The Dreamers - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Dreamers Reviews

Page 1 of 137
June 13, 2017
A work of art, that is rather irrelevant, and disappointing. Was it beautiful? Very.
½ April 20, 2017
Compelling drama about three students in 60s Paris. Matthew falls for Isabelle and her twin brother likes to keep close to them. A story about sex, relationships and the bond between 2 twins. worth a watch
April 16, 2017
When Stealing Beauty meet The Last Tango in Paris. It's could be the last movie of Bernardo Bertulluci.
March 31, 2017
It was some how disturbing. But in a good way.
March 11, 2017
Great feeling for this movie
February 12, 2017
well; if you want to see Eva Green naked, this is the film for you. i think she wears clothes for like 10% of it.
½ September 13, 2016
A-
The chemistry between the three celebrities cements 'The Dreamers' as one of the most beautiful and touching films about the dreams we have of cinema and a love of movies.
August 30, 2016
I love this movie because eva green was in it.
½ July 29, 2016
As lushly, dramatically shot as the European art films of mid-20th century yet as visually and rhetorically provocative as a Prince or Madonna musical release of the 80's & 90's. It has a bit of an esoteric moonbeam of a plot but the strong performances by all the outstanding cast and the French based backdrop of the 1960's cultural revolutions (particularly political and sexual) fronts taken from an precocious American perspective makes it one not to miss! Definitely a watershed masterwork for the director and a standalone creation of immeasurable magnetism worthy of repeat viewings.
½ June 26, 2016
So quickly dated for a film that's not all that old. Feels like it's trying so hard to be sophisticated and apart. It does feel surreal in that it is so separated from the political reality it seems to be alluding to. The characters are just never fully fleshed out beyond the risqué content. Feels like it was made by a much older man and I still don't know what his intention was. Fun to watch though?
Super Reviewer
½ April 20, 2016
Dreamy, romantic and effortlessly weird, the Dreamers plays out less like a film and more like an unfinished script or a thrown away play. It's great and very cool and there's a 50% chance that you were engaged by the film enough to be blown away by its clever ending, but unfortunately I don't think they delved into the themes presented enough, instead they just teased the audience with them. It's angsty melodrama isn't anything new or refreshing. The camera-work is good if a bit boring at times.
April 16, 2016
NC-17 but worthy. The characters are great movie buffs which I pretty much can relate to.
April 6, 2016
I loved this movie, it was very beautiful.
March 25, 2016
Why did the twins want a someone new to enter into their peculiar relationship? Maybe, the twin brother did realize some kind of limitation in between him and his twin sister. As they expected, Matthew brought something the twins never had had before to their relation. What Matthew brought seemed intrigued at first but the twins have realized that it made them not be able to stay their narrow world and push them out of their dreams. The movie has various aspects that make it translated in many different ways, and it might get you think that this film reached some level of quality regardless of what kind of way you appreciate this movie.
January 3, 2016
Desperation. Emptiness. Idealism. Naivity.

"The Dreamers" reflects the lives of those middle class adolescents in the late '60s who felt the need to revolt against the mainstream without really understanding what they were revolting against and what they wanted instead. "The Dreamers" reflects the disconnect between a generation of adolescents lost in bourgeois society, longing to get out but not knowing how.

Our main character is your generic intellectual who's living among people of a different culture and finds some people he connects with. He's dragged along a roller-coaster of sexual tension and alienation and enjoys every little bit of it, but in the end he realizes he's been living in a dream, he wakes up and moves on.

The symbolism is deep. The emotions are deep. I've rarely been this impressed by a movie, so all I can say is this : watch it with an open mind and let yourself go....
½ November 9, 2015
What a wonderful movie. The Dreamers is a love letter to the French New Wave, with all the spectacular erotica that Bertolucci can offer. It's a celluloid porno.. literally speaking. Finally, film fetishism and hardcore sex meet at last. The performances from the trio of lovers are outstanding and brave. Like all of his movies, Bertolucci asks for nearly everything from his actors, and every time, it never fails. Clothes come flying off. I always seem to respond very positively to art house films that veer towards pornography. It's not because I get a thrill out of it. There is something so powerful and intimate about sex on film. Sex is the most private, vulnerable state of the human experience. Through the sheets, we see our characters completely unravel. Granted you have to be a good actor for this to work. If this were entirely the case, than every porn movie would be up for an Oscar. That's a lot of gold statues to pass out. Bertolucci just orchestrates it all so beautifully.
October 19, 2015
one of my fav .. bertolucci's XXI masterpiece ...
September 12, 2015
Curious film from famous Italian director Bernardo Bertolucci that takes place during the student riots in 1968 Paris. I was in 7th grade at the time. A young American student is befriended by French fraternal twins who share his love of cinema, politics, culture and sex. Great film if you're into old movies and late 1960s music. There are clips of Charlie Chaplin, Fred Astaire and William Holden and the soundtrack has the music of Janis Joplin and Jimi Hendrix.
Page 1 of 137