Carnage - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Carnage Reviews

Page 1 of 96
March 9, 2018
M-F

8.3

[Roman Polanski]
January 1, 2018
as i said before, roman polanski never disappoints me, there are sometimes where i felt really awkward, he delivers a simple story whth really funny, awkwards moments.
½ October 25, 2017
The movie Carnage has a unique way of presenting itself that creates a deep contrast against any other movie that I've ever seen. It's as if this movie was created with the sole purpose of annoying its audience. The plot is slow and wandering, the characters are stuck in an aggressive loop, and the setting never changes, leaving the viewers begging for more. This film is heinous, repetitive, and the worst movie I've ever seen.
The plot of Carnage repeats the same basic structure repeatedly as the characters in the scene get more and more hostile towards each other. They start out by talking about their children and the fight that the kids got into. This slowly flows into a different topic of conversation, usually involving the life of the parents. Around half way through their discussion of this topic, Alan Cowen, the father of the boy who attacked the other boy, gets a phone call. The rest of the parents sit in awkward silence as he talks on the phone about, what seems to be a medical malpractice. Eventually, Mr. Cowen ends his call and he gets ready to leave with his wife. However, every time this happens, every time that they start to leave, they are drawn back into Mr. and Mrs. Longstreet's apartment. Thus, begins the whole cycle.
The vicious circle the characters are trapped in soon leads them to act like petulant children with drinking problems. As the cycle continues, the characters sink into what is supposed to represent 'human nature' but instead it just shows how little the word 'adult' actually means. They turn into their children, fighting because they aren't getting their way. It's as if you are watching caged animals fight.
Continuing with the metaphor of the adults being caged animals, the setting never changes. While this perpetuates the feeling of being locked in a cage match, it gets rather sickening at times. The movie tricks you into thinking that the scene will move on at any second but pulls the rug out from under you at the last second. It's a sadistic rollercoaster hidden as a 'metaphorical masterpiece.'
Carnage hides as a movie that is supposed to explain the 'human condition' but, in reality, it's another excruciating movie about how violence is 'programmed' into us from birth. Had the movie explained a different, more accurate form of the human condition, it would have turned out much more coherent and clean.
October 2, 2017
A very good movie. It's not as good as the play but the direction of Mr.Polanski and the acting keep it together. So no problem.
½ August 23, 2017
It has great performances but It's a forgettable little Movie...
February 8, 2017
'Carnage' benefits from great perfromances by its cast and has an interesting premise, but in the end it really doesn't come off as powerful as it should.
January 30, 2017
The perfect mix of drama and comedy.
December 29, 2016
Based off of the French play, Carnage is a hoot! It is quite exhausting to be a part of the 80 minute long argument that keeps going on, but some of the dialogue was excellent. I also loved how the political correctness of the parents collapsed, a little thing society might want to take into account. Each cast member was excellent, which was necessary for a film like this
Super Reviewer
½ November 24, 2016
A very funny comedy of manners adapted from an acclaimed play and elegantly directed, even if a bit repetitive after some time - and it takes place entirely inside an apartment, sustained by a sharp dialogue and exquisite performances, with Winslet and Waltz stealing the show.
November 24, 2016
Clearly a stage play played out in a few rooms of an apartment. Once again a sense of claustrophobia may form during this. Awkward moments abound but the acting and direction keep this on track. On Blu-ray in the US.
FiLmCrAzY
Super Reviewer
October 16, 2016
I really wanted to watch this movie and now that i've seen it i am not disappointed!
Its going to be a Marmite kind of film, your either going to Hate it with a passion or just absolutely Love it !
Me personally i Loved it! I thought it was original, written extremely well, it was acted beautifully which isn't a shock when its such a great cast! Its nice to see that Polanski has done one better than Ghost Writer as that was a truly dreadful movie!
Its made beautifully and it sticks to the true form of being a play, which is great!
Its Just a good movie that is thoroughly enjoyable and i just loved the ending a true play form which i loved!
½ September 27, 2016
Madness. Insanity. Mild over-acting. Oddly grand? Anything with John C. Instantly loses stars.
September 6, 2016
Saw it on BBC player. High expectations because of the cast; started well, then degenerated, holding my attention about as well as an average TV show. So NOT a film worthy of the director or actors. Was it the script? Or was it the director? Or was it them? If you have time to spare and are VERY bored, then maybe watch it. But there are funnier / darker / sadder pieces on marital and social conflict, so I'd go to a TV show rather than this, I'm sorry to say, despite the stellar cast.
½ September 4, 2016
There are clever twists and turns in the script as the discussion between the 2 couples gets way out of hand but I have never found overacting funny. There seems little about this film that works better than it would have on the stage.
½ August 18, 2016
Well done black comedy, though it loses half a star because the "drunk" performances in the third act are a bit too much
August 16, 2016
Pode até parecer que não, mas assistir Winslet, Waltz, Foster e Reilly batendo boca por quase 80 minutos seguidos pode ser bem divertido. A direção do Polanski e o texto, baseado na peça de Yasmina Reza, são bons, só que, no final das contas, quem carrega O DEUS DA CARNIFICINA é o elenco.
½ August 8, 2016
"At least our kid isn't a little wimpy-ass faggot!"

This is probably the most unexciting movie that can be ever so entertaining.

Carnage is set in one building, in which a meeting of two parent pairs spirals out of control because of an incident involving their children.

The good? Carnage is like watching a play. But it's a film. The acting is so genuine and audience appealing for realistic drama that it's right in front of your eye. John C Reily, Kate Winslet, Christoph Waltz and Jodie Foster act like they have never done a bad movie in their life, exuberant confidence and power. They shine like magnificently unlike-able stars in a bleak, worthless sky. The script is something new and unique, it's like eating a gourmet meal at a Michelin star restaurant whilst having an argument with your family, delectably interesting and sways energy to and fro. This movie truly exposes hypocrisy in parenthood, a situation based on a break on control, breaking and breaking and breaking into little pieces until it is merely dust, insults, alcohol, vomit and marriage regret. And the best part is? No one is innocent. A mockery made, gleefully poking fun at the contestants in the 'Whose the dumbest?' game show as they argue about what 1+1 equals...except they all answer 3, 4 and 5.

The bad? Carnage is a film that isn't exciting or stand out at all. In subtlety and dialogue, it is a masterpiece but it needs to be longer...transform the carnage into what the first causing incident was. A full cyclical turn to connect the dots would make this flow like milk.

Carnage is beautifully tense and sleak in it's critiques. A must see for screenwriters and actors. Turns you into a smug little son of a bitch, and that's what the film is trying to prove upon human nature. You think you're slick? Think again...

A

88/100
July 28, 2016
One of the recent directional efforts from master filmmaker Roman Polanski that is based a hit play. The story is simple two parents meet over a fight between their sons & one son is seriously injured & their true prejudices & insecurities quickly arise.

The performances & dialogue in this film is sensational & it's also really funny & has such a honesty to the characters.

It's a short feature & set basically in a lounge room but the performances are so rich it's keeps you enthralled. A unique divergence from Polanksi but a welcomed one.
½ May 30, 2016
An all-too-stagey play adaptation that is saved largely by the quartet's rare screwball performance as a pair of pretentious troubled married couples.
Page 1 of 96