Cry-Baby - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Cry-Baby Reviews

Page 1 of 462
September 17, 2017
I love this very soon so long methadone have it if I'm so glad this app does
September 5, 2017
To be honest, even if it's at times funny in overall it's an awful movie. Everyone is trying to be so bad, to be worse of the worst that ultimately it makes you sick. The only good thing about this movie is soundtrack which is awesome.
Super Reviewer
June 10, 2017
In John Waters' movies, everyone is a walking caricature and everything looks like a witless self-parody, and this is an irritating musical that sounds silly and superficial when trying to be a clever commentary, as well as a horribly unfunny comedy filled with awful dialogue.
March 18, 2017
Ah just as I remember it. Awesome spoof all the way.
November 21, 2016
Cheesy cult classic of Depp's career.
October 4, 2016
5 stars!. it is not just that johnny depp was here.... Despite my personal bias.. this film is deserving.
½ September 7, 2016
Poor Hatchet face. Couldn't sit through this waste of film. So bad, not so bad it's good,...so bad it's terrible.
½ September 6, 2016
John Waters...oh John Waters. Fantastic and campy look at the seedy Drape side of Baltimore. Where the squares of Hairspray dare not go.. I immensely enjoyed the 45 bonus documentary about the making of the film. Now I have the urge to singe "Cool Rider" and rewatch Hairspray!
September 5, 2016
This movie is sooo campy. The plot is very thin and gets even thinner as it goes on. Basically about a greaser vs "squares" and turning the good girl bad. I found the beginning silly and creative but the movie seems to lose its steam as it gets going. Grease or west side story is a lot better than this one if ur looking for a 50s style musical.
May 1, 2016
5/1/2016: Only got through 30 min and shut it off. Horrible.
January 17, 2016
So stupid it had to be funny
October 20, 2015
Best movie in the world
½ October 17, 2015
2015-10-17 almost a spoof. but some good singing.
½ May 16, 2015
Teaming up Johnny Depp with John Waters, Cry-Baby sounded like an oddball combination of talent with plenty of potential.

Cry-Baby satirizes the 1950's scene in an over the top manner, and it does it as a musical film which suggests that it largely parodies Grease. Grease was a film that I could not stand at all, and so for Cry-Baby to succeed it would have to maintain a distinctively original edge. But the issue is that Cry-Baby attempts to be both a legitimate musical film and a parody of one, and though this may appeal to fans of musical cinema, I am not one of them. Though musical films are hardly a genre I find often appealing, I figured that with John Waters behind the camera that Cry-Baby would be the furthest thing from conventional. Unfortunately, that was not the case. I found that although Cry-Baby featured John Waters' passion for campy filmmaking, it lacked the more darkly comical themes from his superior works and made it a much more mainstream piece. I'm really the wrong person to ask about this because teenage love stories and musical films do not fill me with any real sense of fondness as well as the fact that I have seen only a select few John Waters films, but either way the fact that Cry-Baby did not leave me with any surprises should point out that it lacked anything all that surprising.
The satirical edge of Cry-Baby is not distinctive enough to ensure that the film transcends the exact kind of film that it is parodying, and though it is not without its charms there is just not enough of them amongst the teenage cliches which do not have any sense of appeal to me. The story is passionately ridiculous and intentionally shallow with the best intentions, and it doesn't drag on because its manic energy ensures that it is always straight to the point. But it cannot dash past the fact that at heart, Cry-Baby is so indebted to conventions that it all too often falls back on them which is detrimental to the potential for innovation.
The thing that I don't like about musical films are that they too often tend to be extremely cheesy, and the same goes for teenage love stories. That is why I despised Grease. With Cry-Baby, the film takes that element of cheese and runs with it but only goes so far before it falls back into the route of the same conventions it is attempting to make a mockery out of. Its attempts at mockery utterly come off as being too mild and so the film is really not a funny one to me, as well as the fact that I could not get lost in the musical numbers. I enjoyed the songs, but as many of them were not original songs, there did not feel like enough originality was present in the film. It is clear that neither Johnny Depp or Amy Locane are doing their own actual singing in Cry-Baby, but that is obviously intentional due to the comedic edge that it adds to these scenes, and the composition of the actual musical pieces have their own appeal to them. But the familiarity in them is hard to ignore and they are not played into the film in the most creative manners all the time. Most of the scenes that caught my appeal either came into play based on the film's sense of style or the addition of John Waters' iconic sense of strange humour, and though the former is used a lot, the latter could use a higher demand. I just didn't feel that Cry-Baby was a John Waters film all that often with the exception of the use of former pornstar Tracy Lords among other cast members, and I could not get lost in the overly lighthearted mood of the film as there was little beneath the surface. But I will admit that the surface was surely a pretty one.
The visual style of the film certainly had a sense of fun to it. In keeping with the style of conventional Hollywood musicals from the era that the story is set in, Cry-Baby is shot with all kinds of appropriate cinematography techniques which play around with the perspective yet remaining effective in conveying that the film was shot on location. The scenery for the film is wonderful due to its sense of colour and the production design combines with it to establish the time period and setting of the story very easily. In that sense, the electric campy energy of the film is felt and it merges with the musical numbers to create an energetic atmosphere. Though I didn't get lost in the songs, I did get a certain kick of nostalgic charm out of hearing the groovy tunes of the era without them being anything short of satirical. The pre-existing pieces were not the best, but songs such as the titular theme tune are not without their entertainment value.
And though Johnny Depp was an actor who could not stand his status as a teen idol, Cry-Baby notably served as an opportunity for him to lampoon his pretty boy image and though the film did not entertain me all that much, it was refreshing to see him in such an unconventional and cheesy role where he went for a heavily stereotypical angle and it paid off. Johnny Depp's charisma is very charming in Cry-Baby, and the fact that he just took such an over the top shot at himself from the early days does certainly give a fun sense of nostalgia to the feature at many moments.

So Cry-Baby reaps a benefit from the presence of Johnny Depp and John Waters' stylish directorial work makes it a treat for the eyes, but those who are not easily lost in the genre of musicals or teenage love stories need not apply due to the fact that Cry-Baby falls into both of them instead of parodying them sufficiently.
May 3, 2015
Boring and overrated. It is so ridiculous it must be a parody. A parody of the 50's, of Grease, of Jailhouse Rock, of teen musicals in general, i don't know. I enjoyed Johnny Depp though. He looks cute and he has a James Dean quality in some scenes.
May 2, 2015
I want to see it please ~
½ April 18, 2015
I get that it's a parody of 1950s rock musicals, but it still has an uninspired love triangle at its center and fairly forgettable songs.
½ March 25, 2015
Depp goes on a string of 15 years of good to great performances.....after this $hit.
Page 1 of 462