Fantastic Four - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Fantastic Four Reviews

Page 1 of 1403
½ August 31, 2017
I loved this movie when I was 15. Now as an adult I think it's ok.

It's Problems:

Ham fisted plot points: Every Movie has a map of plot points, what makes it not feel like a checklist is when there is a good story around it. That way we flow almost seemingly to every point and enjoy the story and it's developments. This just feels like a checklist. Have the 4 be like a family, lets give them previous history that kinda sorta ties them together. Lets do the same with Doom in regards to them knowing him. Check. Get their powers, Check. Have the powers make them look like their comic counterparts, check. And you get the idea. The most ham fisted one was Ben and Reed getting into a fight. Ben never trusted Doom, but suddenly he's friends with him just cuz Doom talked nice to him and give him food? And then he believes the lies Doom tells him about Reed despite him knowing Reed and being his friend long before he met Doom. I mean Come On.

Relying too much on the human side of things: There's hardly super hero stuff, it's more focused on Sue and Reed's relationship and finding a cure. Sure there is a action scene in the beginning, but they were responsible for what happened on the bridge. But somehow they still got famous and people knew what the human torch is a man on fire, despite him not turning into fire in that fight. What we get after that is a nice fun X Games thing with the human torch, alone. You know this movie would've benefited if it had a smaller villain causing trouble. The end is awesome, though it doesn't last long.

The Green Goblin...I mean Dr Doom: Doom is basically being Goblin from Spiderman 2002, only it's not a side effect of the performance inhancers. While it does make sense that he kills his board members after that he's literally an insane man for no reason. Sure Reed screw him over and put him in a bad position with his company, but that's no reason to terrorize the city. Also How come no one notices his scar is getting worse? Or that he's turning metal?

The Good:

This movie may have been just a check list of plot points but at least it's fun and funny at times. Hell it's even comical when it's trying to be serious. They still behave like a family in this movie, just more dysfunctional and it may have been ham fisted in there but atleast Time Story kinda understood them and tried to do a good job. I used to hate the Johnny Storm moments in this movie when I was 15, but now that Chris is Captain America, it's so funny seeing him play another Marvel character that's almost the complete opposite of Cap. And him showing off his powers is the most we're gonna see after the bridge incident and before the climax.
July 25, 2017
A bickering family comedy suits the source material, the banter isn't terribly clever but it's reasonably fun, the group's arc is well plotted and the pace is nice and zippy. From the interactions to the action Fantastic Four feels very cartoony and it is certainly watchable as a result, but there are downsides to this; it's simplistic and undemanding with two-dimensional characters. This means there's little to latch on to emotionally, it never feels like much is at stake and the speed of events means it passes over things too quickly. All in all the movie feels shallow and because of this it fails to leave much of an impression.
½ July 23, 2017
A movie that never quite crosses the line into spoof territory but would perhaps have been more fun if it had. The plot isn't particularly engaging and the characters are largely forgetable. The movie does have it's moments however and is certainly not as bad as many would have you believe. It could have been a lot better and feels very much like a movie put together by an uninterested committee.
½ July 23, 2017
pretty decent super hero film. good effects.
July 15, 2017
Better than the newest fantastic four
½ July 12, 2017
In some ways, it does stay true to the comics, and gives a relatively believable incarnation of the iconic superhero team, but the effects, acting and even the story is lame.
July 5, 2017
Mal escrito e cenas visualmente desinteressantes, não ha um ritmo que possa empolgar o publico; existe lacunas e cenas de pseudo-ação com atores duvidosos, ha muitos culpados mas, Tim Story foi extramente omisso em sua direção apática, deixando um clássico dos quadrinhos padecer nas letras amargas dos críticos de cinema.
½ June 1, 2017
It's very cheesy in an era where superhero films are becoming more serious, Fantastic Four doesn't do the team justice.
½ April 28, 2017
Everything is over acted and the the final product is choppy, boring, anticlimactic and just plain awkward.
April 28, 2017
Although the script is bad and the characters are bad and the acting is bad, this original adaptation of the Fantastic Four is nonetheless a fun retrospective watch.
April 28, 2017
It's a fun movie. Good effects for the time. The cast is okay, it's just not the fantastic 4 I would have like to seen, its alright though. Truly shows how far we've come in the superhero genre.
April 26, 2017
0 stars . I saw this at the age of four and hated it .
April 14, 2017
One of the better superhero movies out there. Loved most of the actors except for Jessica Alba. They could have found a better fit for the group.
½ April 6, 2017
It was pretty cheesy but sort of entertaining.
March 29, 2017
Fantastic Four (2005) C-106m. BOMB D: Tim Story. Ioan Gruffudd, Michael Chiklis, Chris Evans, Jessica Alba. Inauspicious adaptation of familiar Stan Lee/ Jack Kirby superhero comic books with familiar character competitions, one-liners, evil masterminds. Nothing escapes heavy-handedness. Definitely one time you should read the comics instead. You know something's wrong when a film makes Jessica Alba invisible. "Extended edition" runs 125m. Sequel: FANTASTIC 4: RISE OF THE SILVER SURFER.
March 25, 2017
A Team has Their differences...Individually they're weak..Stronger when they work together...Stronger when they build each other up than tear the other down
March 20, 2017
Rather limp superhero flick. The relationship between 'The Thing' and 'Human Torch' is brilliant, but is probably the only thing going for this movie which is very weak when compared to even the terribly floored Spider-Man films. Even the boring Hulk movie was better than this. There are too many moments of 'not a lot going on', that when the film finally finishes you sit back and wonder whether anything did actually occur during the whole two hours (the length of the extended version). Apart from the pile-up on the Brooklyn Bridge, the only other action sequence is the final fight (very short lived and simple). The rest of the movie sees the characters standing around talking, and as I said earlier, not a lot really happens in this movie. Fantastic Four needed a sequel even though it didn't deserve one.
½ March 15, 2017
The best part about the movie was the ending after credits sound system was bad the graphics were too weird and I look like every Marvel movie ever and had the same storyline as every Marvel movie
March 7, 2017
You know you have a problem with your film when you show a running gag of Jessica Alba getting half naked! Seriously, who the hell wrote this thing!? I couldn't even stand looking at her face, because it pisses me off! AARGH!! &£%# THIS MOVIE!! The only good thing which came out of this feature? Chris Evans taking on the role of Steve Rogers, a.k.a Captain America later on in his career, and forgetting about this!
½ March 1, 2017
Somehow people used money and high end equipment to produce a film with no characterization and no reason to like like the goodies in this simplistic comic book "adaptation". There are some extremely overcooked CGI moments in one scene, that will sort of blind you, but also make you aware of how obvious computer generated animations look compared to real footage.

Back in the 1960's Marvel created many of it's best characters, although they were designed specifically to be the most identifiable thing on the printed page, most had supernatural powers, with some limitations for storytelling purposes, and story arcs meant little to the genre, as the stories were designed to go on, and on, and on. To put it bluntly, comic book characters rarely make great cinema, and when film makers start putting story ideas before franchise marketing, the world will be a better place.
Page 1 of 1403