Get Out - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Get Out Reviews

Page 1 of 17
September 21, 2018
This brilliantly provocative first feature from comic turned writer-director Jordan Peele proves that the best way to get satire to a mass audience is to call it horror.
August 30, 2018
Get Out brings humour into the horror-thriller realm. By adding the laughs, Get Out adds a flair of fun and an odd sense of realism.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
August 30, 2018
A modern horror classic that is smart, funny, surprisingly unpredictable throughout.
Full Review | Original Score: 4.5/5
August 28, 2018
There are aspects that could stand better explanation within the plot, but it doesn't seem compromised, and it makes us jump, sweat and cheer in all the right places.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
August 28, 2018
I laughed, I jumped, I didn't cry... but what a way to come out the gate.
August 27, 2018
Where the film fails is in the actual structure of the story, which is riddled with inconsistencies, gaping holes in the plot, and what seems to be a mid-point shift from one story to a completely different one.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
August 27, 2018
Everything in Get Out seems innocuous on first blush.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
August 27, 2018
Funny, tense, clever and assured, Get Out speaks to the lie of the "post-racial" world without ever letting the white part of its audience off the hook.
August 27, 2018
There were really strong performances throughout, especially from those playing Black people trapped inside their own bodies...to have that level of emotion...
August 27, 2018
Even if horror or thrillers aren't your genre, it's still a great movie.
August 24, 2018
Get Out is unusually smart for a February horror outing, effective and bracing. Its well- scripted and directed and deeply satisfying even if it causes some politically correct discomfort.
August 24, 2018
The cleverness of blending these genres, with a racial commentary that is razor sharp, is what got and kept people talking about "Get Out."
August 22, 2018
"Get Out" is total escapism while being a wonderfully mind-bending story revolving around racism. To pull off that combination is absolutely extraordinary.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
August 20, 2018
The performances are outstanding, as is the writing and directing. I definitely was tense watching the film (again, I'm a wimp) but I don't think you need to be deterred from the film if you're not a fan of horror.
August 6, 2018
Almost everything about this movie is both intelligent and raw.
June 12, 2018
The layers are endless and once you realize the totality of what's happening, the events take on new meaning.
April 19, 2018
Racism doesn't always have to be virulent, it can sometimes take benevolent and malicious forms as displayed in this haunting and topical film.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
April 3, 2018
A tasty performance from Kaluuya, together with Catherine Keener and Bradley Whitford as the parents, but Peele is the star find here.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
April 2, 2018
Peele's parting thought is not to insist that we are destined to be slaves to the narrow thinking of others, but that we have a responsibility to remain cautious and vocal until such ideas have been destroyed. Get Out is an urgent call to that necessity.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
March 19, 2018
If you like to be scared, if you like to laugh, and if you like to learn a thing or two at the movies, this absolutely cannot be missed.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Page 1 of 17