Custody (Jusqu'à la garde) - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Custody (Jusqu'à la garde) Reviews

Page 1 of 1
February 25, 2019
Bit slow in parts and slightly confusing as the point of the daughter who looked about as old as the mother. But a great dramatic piece.
January 10, 2019
A well-made film I've watched with boxxy software app, tight and intense. The theme is somehow ordinary and predictable. Execution of acting and film-making is excellent. The boy actor is a stand-out.
Super Reviewer
December 26, 2018
I don't like that the daughter's unnecessary subplot doesn't go anywhere, but Denis Ménochet is fantastic here, embodying threat and despair in an anguishing drama that should remind everyone that there is no way to judge a situation fairly when you know only half the story.
½ December 1, 2018
Excellent excellent gripping film from such a talented youngster & Denis Menochet -- love the way the French tell the story without overdramatize it. Love it
November 14, 2018
Direcciòn y tiempos perfectos, este director tiene futuro.
November 6, 2018
This film was simply astonishing and quickly became one of my all time favourites. Never have I sweat so much from fear and anticipation in my entire life, let alone at the hands of a movie. Confronting, but well worth a watch.
October 23, 2018
harrowing but brilliant child's perspective on domestic violence which is both brutal and humane at the same time. short runtime and SUSPENSE thriller pacing combine with excellent acting all around make this a standout film.
October 23, 2018
Etude which represents the fathers as monsters. No one has the courage to say another truth made out of discrimination, false accusations, suicides. Interesting movie will watch using boxxy software - free service
August 26, 2018
After reading the reviews here and elsewhere I was expecting a great film. However, it was absolutely awful, and quite simply it was just a form of torture porn. If you like watching what amounts to a documentary about an abusive father, then enjoy. Otherwise, skip.
August 1, 2018
This movie is overrated. The acting is great but it is extremely predictable.
½ July 26, 2018
I don't understand why this film has been voted so high. The story is poorly narrated, there is not a solid conflict and the solutions are very childish. Not a good film whatsoever
July 9, 2018
A stunning, gripping, shocking film with, I think, a flaw. Don't read this if you haven't seen the film. I ask why didn't the mother accuse her husband of physical abuse when the tribunal was debating custody of the child? She is largely silent during the film, and glaringly silent during the custody hearing. But she could have protected her child better had she acknowledged the father's abuse. Perhaps the point is that abused spouses have been shamed and cannot endure any more shame--so they run.
July 5, 2018
Horribly chilling but wonderfully made. For anyone who doesn't believe abuse still continues once a woman has left their violent partner, watch this film.
April 17, 2018
Brilliant debut. Tense, gripping, dramatic, alarming - brilliantly observed, exquisitely acted, this is a film that is as subtle as it is raw. Like Chabrol's Le Boucher from nearly 50 years ago, everything is so understated and yet so sharp in its depiction of "ordinary" life at the edge. And both films revolve around tense car journeys and family celebrations.
½ March 20, 2018
Shown from the point of view or all four family members, Custody is a must see drama/thriller with a big emotional impact.
½ September 17, 2017
Well deserving of the Silver Lion at Venice, Custody is an heartachingly personal film on domestic violence. It centers a divorced family with two children amidst the fight for visiting rights by the father.

The revelation of the struggles that the family faces is gradual and painfully reminds us how these struggles are often not perceived by outsiders. The film starts with the hearing of the parents by a custody judge, mainly discussing whether the father (Denis Menochet) should have visitation rights to the younger child Julien (Thomas Gloria). The judge reads a statement from the child that he does not want to see his father. The father argues that he loves his son very much and that their relationship is necessary. Without further evidence, as the audience, we sympathize with the father, assuming the best in him, and giving him benefit of the doubt. So did the judge, granting the visitation rights.

However, within an hour and a half, we would come to know a family that we see every day, and then come to understand how much cannot be seen on the surface. With the film, we see how someone who may be a loving and pitiful father can at the same time be dangerously violent towards those he loves, and the physical and emotional wounds cruelly cut by these threats. The perspective of the film heavily focuses on the fear instilled the victims and the terror of not being able to get out

Domestic violence is a social issue far too underrecognized and happens way more often than imagination. Even in many developed countries, 1 in 3 women has been physically assaulted by an intimate partner. The film is daringly truthful and touches the soul. Bravo to the director Xavier Legrande for his first feature.
Page 1 of 1