Amadeus - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Amadeus Reviews

Page 1 of 396
July 14, 2017
Historical inaccuracies aside the music is enough to warrant five stars but it backs it up with a riveting story-line, great costumes, and well done cinematography. This is definitely a movie I strongly recommend.
June 22, 2017
A well crafted biopic enhanced by its acting and writing.
June 1, 2017
a film about classical music was not somrthing that i though i would like especially as i watched this film when it came out i was 9 going on 10yrs and i was fascinated by it and it stuck with me though the years
½ May 11, 2017
Long. Still good, really funny, tried to learn the piano after watching Amadeus.
April 21, 2017
It drags on and some other things make it difficult to follow and hold an interest for the duration. F. Murray Abraham is very good, as usual.
April 14, 2017
This film is quite simply superior to any movie set in the 18th century. One of the ten or twenty best movies ever produced.
April 9, 2017
Genial la verķa diez veces.
April 3, 2017
10 out of 10:

It might not be accurate, but it's clever, funny, well acted, and filled with beautiful sets and costumes.
March 24, 2017
Amazing time piece of a movie and fricking hilarious.
February 28, 2017
While it loses points for its blatant inaccuracies, "Amadeus" makes up for it by going the extra mile by doing more than tell the story of someone's life. It touches on themes of obsession and censorship, something you wouldn't expect a biopic to do.
February 24, 2017
Despite being historically inaccurate, as said by Lisa Simpson, it is a work adapted from a play from Peter Shaffer. F. Murray Abraham was perfect as Antonio Salieri, the jealous composer that really hates Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart and his Oscar was well deserved. Tom Hulce was also a really annoying Mozart. 8 from 11 nominations won at the Oscars. Incredible! Listening to Mozart's music throughout the 3-hour film is great!
February 7, 2017
Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart (Hulce) is a remarkably talented young Viennese composer who unwittingly finds a fierce rival in the disciplined and determined Antonio Salieri (Abraham). Resenting Mozart for both his hedonistic lifestyle and his undeniable talent, the highly religious Salieri is gradually consumed by his jealousy and becomes obsessed with Mozart's downfall, leading to a devious scheme that has dire consequences for both men.
January 30, 2017
Brilliant, doesn't need my rating, but i gave it 5, superb movie.
January 27, 2017
A 'Movies' Hall-of-Famer. Outstanding in every single aspect of what it takes to make a movie. Talk about perfection...
January 26, 2017
A great movie. I just wish it was not so fictionalized.
January 22, 2017
I have no idea of the historic accuracy of this film. Still, the music, costumes and locations cannot be faulted.
January 9, 2017
????? ????? ??????? ?? ????? ?????.
January 9, 2017
Beautifully told, handsomely filmed, and magnificently mounted story of W.A.Mozart and the Fan-From-Hell who stalks him with the intent of killing him. Seen through Salieri's jealous eyes, Mozart seems to be some sort of unholy angel unworthy of his own brilliance. A chilling retelling of one of music's oldest legends. Personal footnote...Jeffery Jones all but steals the show from Abraham and Hulce, which is no mean feat.
December 18, 2016
As odd as the movie is (especially the director's cut), it is hauntingly entertaining
November 18, 2016
Prob not historically accurate. However quality entertainment.
Page 1 of 396