguna cualidad redimible.
½ September 3, 2016
strange horror movie
September 2, 2016
Just didn't like it.
½ August 8, 2016
great movie, really gory
June 9, 2016
love the first one can't wait till collection 3 comes out sec one was good hope the third one is a great film
½ May 18, 2016
A breath of fresh air in the recently stagnant slasher horror sub-genre. The Collector brings in a new psychopath with a new gimmick and it is well worth your time.
February 24, 2016
The collector is a typically frustrating horror film, focusing on needless gore and creating deaths from stupidity rather than ingenuity. It plays with ideas that break the follow, and has character play out scenes unrealistically and predictably. In its silliness, it is a bore and an effort to watch.
½ February 19, 2016
Really exhibits the worst tropes of the slasher-horror genre, but it does have a few pros: Josh Stewart is easy to empathize with in the lead roll. The soundtrack kicks ass. While the camerawork is mediocre for the most part, it has some occasionally outstanding moments.
½ February 6, 2016
Though it does feature some inventive kills and a creepy villain, The collector relies too heavily on blood baths and begging comparisons to better torture porns, particularly Saw (this was actually going to be a prequel at first hand).
½ January 17, 2016
It took me a couple of viewings to appreciate this. I don't care for the Saw franchise, which this was intended to be part of. This is more atmospheric and features an intriguing main character that is a formidable match for the titular villain.
January 2, 2016
Could it be that others are finally learning from the makers of Korean horror? This would suggest so. This is one of the nastiest horrors I've seen in the English language. This isn't particularly scary but it is disturbing. Nice one mr director.
Page 1 of 150