The Collector - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Collector Reviews

Page 1 of 150
November 15, 2016
"He always takes one"

Sangre, tripas y violencia que no tienen una historia creíble para apoyar todo el gore. No sólo asquerosa sino sin ninguna motivación y el villano es debil porque ni siquiera da miedo. Escena fortuita donde se muestran senos innecesariamente. No tiene ninguna cualidad redimible.
½ September 3, 2016
strange horror movie
September 2, 2016
Just didn't like it.
½ August 8, 2016
great movie, really gory
June 9, 2016
love the first one can't wait till collection 3 comes out sec one was good hope the third one is a great film
½ May 18, 2016
A breath of fresh air in the recently stagnant slasher horror sub-genre. The Collector brings in a new psychopath with a new gimmick and it is well worth your time.
February 24, 2016
The collector is a typically frustrating horror film, focusing on needless gore and creating deaths from stupidity rather than ingenuity. It plays with ideas that break the follow, and has character play out scenes unrealistically and predictably. In its silliness, it is a bore and an effort to watch.
½ February 19, 2016
Really exhibits the worst tropes of the slasher-horror genre, but it does have a few pros: Josh Stewart is easy to empathize with in the lead roll. The soundtrack kicks ass. While the camerawork is mediocre for the most part, it has some occasionally outstanding moments.
½ February 6, 2016
Though it does feature some inventive kills and a creepy villain, The collector relies too heavily on blood baths and begging comparisons to better torture porns, particularly Saw (this was actually going to be a prequel at first hand).
½ January 17, 2016
It took me a couple of viewings to appreciate this. I don't care for the Saw franchise, which this was intended to be part of. This is more atmospheric and features an intriguing main character that is a formidable match for the titular villain.
January 2, 2016
Could it be that others are finally learning from the makers of Korean horror? This would suggest so. This is one of the nastiest horrors I've seen in the English language. This isn't particularly scary but it is disturbing. Nice one mr director.
½ December 14, 2015
This movie was just wickedly cruel and I loved it for that.
½ November 9, 2015
Not a bad little horror flick - almost made the 8/10 but not quite. Billed as a potential prequel to the Saw series, this movie demonstrates why with its relentless use of torture like booby traps. The scene is all set up very nicely with a young criminal intent on stealing from the family he is working for, only to find that someone is intruding within the house at the same time. The latter burglar however, is looking to take something far more valuable than a previous gemstone, as he wants the wilting body of one of the households victims. Contrary to a burglars normal emotions, the young (more humane) villain then takes it upon himself to try and save the family from this more psychopathic invader, only to see his efforts in vain as the bodies fall victim to several of the innovative death traps laid about the house. You can really see how this was potentially linked in with the Saw franchise, but not enough focus was on the killing machines mentality for me. Saw is about an intelligent yet deluded mastermind, whereas little is established with regards to the identity of this assailant and he appears to kill for killings sake, and for sport, as opposed to the 'tests' that Jigsaw establishes. I guess it's a tad disappointing that the ending doesn't go as far as to explain who the murderer was, and why he was planning such drastic measures, but I'm always up for a sequel if that's what it was heading towards. This was much better than I had predicted, and is staking a claim to be one of the more credible horrors of late, yet I do feel it was a good decision to keep it separate from the Saw franchise, as it is missing a touch of intellectual class that those movies add.
½ October 3, 2015
Lots of gore but still entertaining
October 1, 2015
A suspenseful watch, but a little gory for my taste.
½ August 15, 2015
Very gory and very inventive death scenes. Underrated horror film.

Grade = 7/10
½ July 24, 2015
An interesting enough combination of the so-called torture porn genre mixed with a home invasion plot. Nothing new, but it does have style. [B-]
July 3, 2015
Fans of the "Saw" franchise's style of inventive and grisly kills paired with a more anonymous villain will fall in love with "The Collector". Others need not apply.
March 31, 2015
Perhaps not the most original of storylines given there's so many of these types of horror movies made nowadays, but it is inventive enough with its subplots to create the feeling of something new.
March 27, 2015
Finally a slasher movie that is as original for these days as it can be. Shocking and genuinely scary at times, the deaths made me twitch while I self-sadistically wanted more. But I didn't have to wait for long.
Page 1 of 150