Fanny & Alexander - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Fanny & Alexander Reviews

Page 1 of 53
½ April 25, 2017
Powerful, beautiful, and almost mystical, Ingmar Bergman's "Fanny & Alexander" is a true window to the soul.
March 23, 2017
A soaring Epic that follows the lives of two Swedish Children who grow up in a Wealthy Theatrical family that perfectly catches the fun & excitement of the household.

The story changes dramatically when the children's father passes & their mother remarries a harsh Lutheran Minister.

The look of this film is exquisite & the costumes are sensational. It's a dramatic & quite tragic story that just simply drags you into its world. A must see if you appreciate Ingmar Bergman.
½ January 20, 2017
Give Bergman 5 hours and he will create a Dickensian masterpiece of hope, despair and morality.
December 15, 2016
35%
Saw this on 15/12/16
This horrible film is ugly and pointless and has the most unrealistic characters that I've ever seen in any film. The characters are so bad that the film is nothing but exasperating. It is good in parts, however after nearly two hours, the film becomes so incomprehensible by moving way up its ass. The acting is nonetheless mostly good and it also has quite a few good moments and nostalgia as in Bergman's Wild Strawberries.
December 15, 2016
How does one narrate a personal history? Bergman's Alexander has a lively imagination, sensitive to the atmospheric magic of people and things. His harrowing experience in the hands of his stepfather the bishop earmarked his view of God-fearing in the absence of love of others or the comforts for the body. But even the bishop was given a fully embodied human agony and suffering instead of just a villain with pure malice. The drab bleakness of bishop's counterfeit religiosity contrasted sharply with Ekdhls' effusive, rich, and deeply human love and affections. The cinema photography made such points vividly from the rich velvety red and green of Ekdhls to the cold stony gray and black of the bishop's household. What a masterpiece.
September 19, 2016
Fanny and Alexander is opulent, poignant, and remarkably warm - a masterpiece of Mr. Bergman's most basic creative instincts about a strict childhood where the line between fantasy and reality is indistinct.
July 19, 2016
5/5 I decided to jump straight into the original, television version of Fanny and Alexander and found myself enjoying all 320 minutes of it. A review for a film this packed with wonder is hard to write, so let's just say that Bergman churns out another fantastic film rife with beauty, humour and humanistic grace. One thing I'd like to mention is that some of the scenes in Fanny and Alexander are downright haunting, so much so that they wouldn't feel out of place in a horror movie. But yes, I absolutely loved it.
June 25, 2016
Fanny & Alexander is a moving, heartfelt and profound tale of childhood that finds Ingmar Bergman at his very best with a powerful storytelling, both realistic and mysterious.
½ February 20, 2016
Ive seen only the 3h version, but i feel the missing parts and i wanted a bit more. I think i need to get my hands on the 5hours one.
February 17, 2016
This is a fine example of Ingmar Bergman's technique. Excellently acted, written and directed, it is a period piece that holds our attention throughout. It is not a complex story, simply a dramatization of a widowed mother and her two children and how they cope with the man in their lives. If one is looking for a perfect period drama, and doesn't mind the length of the film, you cannot go wrong with this choice. It's style and beauty is somewhat akin to Kubrick's "Barry Lyndon", except with subtitles.
January 27, 2016
very large in scope...breathtaking visuals and a sense of magic throughout. If you can make it thru longer movies (this one even has an intermission!) this one is definitely a must see.
December 26, 2015
Epic in scale, but well worth the patience, Fanny and Alexander is the farewell magnum opus from master director Ingmar Bergman. With Fanny and Alexander, Bergman constructs a beautiful portrait of humanity held together by its always entertaining dialogue and characters and its impeccably shot imagery.
½ December 2, 2015
Beautiful sets and costumes - but did not entirely capture my attention
November 17, 2015
Death doesn't make a difference
September 10, 2015
Bergman's (sort of) swan song seems to be a fairly straightforward costume drama about a family in turn of the century Sweden, but has mysterious and intriguing depths to it. There's a streak of magical realism running through it ... ghosts appear and Alexander may cause death using some form of wish projection. There's a deep current in it about good and evil, and the failings of the Christian conception of these ideas to account for joy and pleasure. An immensely rewarding film.
July 23, 2015
It is the best and the longest swedish movie I ever seen!
½ July 9, 2015
Really don't know what all the fuss is about...

Written and directed by Ingmar Bergman, the story of two children,
Fanny and Alexander (strangely enough), and what happens after their
father dies.

Underwhelming, a bit of an ordeal and vastly overrated. It's over three hours long, yet the story only really develops and has
some degree of intrigue from about the two-hour mark. Until then, it
just drifts and all feels like background, rather than plot
development.

Even once it does pick up the drama, this gets resolved in a rather
random fashion and then goes somewhere weird and pretentious.

Overall, pointless and mostly boring. Thank goodness for the fast
forward button and sub-titles (or "how to watch a 3-hour movie in 1 1/2 hours"...).
June 14, 2015
Bergman's dreamy family epic is his most accessible movie. It breaks away from the moody, brooding tone that characterized his early psychodramas. It is still dark, allegorical and illuminating of the dark side of human nature, but it is also life affirming and almost fairy tale like. Not just a cinematic achievement but a literary one too, for watching this long, carefully paced Dickensian tale feels like watching the pages of a classic novel come to life.
May 23, 2015
Lush, exquisite, heartwarming family drama blended with some intense dreamy sequences and stark reality that culminate into something truly fulfilling.
After a slow, gentle start, Bergman lets the story take over and this little boy's fantasy begins to weave it's way into the proceedings.
The ending is well worth the wait with it's developing intensity and eventual satisfaction.
I saw the 3 hr theatrical edition, and now I'd like to see the 5 hr version bc the characters and story are given more enrichment.
Still a bit long overall, but If you are willing to invest the time, this will bring you memorable images with keeping.

4 out of 5 flowery table decorations
Page 1 of 53