Fifty Shades Darker - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Fifty Shades Darker Reviews

Page 1 of 9
August 30, 2018
This is nothing but an 118-minute cringe fest from beginning to end that is some way somehow significantly worse than its predecessor.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
August 24, 2018
The sequel is slightly more interesting for its revelations - Christian's horrific childhood and resulting pathology, the "psychological" reasons for his sadism.
March 7, 2018
Fifty Shades Darker is better than Fifty Shades of Grey in every imaginable way.
December 18, 2017
It's important to convey how dull this film is. Add to that tedium the terrible dialogue, choppy plotting and lack of chemistry between the leads, and the real sadism is demanding that 50 Shades fans to sit through this.
December 4, 2017
"You taught me how to f***, she taught me how to love" is an actual line in the movie
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
November 4, 2017
With clunky dialogue and an excessively stupid building mystery, Foley's slavishly faithful adaptation is the best unintentional comedy of the year.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
October 17, 2017
... the leads have the chemistry of damp toast.
October 16, 2017
This is not so much Fifty Shades Darker as Fifty Shades Duller, and on so many fronts too.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
October 1, 2017
At least a touch more zany than the last one, even if it's still choking a bit on its own attempts to feint at respectability.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
September 11, 2017
A muddle of half messages wearing a mask of false confidence, giving the director carte blanche to move his characters from one shaky ordeal to the next without having to contemplate the ramifications.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/4
September 5, 2017
I couldn't even find the enthusiasm to blank out 1 hour and 55 minutes of utter tedium and just focus on the bit where Jamie Dornan does three pull ups, repeatedly, in my mind.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
August 23, 2017
For all its attempts at eroticism, the movie is aggressively uninteresting.
August 21, 2017
If this is what us gals are supposed to salivate over on Valentine's Day, I remain disappointed in Hollywood's expectations of women.
August 10, 2017
I'll give Fifty Shades Darker this much, at least: The sex scenes are OK.
July 18, 2017
Watching Fifty Shades Darker, the sequel to 2015's Fifty Shades of Grey, was akin to having ice cream after getting all four wisdom teeth removed: there is a relieving sweetness, but it still hurts like hell to swallow.
Full Review | Original Score: D
June 26, 2017
They (Leonard and Foley) do take it to the outer limits that made films like Black Swan and Showgirls enjoyable; meaning it's more enjoyable if you don't take it all so seriously.
June 20, 2017
Fans of the books and the first movie will nonetheless relish it as a tame contemporary bodice-ripper flick. Others can savor it as a satirical critique of the co-opting of BDSM by the conspicuous consumerism embodied by its billionaire Alpha male hero.
March 23, 2017
What will these people talk about when the sex gets boring? And trust me, it WILL get boring, because it was certainly boring as hell to watch.
March 9, 2017
If the film was any more shallow, it would be a piss-puddle in Death Valley.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/4
March 5, 2017
A slapdash effort, poorly written and poorly directed, full of laughably underdeveloped subplots
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
Page 1 of 9