Donnie Darko - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Donnie Darko Reviews

Page 1 of 16848
½ July 26, 2016
"Donnie Darko" is director's Richard Kelly 2001 film starring the fresh out of acting school Jake Gyllenhaal. The film revolves around Donnie (Gyllenhaal) a high school student that has "hallucinations" or "visits" (open to interpretation), from the bunny rabbit costumed man, Franck (James Duval), that "talks" to him. Besides Donnie is his family, his mom Rose (Mary McDonnell, his sisters Elizabeth (Maggie Gyllenhaal) and Samantha (Daveigh Chase), his dad Edward (Holmes Osborne) and his girlfriend (Jena Malone), there's also Donnie's therapist, Dr. Thurman (Katharine Ross) that talks to him about his encounters with Franck.

"Donnie Darko" criticizes sarcastically education, teaching, religion and people, all from Donnie's point of view, as he sees his religious school take in the life education method from the life guru played by Patrick Swayze, that ends up being arrested as its found that he is a child porn enthusiast and his teacher Karyn (Drew Barrymore) who's the one actually trying to teach something to her students but ends up fired because of her method of teaching being to "unordinary", the film shows how society works and how stupid it all is, as you can see from Donnie's expressions and his looks at things happening around him.

From more of a critic side of view the film is good, the cast does a good job, with few exceptions, the shooting sometimes may seem kind of immature and you may see an out of place slow motion shot here and there, but you won't notice manly because of the interesting story and fine written dialogues. In the end "Donny Darko" is a good movie, with few problems, a good story, memorable characters and a good critic of society. 3.5/5.
½ July 24, 2016
I don't think this is as good as most pissed off young adults but it is still very interesting. I prefer Brokeback Mountain, but what do I know?
July 22, 2016
***
The ending is VERY weird, and the whole movies a bit too odd for me, but that being said, I did enjoy Donnie Darko, thanks to a good story and a great performance from Jake Gyllenhaal.
July 20, 2016
Fantástica, compleja pero si tienes predefinido o familiarizado con algunos conceptos, la entiendes bien, simplemente grandiosa.
July 19, 2016
Had a nice setting at the beginning but, at times, it felt like it was trying way too goddamn hard. The parts where Donnie tries to defy the teachers with his beliefs are really cringy. If he really is smart, why doesn't he realise that his opinion should be kept to himself at those times?
Anyways, the film felt quite bland and, like said, cringy at times.
I still wonder why it is recommended so often and why it even is put at par with Requiem For a Dream (a God-tier film).
July 18, 2016
One of my favorite movies of all time
½ July 13, 2016
"Donnie Darko" was a movie that came out when I was in middle school, and I discovered it in High School and really dug it. It has great ideas, visuals, and a great lead actor in Gyllenhaal. I was always drawn to this idea of a piece of a plane crashing into Donnie's bedroom, because it was a sort of minor fear I had before seeing the film...I'm not sure why, but I often would think about the possibility of such an occurrence while in bed back then. Seeing the movie in it's original cut again reminded me of all the things I liked about it, and showed me that it really is a great little movie. Vastly better than the overstuffed and overly explained Director's Cut.
July 11, 2016
no tengo palabras para describir la película
July 9, 2016
A complex and rich film
July 7, 2016
It's a great movie my favorite.Just wonderful
July 6, 2016
I was baked when I saw this, and when the bubbles started coming out of people's bellies I was sure the movie was a message to me about my destiny and that I would be a prophet like Donnie Darko. Fucked me up for about five years.
½ July 4, 2016
Donnie Darko is fantastic, with an optimal direction, you realize the care that Richard Kelly had to the scene extras, fine performances, a photograph of places totally in the 80s, fantastic soundtrack, often making a counterpoint between relaxation and tension, a film that makes you a complete immersion in it, some little problems are really in the script, the film contradicts and sometimes not even he knows to explain, Donnie Darko is a complex film to others, resembles the works of David Lynch, but ultimately worth it because mixing religion with physical, meta-physics, time travel ..., it's crazy, but oddly enough, the film has meaning.

Richard Kelly, to where did all this talent?
½ July 1, 2016
One of the Strangest films I've ever seen! However it is quite an interesting watch
June 26, 2016
R. Kelly takes you on a great little journey. A haunting movie which is equal parts dark and depressing and yet hopeful in a strange way. His time traveling adventure is an exciting journey. Take what you will from the story but enjoy the trip, and it is a trip.
June 24, 2016
Richard Kelly Mostrou a sua genialidade em Donnie Darko,Com um roteiro fantástico,trilha sonora impecável,atuações Surpreendentes,Principalmente o Jake Gyllenhaal Com uma performance Fantástica,Sem falar do Frank.
June 23, 2016
today i watched it for the 7th time with my class and it got better and clearer and more clever than the first time. Such a masterpiece, mindtwisting which I for some reason failed to rate until today!! May the 8th time come!
June 15, 2016
Was a good movie, different and is a good circle !
June 11, 2016
suppose to be a cult favorite. haven't seen it though.
June 7, 2016
"DARK | EPIC | GRIM | ORIGINAL | MASTERPIECE" (86-out-of-100)
June 4, 2016
theatrical: 8/10
DC: 7/10
Page 1 of 16848