Coco Before Chanel - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Coco Before Chanel Reviews

Page 1 of 89
August 20, 2016
I thought it was a well-crafted film, fine acting all around and beautiful to behold. It actually made me look up Chanel's bio after I finished viewing it.... So I guess it was a good thing they ended the film before she became an anti-Semitic Nazi.
June 9, 2016
While a lot of people know about the brand Chanel, and see Coco as a fashion icon, the character of Coco Chanel is lesser known. Personally I think she is a mysterious woman because she is a combination of truth and self reinvention. This woman is prideful, ambitious, and talented, well portrayed by Tautou. However, she looked a bit old for her age at the beginning of the movie. Overall a great piece of art. Though at times a little dry. The ending is especially satisfying in showing her character, skills, and success.
½ April 18, 2016
I really enjoyed this. Anne Fontaine really did a fine job of showing the trials and tribulations, the ordeals that Coco had to go through in order to be vastly successful. Probably one of my fifty favourite films by a female director.

The film grew over its course as she herself bloomed and gained more self-confidence, and was a sumptuous delight with ravishing and inspired performance by Audrey Tautou. Beautiful to look at and with wonderful soundtrack too, showing the multi-faceted beauty, both inside and out, of the amazing French woman. She is always watchable, gorgeous and fervently likable--and was a fine choice to do the portrayal. This was Important in showing that she was nobody's wife, mistress or fool, and was one of the best in coming from awful circumstances which could have crippled others, but through discovering and believing in herself became an icon without peer.
February 15, 2016
A chic, elegant and easy to follow film; although it didn't tell me anything new about Chanel's early life Beautiful cinematography and very effective subtitles throughout. Well worth watching.
December 12, 2015
It passed the time, but I didn't warm to it in any way.
Super Reviewer
½ November 4, 2015
The plot is too conventional and feels somehow incomplete when it comes to showing what was exactly so special about the character that propelled her into recognition and fame, but this is a decent film with some strong performances and a gracious score.
October 6, 2015
Em 1999, o ótimo filme Piratas do Vale do Silício veio para contar a curiosa história de uma tal empresa de tecnologia chamada Apple, e como seu fundador Steve Jobs e seu concorrente Bill Gates haviam usado de práticas imorais e questionáveis para deixarem a pobreza e construírem fortunas bilionárias. E tudo isso anos antes da apresentação do iPod, do iPhone e do iPad, criações que viriam a mudar a face da tecnologia e transformariam a Apple na empresa mais valiosas do planeta.

Coco antes de Chanel praticamente bebe desta mesma fonte, e apresenta aqui a história de Gabrielle 'Coco' Chanel antes dela se tornar uma figura mítica do mundo da moda e influenciar a revolução na imagem das mulheres em sua época. Já que foi ela a responsável por abicar dos vestidos longos e tão apertados para usar roupas largas e confortáveis. Ela até mesmo usava calças, o que na época era tão incontroversamente masculino quanto um bigode.

Mas ao contrário do que se pode pressupor, Chanel não o fez num espirito revolucionário, mas tão apenas devido às suas próprias preferencias estilísticas. E o que este filme apresenta, é o contexto que a levou a libertar-se desta forma.

Órfã de mãe, Gabrielle foi deixada por seu pai, ainda criança, em um orfanato. Mas o filme não perde muito tempo com isto, e em uma estratégica passagem de tempo, já a vemos adulta, cantando e dançando em um cabaré com sua irmã Adrienne. A música em questão, 'Qui qu'a vu Coco', sobre a busca de um cão perdido chamado Coco, teria sido a origem de seu mundialmente notório apelido.

Mas Gabrielle não gostava desta versão, e a partir de então, diria que Coco era um apelido inventado por seu pai. Não seu verdadeiro pai, é claro, já que em seu mundo fantasioso, ter sido abandonada não seria muito elegante. Chanel preferia contar que havia sido deixada sob os cuidados de tias cruéis, enquanto seu pai fictício teria ido à América reclamar uma herança.

E inventar uma história pessoal menos crua, não era apenas uma mentira por si só, mas uma forma dela própria enxergar-se com mais seriedade. Não surpreende, então, que a jovem Coco tenha ousadamente ido atrás do nobre abastado Etienne Balsan (Benoît Poelvoorde), com quem manteve um rápido relacionamento enquanto ele passava uma temporada na cidade, para passar então a viver em seu palacete como sua concubina, numa óbvia relação superficial de troca de interesses.

Foi neste período que Coco iniciou seu hobby de fabricar chapéus, e começou um tórrido romance com o inglês Arthur Capel (Alessandro Nivola), sócio de Balsan, que a faria abdicar de casamentos e dependências ao descobrir que ele era casado.

Emprestando dinheiro de Capel, com quem continuou a manter um relacionamento amoroso, no que talvez tenha sido seu primeiro e único verdadeiro amor, Gabrielle se muda para Paris e abre sua primeira loja de chapéus. Ela parece não se importar em ser a amante de um homem casado, já que como demonstrado em um diálogo expositivo, ambos acreditam que a instituição do casamento seja mera convenção social.

E por mais que seja evidente a mudança de astral da personagem ao encontrar sua tão desejada liberdade, é um tanto irônico perceber que o quanto ela dependia de Arthur, não somente financeiramente, mas principalmente emocionalmente. E quando ele acaba morrendo em um acidente de carro, ela entra em um luto que a leva a focar na criação de sua primeira coleção de roupas, iniciando então seu império.

A premissa, desta forma, é excelente, trazendo uma história rica e dramática o bastante para funcionar em vários níveis. Entretanto, devido à sua irritante narrativa episódica, o filme jamais consegue transmitir uma real passagem de tempo. É basicamente impossível perceber se transcorram semanas, meses ou anos entre uma sequência de outra. Também, por alguma razão, o filme parece não se importar em dizer que Adrienne Chanel na verdade era tia de Gabrielle, e não sua irmã, como é dito constantemente durante a projeção.

De qualquer forma, o filme é eficaz em mostrar de relance inspirações importantes de Chanel, como vestir calças por não conseguir cavalgar de saias, e o sorriso sutil ao ver um bando de marinheiros e usar o uniforme listrado azul e branco deles como inspiração para ela própria.

Tecnicamente também é competente, entregando uma eficaz direção de arte e uma fotografia que aprofunda o drama com sombras. Mas o grande destaque fica com Audrey Tautou, totalmente irresistível como Chanel. E é difícil imaginar um papel mais perfeito para a atriz.

Coco antes de Chanel, assim, é um filme falho, mas que respeita seu próprio título, e de fato sequer ouvimos o nome Chanel até praticamente o derradeiro subir dos créditos finais. E manter esta magia não é de todo ruim.

Seria difícil azedar tudo o que foi visto ao navegar em polêmicas como o público relacionamento de Coco com um general nazista durante a Segunda Guerra Mundial, e o fato dela ter usado da ideologia nazista para tentar passar a perna em seus sócios judeus e assumir a posse da Parfums Chanel, que fabricava o famoso Chanel Nº 5.

Dizem que ela até teria tentado usar sua influência com o primeiro-ministro britânico para aproximá-lo dos ideais nazistas. Mas isso, evidentemente, é melhor deixar para outro filme.
½ May 25, 2015
I expected to like this film, but instead I found it rather unsatisfying experience.
January 12, 2015
A waste of my time. This movie can be summarized as follows:

- She was abandoned by her father
- Spent time singing at bars
- Met a rich guy who sponsored her
- Became successful

No mention of her anti semitism, her rumored lesbianism and her nazi collaboration.

Don't waste your time on this thing
Super Reviewer
July 24, 2014
Coco Before Chanel, literally is about Coco before she started her own Chanel line. I like the acting, very natural and fitting, exactly what I would expect real life Chanel to behave. I like the individualist messages, you gotta work hard to achieve your dreams and don't let the others stop you. I like the idea of Chanel meeting the man who appreciate her unique ideas, like attract likes was well reinforced there. However, the plot seem fragmented and could use some polishing. The costumes were beautiful and the set was beautifully designed.
July 11, 2014
Strong, controlled visual storytelling. Tautou delivers a tantalizing performance via Fontaine, whom is tactful in her direction/writing; careful to foreshadow (in each scene) how Coco will eventually become the Icon. Remember... this IS a story about Coco BEFORE she becomes famous.
April 27, 2014
A slow meandering look at Coco Chanel before Chanel, has very little to do with fashion and more to do with a personal journey (not a particularly interesting one).
April 26, 2014
Don't expect to see Chanel most glamorous years, this movie is about her character and life course before reaching Paris most high couture. In the movie, Coco is presented as the most eccentric yet visionary woman of her years. A lovely cinematographic piece.
April 21, 2014
A gorgeous and tasteful look at the life of coco Chanel. If you think Chanel was a diva, you need to watch this. Changed my whole outlook on fashion.
April 10, 2014
i really enjoyed this biography about a woman i know nothing about.
½ March 4, 2014
Aunque no capta la complejidad de la vida de la protagonista sigue siendo un tierno tributo
February 11, 2014
Very nice biopic with great attention to visual details.
December 24, 2013
A look at the early life of Coco Chanel, mostly focusing on her early romantic affairs and circumstances that led her to become ambitious in the world of fashion. Excellent subject matter but it seemed a bit shallow at times.
November 21, 2013
Tatou credibile. Il film finisce dove inizia la sua fama, interessante.
October 28, 2013
Very interesting story. I didn't read the book the movie was based on...so I am not sure if she seemed very disagreeable all the time...until she made it on her own with couture...
Page 1 of 89