Himizu - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Himizu Reviews

Page 1 of 2
November 25, 2016
The story has so little hope that you have to cling to that last shred of it to the end.
November 12, 2015
A twisting film.
A twisting Sion Sono.
A twisting world.
October 18, 2015
Lots of violence in a film with such realistic atmosphere makes anyone quite unpleased considering such young characters, also a couple of unfinished business only a longer film could make for it, there's too much content for its lenght. Even repeating itself quite often in a symbolic way it's not much to say the film is impressive, but not an easy one to digest fast. Any enthusiast of Sono's films will praise the return of old actors and actresses even if as just cameos.
September 30, 2015
Filmed more naturalistically than the other Sion Sono films I've seen. Still very weird. The character motivations and emotions always don't make much sense, but still an interesting movie. It gets better in its second half. The main problem I had with it was Sumida hitting Keiko several times, almost casually, and the movie seems to almost treat it as endearing and not terrible like it is. Perhaps I'm missing the director's intent through the cultural prism, but I feel like the movie is all too accepting of it. It made me unable to feel much for Sumida as the film went on. And it also made me wonder why Keiko, an interesting character, would just blankly accept it (even if she was infatuated with him).
½ July 15, 2015
This movie goes from depressing to endearingly goofy, and back and forth a few times, before starting to really pile on the heavy, sometimes horrifying drama. This is not a film for the light of heart.
The synopses I've read kind of mislead, in my opinion. This movie is an exploration of depression, selfishness, and self-hatred. What pushes some people to these insane murderous sprees that we see on the news from time to time.
It is a commentary on some of the un-glorified aspects of modern Japanese society. I would like to think that things aren't this bad, and in reality they probably aren't LITERALLY this bad (or are at least uncommon), but while the film takes some of these situations to the extreme, it does reveal a sickening subconscious that I'm sure exists somewhere deep down in the collective mind of the older generation. And I'm sure it's not a problem limited just to the Japanese.
It does stay balanced in it's message, however. Not everything is black and white, here. The new generation can be just as twisted as anyone, and the perspective we have on this is that we can't see whether or not underlying circumstances (seemingly) justify the behavior or not. While we understand where our protagonist is coming from, we are shown other similar cases, without this vantage, which actually clears up any moral ambiguousness that the audience might be grappling with. Then of course it throws that all out the window, too.
If it sounds like I'm rambling, I'm probably still reeling from it. This is a very, very heavy film, and you just don't know what's coming, ever.

Technical points: I don't recognize Japanese rude words, but the translation I had certainly had a lot of them. A fair bit of brutal, unglorified violence, against women and children even. Some of this felt very real to me, and I didn't like seeing it, but I understand why it's there.
Nice score, if a little repetitive.
Fantastic direction, incredible acting, especially from the young stars. (I tend to find many Japanese movie actors these days to be mediocre, at best).
Apart from Sumida-kun looking more like an 18 year old than a 14 year old, he's done an amazing job of selling me on his character's pain.
His female cohort too, brought such a believable energy to her character, it was a pleasure to watch.
Also to the man who played the elder refugee, though sometimes over the top, he was truly earnest.
I could go on.
Great use of long takes, I do love a good long take.

Ultimately, though, this movie is just too oppressive in nature for me to give it a higher recommendation. It's technically a 5, I think. But, I'll have to give it a much more modest 3.5 for this very reason.
May 26, 2015
rather sad. what was with all the hitting? i would have liked it better if the two main characters didn't constantly beat the hell out of each other.
February 17, 2015
An accurate and beautiful portrayal on the effects and aftermath of human cruelty.
September 28, 2014
Repetitive and pointless plot.
½ July 20, 2014
post-tsunami blues coming of age tale. depressing and contemporary.
June 3, 2014
There is hope, after all
½ February 27, 2014
Juxtaposes Ruined Cities & Buildings (Of The Fukushima Powerplant / Earthquake-Tsunami) Against Serious Mental Health (PTSD) Issues & Teen Anguish In The Aftermath Of The Disaster..& Unless You're Serious About Your Arthouse Film-Noir Cinemah, It Will Not Be Ur Cup Of Tea.
October 26, 2013
Some may call it a character study.
To me, it's a study of character exaggeration, that accumulates to the point when you don't care anymore.
October 26, 2013
Some may call it a character study.
To me, it's a study of character exaggeration, that accumulates to the point when you don't care anymore.
July 23, 2013
Sion Sono masterfully depicts life in post-tsunami Japan in this tale of love, hate, despair and hope. Touching music and a stunning performance by Fumi Nikaido make this movie an emotional roller coaster. See at all costs.
½ June 2, 2013
Sorpresiva, violenta e intensa, sostenida por excelente actuaciones. Es una experiencia que se tiene que evaluar detenidamente a pesar de ser una historia bastante sencilla (enamoramiento adolescente, abandono familiar, venganza, etc.). Vale la pena, aunque no es para cualquiera. (Texto intencionalmente sin acentos).
January 30, 2013
ich glaube, dass der comic viel besser ist .....
Super Reviewer
½ January 20, 2013
One of my increasingly favourite directors, Sion Sono, delivers this bizarre but heartfelt look at two adolescents struggling with what life has to offer them. Sumida must look after his family's boathouse after his parents leave. Now and again his drunk father returns to remind him that he would have been better of if Sumida had died, then he could have obtained the insurance. It's that kind of film. Sure, it's predominantly wrapped up in darkness, but there is heart and beauty also to be found. Sumida is reluctant to let anyone in, and only wishes for a 'normal' future. A series of events lead to stabbings, yakuza, rock collecting, and fighting a nazi. It's a strange film, but the strangest thing of all is how real it all feels. Set against the backdrop of the aftermath of the Tohoku earthquake and tsunami, the film has a distant feel but gradually lets you in and enjoy the characters. Certainly more than your average film.
January 16, 2013
i like KOINOTSUMI(sion sono2012) better than this
November 18, 2012
I usually enjoy the tragedy but really couldn't stand all these mentally-ill characters in "Himizu." A post-tsunami Japanese film depicted the breaking points of human being and effects from bad families through young generation. The movie presented a lot of insanity which was hard to believe and made me wonder how many normal people are left there in Japan after the disaster.
½ October 15, 2012
A typical Sion movie, interesting setting but not much in the way of surprises.
Page 1 of 2