Koroshiya 1 (Ichi the Killer) - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Koroshiya 1 (Ichi the Killer) Reviews

Page 1 of 197
July 6, 2016
I've watched Ichi the Killer twice. The first time I found the gore and violence off-putting, and didn't like the movie. Seeing it again 10 years later, after having lived in Japan, the movie made a lot more sense to me. The themes of bullying (to the point of institutionalized structure) and isolation are serious issues in Japanese society. The movie is over-the-top and painful to watch at moments, but it is also memorable and keeps you in an excited state throughout. Tadanobu Asano delivers a virtuoso performance as an eccentric and masochistic gangster. The CGI isn't always convincing, but luckily its used sparingly. Miike delivers a visionary, disturbing, delightfully kooky at times, and one-of-a-kind movie-watching experience.
½ May 2, 2016
3.4/5

Mikees style is impressively implemented but at the same time tends to harm the narrative experience as it doesnt always care to make complete sense of the events that unfold. That in turn makes for one of the most peculiar viewing experiences Ive had and all the violence and creativity of the manga translate beautifully to the screen with great acting and really powerful scenes.
½ April 15, 2016
Over the top gory and ridiculous. The ending is surprisingly thought provoking as to its message about violence and our consumption there of.
March 16, 2016
Why?? Its just fucked up no real story there if you like this movie you are a "special" breed
½ March 1, 2016
"There's no love in your violence"-Kakihara
½ March 1, 2016
An absolute gorefest that just doesn't have any functionality. Torture porn at its worst. The homage to the Yakuza is interesting, if not consuming, but it's completely shafted by blood splatters amidst violent attacks that have no real premise.
½ January 2, 2016
El director Takeshi Miike nos ofrece una película enferma en el buen y en el mal sentido de la palabra. "Ichi The Killer", una película de Yakuza Gore, no parece tener mayor pretensión que ser ultraviolenta y misógina y lo logra de manera elocuente. Los personajes de Kakihara (Tadanobu Asano) e Ichi (Nao Omori) serán difíciles de olvidar si usted tiene las tripas para soportar esta fuerte experiencia cinematográfica.
½ November 29, 2015
A touching coming of age tale about a boy and his blade boots.
Super Reviewer
½ November 18, 2015
Definitely shocking in its excess of gore and brutal violence, this bizarre (and inadvertently hilarious) manga story is filled with a surprising dose of dark humor and features a cute but odd anti-hero and an always fascinating sadomasochistic villain.
November 6, 2015
A young guy is manipulated into killing, which sets rival gangs, who had previously called a truce, up against each other, while trying to find out what's happened to Boss Anjo. Sadistic henchman Kakihara is on the warpath trying to find out where Anjo is & will stop at nothing to find him, but has he met his match in Ichi? No matter how often I see this film, I enjoy it every time. Is it wrong that I root for psychotic sadist Kakihara?
October 4, 2015
It was interesting, but I might have liked it more if it actually made sense.
September 27, 2015
Quite charmy with its extreme violence and torture, it's somewhat baffling a film with so much gore to have so little to none nudity at all. Besides having no explanation whatsoever about its plot, even after connecting all the dots it's still a bit senseless. The one thing that almost kills the film is the terrible CGI effects in Langoliers level.
July 27, 2015
Sometimes I think that Japanese culture, at least in film, has almost no real, or imagined, sense of transgression, since almost everything is visually permitted. Still, that said, this film is as engrossing as _Reservoir Dogs_ or _Goodfellas_. It is interesting the way films like this of near immeasurable violence and cruelty intermix enough spirituality and narrative novelty as to make them endurable. Like the way Scorsese's heterodox Catholicism weaves itself into his crime films. As in much of this kind of crime noir, there is no traditional "good guy," or at least morally neutral, as everyone depicted within _Ichi_ is a soldier for the yakuza, a prostitute, or, Ichi himself, a manipulated sociopath. Kakihara is one of the screen's most diabolical and unique villains. He is essentially a profound masochist, and the ruthless torture he inflicts is made worse in that you can see he identifies with who he is torturing. The entire film centers on his near-spiritual quest for the ultimate sadistic experience --- hence why he seeks out the psychotic Ichi. Without giving away the ending, I will say that I am enjoying Miike's films more and more, and the way the finale dissolves desire and reality at a moment, reminds me very much of David Lynch. The representations of violence are varied from painfully realistic to the smilingly ridiculous. Excellent film on crime and its nihilism: "who's left to kill me?" Kakihara disappointingly adds at the end of the film.
½ July 11, 2015
This cult movie sounds like it was made for me, yet it was kind of cruddy.
May 31, 2015
Infamously gruesome and sadistic horror film that is so over-the-top --- it is next to impossible not to watch it. Asano Tadanobu gives a star-making performance that is both comical and horrifying.
May 29, 2015
great flick..only problem i have is the CGI on some scenes looked a bit lame but still doesn't take away from the fact this flick still kicks ass
May 24, 2015
A violent (almost comic) thriller about a gang war in Japan. The movie have strong actings, violent scenes (and sadistic ones) but the blood effects are somewhat too forced to be beliviable. Nice story in all - maybe in 2001 it had caused some comotion, but nowadays not so much. 7/10
April 24, 2015
With all of it's blood and violence it ends up just being kind of slow and didn't really keep my attention. It has its moments
½ April 22, 2015
Um culto ao trash e ao sadomasoquismo. Filme para quem tem estômago e paciência. Takashi criou uns planos e cortes interessantes.
Page 1 of 197