Carry on Matron - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Carry on Matron Reviews

Page 1 of 5
½ November 2, 2014
Getting a bit lame and predictable.
½ February 28, 2013
Another barrel of laughs from the Carry On crew--The Bun and Oven Wards are open at Finisham Maternity Hospital!!
December 7, 2012
Wouldnt mind seeing.
½ November 12, 2012
love it this was my first carry on film I saw, this is one my favourite carry on films I love it, I loved it and I loved Kenneth Williams and Charles Hawtrey and I would love it on DVD
October 25, 2012
An average film with some enjoyable moments.
½ March 3, 2012
The Carry On team made very good films set in hospitals and this one is no exception.
January 3, 2012
A classic and perfect for that lazy afternoon doing nothing.
½ June 25, 2011
It's time to carry on in the hospital again

This one isn't quite working out as well as other movies in the series but you still have those classic moments of british stupid fun

It's slower than Carry on Doctor for example and has a bit more strained plot and some actors has too small roles.

We do hear some really nice agent/crimethriller-music in scenes were the willins carry out their evil plans of stealing birth control pills from the hospital and we get interesting facts about the Matrons love-life, but not a high-light of the carry on-saga, this is
½ July 20, 2010
More scraping from the stables barrel of double entrendes.
April 1, 2010
The 23rd Carry On film, coming short after the critical and commercial letdowns of Carry On Henry and Carry On At Your Convenience in 1971, but 1972 saw the release of two of the best Carry On Films. This was one, and the other was Carry On Abroad. The Carry On team have always loved hospital based japery, (see Nurse/Doctor/Again Doctor), and this carries on that tradition. Based at Finisham Maternity Hospital, it has criminal mastermind Sid Carter (Sid James) planning a robbery of the hospitals supplies of the pill, which he plans to sell to foreign countries. For that, he gets his son Cyril (Kenneth Cope) to go in dressed as a nurse. :P But, trying to keep up being a nurse isn't as easy as it sounds, Cyril has to share a room with the bubbly nurse Susan Ball (Barbara Windsor) while Cyril is being lusted over by Dr. Prodd (Terry Scott). Elsewhere in the hospital, a love triangle has developed between Sir Bernard Cutting (Kenneth Williams), who runs the hospital, the hospitals Matron (Hattie Jacques) and psychiatrist Dr. Francis A. Goode (Charles Hawtrey). There are alot of great gags in this one, both physical and verbal, the double entendres are on top form, and the whole ensemble cast is on fine form, and Kenneth Cope is rather attractive all dressed up as a woman!! :P
mirabella1996
Super Reviewer
February 10, 2010
All of the Carry On films get 4 or 5 stars from me.
They have been a much-loved part of my life ever since I can remember.
September 21, 2009
For a great many, the definitive Carry on, and why not. The obvious best line up for a film of this type, in an institution ripe for the mocking. Classic slice of British comedy.
½ June 26, 2009
hattie jaques fancies kenneth williams. A man dressing up as a woman and sharing a room with the legendry barbara windsor who plays a trainee nurse. Not to be missed - worth watching
½ June 15, 2009
One of my least favourite Carry Ons. I don't care for the whole Kenneth Cope in a dress thing.
April 16, 2009
A weaker entry in the Carry On series - with a pretty uninteresting storyline and the small, poorly written roles for the likes of Sid James and Bernard Bresslaw.
March 17, 2009
need to see all the carry on films still.
½ March 3, 2009
Some swindlers want to get their hands on birth control pills so they decide to infultrate a delivery hospital. Meanwhile the cheif of medicene needs a partner to love and to hold.
February 21, 2009
Perhaps the best medical 'Carry On'? I strongly believe so. There's a humorous plot and double-entendres a plenty. Talbot Rothwell's brilliance is illustrated clearly.
FiLmCrAzY
Super Reviewer
November 13, 2008
love them all
classics
October 26, 2008
Great stuff as always from the Carry On team. Sid and Bernie are a bit wasted in this one, but I love Kenneth Connor in this one!
Page 1 of 5