Dogtooth (Kynodontas) - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Dogtooth (Kynodontas) Reviews

Page 1 of 63
May 7, 2017
Unsettling and disturbing, but also one of the most original visions I've ever seen. The film draws you into its world so well that by the end, the only thing that seems strange is that the kids speak so normally for having been taught the wrong definitions for words as long as they have.
April 28, 2017
The value of true artworks depends on the viewer. That being said, Yorgos Lanthimos' cynical and both fascinating and highly disturbing film "Dogtooth" can be read either as the darkest of all comedies ever made, an over-the-top study about the consequences of over-protection in education, a secret plead for freedom, a courageous political allegory to fascist governments or something else I personally didn't discover. One might judge the film for its lack of big development and a background story, but claiming it to exploit the at times truly disgusting material it contains is complete nonsense because this movie definitely has something to say.
½ March 7, 2017
Strange, disturbing, and seemingly experimental, "Dogtooth" is a foreign language social critique as hard to explain as it to watch.
February 1, 2017
One of the most cerebral, and entirely unpleasant films ever made, but there were certain moments of the film that left me in awe. The acting is frighteningly good. It's a believable portrayal of a brainwashed family. I squirmed every time a character was beaten by the father or beaten themselves. It portrays a horrifying existence absolutely breathtakingly. You either love this movie, or you hate it. I'm pleased to find myself on the love side.
January 28, 2017
Dogtooth is so unsettling and warped it's hard to recommend, but recommend it I do.
December 24, 2016
genius film, very reminiscant of wes anderson style. I love how the parents fooled the kids so well, and how the kids were so innocent and stupid. wonderful film. Honestly though it was a bit slow and boring though so i had to watch it on x2x4 speed alot of the way through, just to get through it.
December 11, 2016
This film makes me sick.
December 9, 2016
Possibly the weirdest, freakiest film I have ever seen. If you don't mind subtitles (or speak Greek), watch this. Super freaky!
October 22, 2016
Yorgos Lanthimos's experiment on the human mind and our perception of the outside world is quite the challenge to watch and stomach. Kynodontas is a decidedly unnervingly film, a film which goes to great lengths to shock and terrify its audience.
October 19, 2016
Very testing to watch at times, this peculiar hybrid of blackest comedy and dysfunctional family drama is as if Dogme95 had been put in charge of a Michael Haneke scenario and then invoked Jacques Tati and David Lynch. There are no whys and wherefores, just a middle-class family living an isolated life of lies, cold often incestuous sex and the consequences thereof.
October 11, 2016
Dogtooth is an absolutely beautiful and wonderfully strange film that you won't be able to look away from. This film will leave you speechless and unable to move while the credits roll. Any movie lover needs to experience this film as it is a truly rewarding experience.
September 24, 2016
Self consciously bizarre and peppered with sexual and violent shocks, but still manages to be woefully uninteresting. The shots are mostly static and utilitarian leading to even more feeling of artless boredom (or is it "claustrophobic brilliance"?). It's the kind of film where all kinds of excuses will be made for its lack of coherence and cheap attention whoring immaturity, and it will be regarded as "really really great, terrific", just like a certain presidential candidate...
½ September 20, 2016
4.5/5 [Major edit: I now find the film pretty hilarious at times.] Dogtooth is fantastic. Even better the second time. I think it also wins the award of being the first film to make me look away from a scene of violence (and let out a gasp at the same time).
½ September 11, 2016
This movie is quite something.
August 23, 2016
Dogtooth (2009): Bringing the House Down

Before anything, this is a film you MUST watch. Period.
For exactly 10 minutes after the credits showed up on screen, I sat there open-mouthed and glued to my seat, unable to control the myriad of feelings that had been stirred inside me while slowly realizing that I had probably watched one of the greatest movies of the century (according to M., this is an unarguable fact).

Two sisters and a brother are raised in a big, secluded house and are made to believe by their parents that they can't go to the dangerous world outside until their dogteeth fall out - a story that you do not fully get your head around until halfway through the film. The background story of why the parents are doing that and to what ends is almost completely overshadowed, as if Yorgos Lanthimos is precluding the emotional attachment and inviting us to examine the significance behind the allegory.

Most of the uncomfortable, eccentric vibes you get down your spine while watching the story unfold are caused by seeing this family living by rules outside our denotative system. They are told facts that run contrary to our common beliefs, they are taught words with different references, and, consequently, experience the world from an alien perspective. The fact that the allegory is presented realistically heightens the absurd element to a great comical extent (a Lanthimos trademark where the anomalous is presented as normal, creating the aforementioned absurd effect). In one scene, as a kind of entertainment, the father plays Frank Sinatra's "Fly Me to the Moon" and tells his kids that this is their grandfather singing. While the kids awkwardly (but joyfully!) dance to the song, he translates the song to them as follows: "Dad loves us. Mom loves us. Do we love them? Yes, we do. I love my brothers and sisters because they love me as well. The spring is flooding my house. The spring is flooding my little heart. My parents are proud of me because I'm doing just fine. I'm doing just fine but I will always try harder. My house, you are beautiful and I love you and I will never ever leave you." Representing the ultimate authority, the kids unquestionably believe whatever their parents tell them, including that their mother can give birth to animals and that the cat is a dangerous animal that feeds on human flesh.

The parents in the film do not practice their authority primarily by enforcing fear and discipline but by presenting the kids with a brand new system of significance whose signifiers no longer match our signifieds (among many others, they use the word 'keyboard' to refer to the vagina, and 'zombie' to refer to a yellow flower). This might sound pathetic and deplorable if we see it from the outside - outside the system they live in. However, if we are in their shoes, we will see nothing abnormal and deal with the authority's commands as common sense. Ironically, by the end of the film, we gradually realize that we are the target of the allegory and that our presumably 'outside' world is another construct we are trapped inside. Whatever family values we cherish or religious dogmas we believe in or humanitarian beliefs we hold dear are all part of a bigger system made to confine us. Now we roar with acid laughter because we know we are the subject of the cruel joke.

Whether we are capable of breaking free, physically or figuratively, is left to you to decide in the typically-Lanthimos, mind-baffling ending.

I have probably said it to everyone I know, and I have to say it again: I love Lanthimos' mesmerizing frames which foster a compelling sense of confinement and stagnation. They are awkward, but beautiful awkward. Besides, the performers' enunciation and gestures are in absolute tandem with the overall cynical spirit of the film.

It's my second Yorgos Lanthimos film, and the second time to be assured Greeks are still capable of making epics.

I give the film 10 out of 10 (and a kiss of appreciation to Lanthimos!)
½ August 21, 2016
I have just one thing i wamt to say to the critics who used words like "stunning," "sublime," and "original" in cajoling the riff raff to see this film: "what the hell is wrong wothn you? You shpuld be adhamed of yourself." This is not a valid satire or send up of paternalism as you say to dress up your misguided lapse of sense and sensibility. The only paternalism I see here is in the groupthink -facilitated endorsement of a grade C load of wank by an elitist community of critics cow-towing to Cannes, Sundance, Toronto, and whatever other festival rubber stamped the latest torture porn the highest of high art. Films like this are the easiest to make. If you organized a film competition for sixth grade boys, you'd get a whole lot of this. None if the sophisticated human emotions or filmmaking devices are evidenced here. This director is a singer with one shrill note and no lower register.

If you want to see a truly discerning satire on paternalism run amok, watch Woody Allen's Sleeper. Dogtooth labors too hard to shock you, and it's an annoying and small minded distraction. I was so bored throughout this tedium masquerading as mindfuck, I could have switched this off 100 tines before minute 30. But those who fancy themselves in the vanguard of the critical elite will perfunctory assign the film the highest rating and pat themselves on the back for their ingenuity. That's the only explanation I can devise when I try to figure out how films like this get 90% tomato ratings and win festival awards
All I can think of as a social psychologist is that it's groupthink at work.
½ August 11, 2016
I haven't seen something that disturbing and sick for a while! I always thought there's nothing as sick as nymphomaniac; this movie proved me wrong! :S
August 10, 2016
What a strange film.... who thinks of these topics? The acting was great, but just didn't see the point of this being a film....
August 5, 2016
Good, weird, sad, violent.
Page 1 of 63