Carnage - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Carnage Reviews

Page 1 of 95
Super Reviewer
October 16, 2016
I really wanted to watch this movie and now that i've seen it i am not disappointed!
Its going to be a Marmite kind of film, your either going to Hate it with a passion or just absolutely Love it !
Me personally i Loved it! I thought it was original, written extremely well, it was acted beautifully which isn't a shock when its such a great cast! Its nice to see that Polanski has done one better than Ghost Writer as that was a truly dreadful movie!
Its made beautifully and it sticks to the true form of being a play, which is great!
Its Just a good movie that is thoroughly enjoyable and i just loved the ending a true play form which i loved!
½ September 27, 2016
Madness. Insanity. Mild over-acting. Oddly grand? Anything with John C. Instantly loses stars.
September 6, 2016
Saw it on BBC player. High expectations because of the cast; started well, then degenerated, holding my attention about as well as an average TV show. So NOT a film worthy of the director or actors. Was it the script? Or was it the director? Or was it them? If you have time to spare and are VERY bored, then maybe watch it. But there are funnier / darker / sadder pieces on marital and social conflict, so I'd go to a TV show rather than this, I'm sorry to say, despite the stellar cast.
½ September 4, 2016
There are clever twists and turns in the script as the discussion between the 2 couples gets way out of hand but I have never found overacting funny. There seems little about this film that works better than it would have on the stage.
½ August 18, 2016
Well done black comedy, though it loses half a star because the "drunk" performances in the third act are a bit too much
August 16, 2016
Pode até parecer que não, mas assistir Winslet, Waltz, Foster e Reilly batendo boca por quase 80 minutos seguidos pode ser bem divertido. A direção do Polanski e o texto, baseado na peça de Yasmina Reza, são bons, só que, no final das contas, quem carrega O DEUS DA CARNIFICINA é o elenco.
½ August 8, 2016
"At least our kid isn't a little wimpy-ass faggot!"

This is probably the most unexciting movie that can be ever so entertaining.

Carnage is set in one building, in which a meeting of two parent pairs spirals out of control because of an incident involving their children.

The good? Carnage is like watching a play. But it's a film. The acting is so genuine and audience appealing for realistic drama that it's right in front of your eye. John C Reily, Kate Winslet, Christoph Waltz and Jodie Foster act like they have never done a bad movie in their life, exuberant confidence and power. They shine like magnificently unlike-able stars in a bleak, worthless sky. The script is something new and unique, it's like eating a gourmet meal at a Michelin star restaurant whilst having an argument with your family, delectably interesting and sways energy to and fro. This movie truly exposes hypocrisy in parenthood, a situation based on a break on control, breaking and breaking and breaking into little pieces until it is merely dust, insults, alcohol, vomit and marriage regret. And the best part is? No one is innocent. A mockery made, gleefully poking fun at the contestants in the 'Whose the dumbest?' game show as they argue about what 1+1 equals...except they all answer 3, 4 and 5.

The bad? Carnage is a film that isn't exciting or stand out at all. In subtlety and dialogue, it is a masterpiece but it needs to be longer...transform the carnage into what the first causing incident was. A full cyclical turn to connect the dots would make this flow like milk.

Carnage is beautifully tense and sleak in it's critiques. A must see for screenwriters and actors. Turns you into a smug little son of a bitch, and that's what the film is trying to prove upon human nature. You think you're slick? Think again...


July 28, 2016
One of the recent directional efforts from master filmmaker Roman Polanski that is based a hit play. The story is simple two parents meet over a fight between their sons & one son is seriously injured & their true prejudices & insecurities quickly arise.

The performances & dialogue in this film is sensational & it's also really funny & has such a honesty to the characters.

It's a short feature & set basically in a lounge room but the performances are so rich it's keeps you enthralled. A unique divergence from Polanksi but a welcomed one.
½ May 30, 2016
An all-too-stagey play adaptation that is saved largely by the quartet's rare screwball performance as a pair of pretentious troubled married couples.
½ April 18, 2016
An acting master class and a brilliantly toxic depiction of the charming facades of middle class society hiding a deeper bitterness and resentment underneath the niceties
April 3, 2016

What an impressively tense and unique film that even after losing most of its reasons of interest it still gives the audience plenty of commentraty and mantains its perfect narrative that sadly ends quite abruptly.
March 14, 2016
What a pleasant serenity reigned over this adult-like conversation! Brilliant cast and brilliant acting, even John C. Reilly, the Cellophane Man was worth my time. Excellent how the people switched alliances on the fly and nobody was safe from a treatment. "Openly despicable" and other catchy and usefull phrases........ The film goes to show many things, for life but also for film, like wanna throw up - use the bucket and a film can actually work even if nothing much happens and it all happens in one room. Plus .... there is a super fine carpet in the living room!
March 13, 2016
Satire at its best!
Romanski directs this stage play gone movie with precision and Witt and ties a perfect bow on a tricky little film.
March 6, 2016
Lovely, grotesque, brilliant, sarcastic and funny comedy. What a witty way to spend your spare time!
February 28, 2016
Aardige film over de 'lagen' van mensen die langzaam afgepeld worden. Na een tijdje gaat het, ofschoon het crescendo gaat, toch wat vervelen.
January 17, 2016
A pretty funny film with good performances all round, especially from those you don't expect to be funny. I have to say that it is unusual that a script written for the stage has been transferred to film so well. Normally the over-acting that seems to accompany stage productions is carried over and it doesn't make for good viewing. The cast deserve credit for making this watchable.
December 16, 2015
A complete shit show representative of all the bulshit attitudes in society today. Completely ridiculous, and more so because it's accurate. I laughed my ass off.
November 10, 2015
Great ensemble cast with standout performances from Kate Winslet and Jodie Foster.
½ November 2, 2015
Put four superbly talented actors together onscreen, and typically you'll get a good result. However, Carnage is good not just because of the caliber of cast it boasts, but because of tremendous material with confident direction.

The material is uniquely comedic, providing a deeply satirical take on the political correctness and pervasive self-importance that is present among the well off and the well educated. While the film itself is less than 80 minutes long, the dialogue is nonstop and the setting and props play a crucial role in the proceedings. This all makes sense given that the film drew inspiration from a play, which lends itself to a refreshing adaptation on the big screen.
Page 1 of 95