Coraline - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Coraline Reviews

Page 1 of 1203
November 28, 2017
Even tho it's creepy as fuck I dig it
November 23, 2017
The animation is eerie and beautiful. The characters are even better- they're enjoyable and fun. It also appeals to all audiences, with a terrifying backstory but also a good family message.
November 19, 2017
PLs let me see this awsome movie
½ November 17, 2017
While it frightened me as a child. Looking back this is a great film with excellent visuals,characters and is downright scary at times.
½ November 13, 2017
Puntaje Original: 7.0

Coraline ofrece una premisa y estética visual seductoras, manejando la historia con un gran mensaje pero sin llegar a una conclusión detonante que la hubiese convertido en una obra maestra.
November 3, 2017
I love ??????????this movie!!!!!
½ November 3, 2017
Coraline, one of the weirdest movies to watch during the fall season.

Coraline is a movie about a girl named Coraline who moves into a strange community to
find out that the people who live next door are even stranger. After moving into the new apartment her parents work on a gardening catalogue and seem to never have time for her making food or even cleaning the place. Coraline then meets wybie a boy who apparently will never keep his mouth shut, Mr Bobinski a russian mouse circus trainer, Miriam Forcible, and Apryl Spink.

As i mentioned before, her parents didn't really have time for her so she had to find her own way of having fun. After waking up in the middle of the night coraline is surprised by a mouse and decides to chase it down the stairs and into the family room to find a slot in the wall almost like a forbidden little door. She eneters it and sees that her mother is there and so is her father but something is off about them her father suddenly learned to play the piano and is no longer busy with work and her mother is making her favourite food and being the nicest person to her. They call her caroline as if they are her parents but then she realizes that they have buttons for eyes.

The next morning she wakes up and notices that it was all a dream because once she gets downstairs her parents and back to treating her like a bag of rubbish. After her visit to bobinskis wybie gives coraline a doll that looks exactly like her but instead has buttons for eyes. Coraline takes the doll not thinking anything of it and goes home, that night she goes to sleep again and is much happier to be back because not only are the second parent's nice but everything else also better than the real world after enjoying her time the second mom asks her to join them forever but coraline disagrees which then leads to a series of horrible events such as kidnapping sewing wybie's mouth together and a lot of other strange things.


After trying to escape that crazy world coraline is then surprised when her cat starts talking to hert and tells her that the second mother is actually a woman who kidnaps children and eats them caroline tries to run but mother catches her and puts her into a prison after seeing the ghost of the other children coraline realizes her parents are missing so she makes a deal with mother 2 and says that if she finds her parents that she must let all the souls and her parents go and if not she will stay with her.

All in All she finds them and then returns to her original world and finds out it was all a dream and her parents were just out shopping, she runs to them with joy to find out the good news that the gardening catalogue was good and her parents start to care for her. I do enjoy the plot but in my opinion the art and characters are a little weird and creepy. Numerous times the movie had a dark tone to it which made me not like it as much as i could have.
½ November 1, 2017
The Coraline adaptation has fluid stop-motion animation, beautiful designs, and a frightfully satisfying adventure, but the characters aren't great, and it occasionally gets too not-kid-friendly.
October 29, 2017
A horror story for kids. Well done.
½ October 17, 2017
This dark fantasy story is actually based on a book by Neil Gaiman! An adventurous girl finds another world that is a strangely idealized version of her frustrating home, but it has sinister secrets and strange people with buttons as eyes. The plot overall is good and the music is great, and it deserved its nominations, but Up (2009 film) was definitely better.
½ October 14, 2017
Creepy, but unique, with some bizarre visuals, cool story, and some entertaining characters.
October 9, 2017
All time great Animation
October 8, 2017
One of my favorite animated movies! Laika Studios is the best!
½ October 7, 2017
Very Strong in both imagination and emotional story. B+
½ September 25, 2017
Love this movie so much! It's too dark for little kids though. At age 9 they could probably start watching. Beautiful stop motion and awesome movie! Watch it!
September 24, 2017
Just watched this movie and was compelled to come here and right this review. LOVE LOVE LOVE this movie!!
September 15, 2017
Absolute 0 for kids. it scared my child for 5 month
August 30, 2017
Scary and Horrifying but it was an amazing movie
½ August 11, 2017
A twisted fairly tale that is gorgeously animated, endlessly rewatchable, and slightly terrifying in small doses. The already amazing film is filled out with an astonishing voice cast. Mega props to the legendary Keith David for appearing as a cat.
½ August 2, 2017
An gorgeous stop motion piece, with dark and sometimes creepy moments for an animated movie. The story is legit, and we can all related to the main character which is tired of hers monotonous family and life and dreams that everyone around changes the way she wanted to. Thumbs up to ''Coraline''!
Final avaliation: 8,4 out of 10.
Page 1 of 1203