Dogtooth (Kynodontas) - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Dogtooth (Kynodontas) Reviews

Page 1 of 63
October 22, 2016
Yorgos Lanthimos's experiment on the human mind and our perception of the outside world is quite the challenge to watch and stomach. Kynodontas is a decidedly unnervingly film, a film which goes to great lengths to shock and terrify its audience.
October 19, 2016
Very testing to watch at times, this peculiar hybrid of blackest comedy and dysfunctional family drama is as if Dogme95 had been put in charge of a Michael Haneke scenario and then invoked Jacques Tati and David Lynch. There are no whys and wherefores, just a middle-class family living an isolated life of lies, cold often incestuous sex and the consequences thereof.
October 11, 2016
Dogtooth is an absolutely beautiful and wonderfully strange film that you won't be able to look away from. This film will leave you speechless and unable to move while the credits roll. Any movie lover needs to experience this film as it is a truly rewarding experience.
September 24, 2016
Self consciously bizarre and peppered with sexual and violent shocks, but still manages to be woefully uninteresting. The shots are mostly static and utilitarian leading to even more feeling of artless boredom (or is it "claustrophobic brilliance"?). It's the kind of film where all kinds of excuses will be made for its lack of coherence and cheap attention whoring immaturity, and it will be regarded as "really really great, terrific", just like a certain presidential candidate...
½ September 20, 2016
4.5/5 [Major edit: I now find the film pretty hilarious at times.] Dogtooth is fantastic. Even better the second time. I think it also wins the award of being the first film to make me look away from a scene of violence (and let out a gasp at the same time).
½ September 11, 2016
This movie is quite something.
August 23, 2016
Dogtooth (2009): Bringing the House Down

Before anything, this is a film you MUST watch. Period.
For exactly 10 minutes after the credits showed up on screen, I sat there open-mouthed and glued to my seat, unable to control the myriad of feelings that had been stirred inside me while slowly realizing that I had probably watched one of the greatest movies of the century (according to M., this is an unarguable fact).

Two sisters and a brother are raised in a big, secluded house and are made to believe by their parents that they can't go to the dangerous world outside until their dogteeth fall out - a story that you do not fully get your head around until halfway through the film. The background story of why the parents are doing that and to what ends is almost completely overshadowed, as if Yorgos Lanthimos is precluding the emotional attachment and inviting us to examine the significance behind the allegory.

Most of the uncomfortable, eccentric vibes you get down your spine while watching the story unfold are caused by seeing this family living by rules outside our denotative system. They are told facts that run contrary to our common beliefs, they are taught words with different references, and, consequently, experience the world from an alien perspective. The fact that the allegory is presented realistically heightens the absurd element to a great comical extent (a Lanthimos trademark where the anomalous is presented as normal, creating the aforementioned absurd effect). In one scene, as a kind of entertainment, the father plays Frank Sinatra's "Fly Me to the Moon" and tells his kids that this is their grandfather singing. While the kids awkwardly (but joyfully!) dance to the song, he translates the song to them as follows: "Dad loves us. Mom loves us. Do we love them? Yes, we do. I love my brothers and sisters because they love me as well. The spring is flooding my house. The spring is flooding my little heart. My parents are proud of me because I'm doing just fine. I'm doing just fine but I will always try harder. My house, you are beautiful and I love you and I will never ever leave you." Representing the ultimate authority, the kids unquestionably believe whatever their parents tell them, including that their mother can give birth to animals and that the cat is a dangerous animal that feeds on human flesh.

The parents in the film do not practice their authority primarily by enforcing fear and discipline but by presenting the kids with a brand new system of significance whose signifiers no longer match our signifieds (among many others, they use the word 'keyboard' to refer to the vagina, and 'zombie' to refer to a yellow flower). This might sound pathetic and deplorable if we see it from the outside - outside the system they live in. However, if we are in their shoes, we will see nothing abnormal and deal with the authority's commands as common sense. Ironically, by the end of the film, we gradually realize that we are the target of the allegory and that our presumably 'outside' world is another construct we are trapped inside. Whatever family values we cherish or religious dogmas we believe in or humanitarian beliefs we hold dear are all part of a bigger system made to confine us. Now we roar with acid laughter because we know we are the subject of the cruel joke.

Whether we are capable of breaking free, physically or figuratively, is left to you to decide in the typically-Lanthimos, mind-baffling ending.

I have probably said it to everyone I know, and I have to say it again: I love Lanthimos' mesmerizing frames which foster a compelling sense of confinement and stagnation. They are awkward, but beautiful awkward. Besides, the performers' enunciation and gestures are in absolute tandem with the overall cynical spirit of the film.

It's my second Yorgos Lanthimos film, and the second time to be assured Greeks are still capable of making epics.

I give the film 10 out of 10 (and a kiss of appreciation to Lanthimos!)
½ August 21, 2016
I have just one thing i wamt to say to the critics who used words like "stunning," "sublime," and "original" in cajoling the riff raff to see this film: "what the hell is wrong wothn you? You shpuld be adhamed of yourself." This is not a valid satire or send up of paternalism as you say to dress up your misguided lapse of sense and sensibility. The only paternalism I see here is in the groupthink -facilitated endorsement of a grade C load of wank by an elitist community of critics cow-towing to Cannes, Sundance, Toronto, and whatever other festival rubber stamped the latest torture porn the highest of high art. Films like this are the easiest to make. If you organized a film competition for sixth grade boys, you'd get a whole lot of this. None if the sophisticated human emotions or filmmaking devices are evidenced here. This director is a singer with one shrill note and no lower register.

If you want to see a truly discerning satire on paternalism run amok, watch Woody Allen's Sleeper. Dogtooth labors too hard to shock you, and it's an annoying and small minded distraction. I was so bored throughout this tedium masquerading as mindfuck, I could have switched this off 100 tines before minute 30. But those who fancy themselves in the vanguard of the critical elite will perfunctory assign the film the highest rating and pat themselves on the back for their ingenuity. That's the only explanation I can devise when I try to figure out how films like this get 90% tomato ratings and win festival awards
All I can think of as a social psychologist is that it's groupthink at work.
½ August 11, 2016
I haven't seen something that disturbing and sick for a while! I always thought there's nothing as sick as nymphomaniac; this movie proved me wrong! :S
August 10, 2016
What a strange film.... who thinks of these topics? The acting was great, but just didn't see the point of this being a film....
August 5, 2016
Good, weird, sad, violent.
July 2, 2016
I'll give Dogtooth a five all day long, and the reason is because of the story. We need films like this in cinema today; originality is something that's rare, which is why this film deserves a five. Yes, it'll make you uncomfortable. Yes, it'll upset you. But it will also make you think. What about nature vs. nurture do the Greeks have to say? What do they have to say about social rules and customs? In regards to purity and corruption, what word would they associate themselves with. Purity? Or corruption. Films like this have a voice, and it needs to be heard.
½ June 25, 2016
hated it.... wasted 2 hours of my time
June 24, 2016
I'd heard about this film for a while and had always been one that interested me, but I didn't get around to seeing it until 'The Lobster' got popular. 'Dogtooth' is a very unique, weird, and extremely graphic film. Is it really rated 'R' or is it 'Unrated'? The film's plot is very unique, but dealt with sexuality more than I felt it really should have (I think it would have been better dealing with other family issues instead). Overall, 'Dogtooth' is a one of a kind film that I liked quite a bit, even though it was a hard film to watch at times.
June 14, 2016
Contains what must be the most awkward, unpassionate sex scene tween two young people in the history of cinema.
June 7, 2016
Difficult to watch in terms of story and tone, but those types of films make for engaging pieces of art
½ June 4, 2016
Dogtooth is an intense, artistic, cryptic film that follows a family, who has kept their 3 kids confined to their home for their whole lives. The mother and father raised the kids and taught them whatever they wanted without any influence from the outside world. It is really interesting to see how they taught them many odd things and the strange life that they live. The film is very slow moving but each scene has something intriguing that makes you think "what the hell". Some parts are hard to watch as it is brutal and so strange and to think that this kind of thing could easily be taking place right in our own city. The film is foreign so subtitles are abound, but because of the slow pace and at times very little words, it does not detract from the film at all. Toward the end it got pretty intense but the ending, left it on such a cliffhanger, leaving you wanting more, that was a let down. Dogtooth is not light hearted and won't be liked by everyone but I found it intriguing and enthralling while being so strange and creepy as well.
May 25, 2016
Yorgos Lanthimos revels in the bizarre with Dogtooth, an effective, disturbing, funny, and depraved movie filled with great scenes and a memorable last act.
May 20, 2016
I found this movie fascinating, and thought about it for quite some time. This unfortunately led me to watch his new move, The Lobster, which I found an absolute waste, one of the most boring and meaningless movies I've ever seen.
May 14, 2016
It could be considered a cross between Haneke and early Cronenberg, but viewers are still likely to leave Dogtooth feeling that they've seen something completely different. With robotic characters, literally difficult sex scenes, and seemingly random dialogue (which changes the meanings of conventional words) this Greek film is certainly the most Lynchian of this year's best foreign film nominations. Is it an arthouse take on dysfunctional families, an allegory of the interrelatedness of sex and violence, or a commentary on the ineptitude of living an unconflicted life? Whatever it is, Dogtooth certainly launches director Giorgos Lanthimos as a unique talent to look out for.
Page 1 of 63