Fifty Shades Darker - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Fifty Shades Darker Reviews

Page 1 of 10
December 7, 2018
I'm actually tempted to go back and give extra stars to other films I thought were horrible because before Fifty Shades Darker I didn't know what I didn't know.
Full Review | Original Score: 0/5
November 12, 2018
This movie is more of a romance film than the first one and the actors seem to be a bit more comfortable in their roles.
November 10, 2018
It has some atrocious acting, and somehow Dornan manages to keep his trousers on for the first two-thirds of the movie. But (and I know this is damning with faint praise) it's not completely awful and Johnson in particular is rather good.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
November 2, 2018
When "Darker" is light, it almost works. Those moments are few and far between.
Full Review | Original Score: D
October 31, 2018
While Fifty Shades Darker is by no means a good movie, it's a majestically stupid piece of exploitation filmmaking that entertains despite its ample flaws making it an instant camp classic.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
August 30, 2018
This is nothing but an 118-minute cringe fest from beginning to end that is some way somehow significantly worse than its predecessor.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
August 24, 2018
The sequel is slightly more interesting for its revelations - Christian's horrific childhood and resulting pathology, the "psychological" reasons for his sadism.
March 7, 2018
Fifty Shades Darker is better than Fifty Shades of Grey in every imaginable way.
December 18, 2017
It's important to convey how dull this film is. Add to that tedium the terrible dialogue, choppy plotting and lack of chemistry between the leads, and the real sadism is demanding that 50 Shades fans to sit through this.
December 4, 2017
"You taught me how to f***, she taught me how to love" is an actual line in the movie
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
November 4, 2017
With clunky dialogue and an excessively stupid building mystery, Foley's slavishly faithful adaptation is the best unintentional comedy of the year.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
October 17, 2017
... the leads have the chemistry of damp toast.
October 16, 2017
This is not so much Fifty Shades Darker as Fifty Shades Duller, and on so many fronts too.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
October 1, 2017
At least a touch more zany than the last one, even if it's still choking a bit on its own attempts to feint at respectability.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
September 11, 2017
A muddle of half messages wearing a mask of false confidence, giving the director carte blanche to move his characters from one shaky ordeal to the next without having to contemplate the ramifications.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/4
September 5, 2017
I couldn't even find the enthusiasm to blank out 1 hour and 55 minutes of utter tedium and just focus on the bit where Jamie Dornan does three pull ups, repeatedly, in my mind.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
August 23, 2017
For all its attempts at eroticism, the movie is aggressively uninteresting.
August 21, 2017
If this is what us gals are supposed to salivate over on Valentine's Day, I remain disappointed in Hollywood's expectations of women.
August 10, 2017
I'll give Fifty Shades Darker this much, at least: The sex scenes are OK.
July 18, 2017
Watching Fifty Shades Darker, the sequel to 2015's Fifty Shades of Grey, was akin to having ice cream after getting all four wisdom teeth removed: there is a relieving sweetness, but it still hurts like hell to swallow.
Full Review | Original Score: D
Page 1 of 10