Koroshiya 1 (Ichi the Killer) - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Koroshiya 1 (Ichi the Killer) Reviews

Page 1 of 197
½ October 2, 2017
Three words to describe this: brutal, confusing, bizarre. I had heard this movie was on the "crazy WTF did I just watch" list, so I knew going in I was going to see some weird stuff and in that department it did not disappoint. It is a tough watch with all the extreme abuse/violence against women throughout the movie. The gore goes from extremely gory to just absolute wacky and laughable. The main character is supposed to be Ichi(obviously by the title) but it was more focused on Japanese pimp style Joker, Kakihara, even dressed in purple and green at one point. Ichi felt more like a side character than anything and dude is wacked out on goofballs here. Then again so is pretty much everyone in this. Not my kind of thing at all really, despite it feeling like something Quentin Tarantino would love. The ending was pure David Lynch all the way because I was like "????" Very strange movie..
July 27, 2017
The movie is not for everyone, but Miike can make any movie and rarely takes the same script twice. Definitely, an original.
May 17, 2017
I Like Violence, Swearing, Sex And Nudity In R-Rated Movies.
May 12, 2017
En gran parte es fiel adaptación del manga.
March 20, 2017
Hyper violence at it's over the top gory best. A massive, mind-blowing head trip that is hard not to like due to it's comical execution. It's colourful range of characters make it's adaptation from comic to screen all the more enjoyable. This is as much a comic book as a movie, as 'Sin City' was.
January 21, 2017
Ichi The Killer, a splatterfest of blood, and other bodily fluids is an unorthodox yakuza tale form one of Japan's most prolific filmmakers. Original and unapologetic, Ichi is a shocking, fun and surprising movie that utilizes satire just as much as gore.
½ January 16, 2017
Totally over-the-top, no fucks given insanity that is as thrillingly fun as darkly comic. Miike sure knows the formula to good exploitation.
October 9, 2016
Ichi The Killer is a seriously weird movie. It has something of a serious storyline, concerning a brutal henchman searching for the kidnapped employer to which he is fiercely loyal. But then we have bizarre editing, sadomasochism, gallons of artificial blood, a character who switches between languages for no discernible reason and an eponymous murderer who spends most of the film hiding under a blanket, playing video games and whimpering. Some of it is admittedly pretty hilarious, and I think the movie wanted to be very tongue-in-cheek, but it goes on for far too long, and the closer it gets to the end the slower it progressively gets. By the times it's over it's nearly impossible to still care about what is going on. The Japanese have produced plenty of gory but somewhat amusing movies, and among them, Ichi doesn't do much to stand out.
½ September 10, 2016
A fun Crime, Horror film that is full of fun and disturbing violence. Takashi Miike did an excellent job at directing this film and I appreciate all the cast and crew who put the effort into making this fun Japanese Extreme.
July 6, 2016
I've watched Ichi the Killer twice. The first time I found the gore and violence off-putting, and didn't like the movie. Seeing it again 10 years later, after having lived in Japan, the movie made a lot more sense to me. The themes of bullying (to the point of institutionalized structure) and isolation are serious issues in Japanese society. The movie is over-the-top and painful to watch at moments, but it is also memorable and keeps you in an excited state throughout. Tadanobu Asano delivers a virtuoso performance as an eccentric and masochistic gangster. The CGI isn't always convincing, but luckily its used sparingly. Miike delivers a visionary, disturbing, delightfully kooky at times, and one-of-a-kind movie-watching experience.
½ May 2, 2016
3.4/5

Mikees style is impressively implemented but at the same time tends to harm the narrative experience as it doesnt always care to make complete sense of the events that unfold. That in turn makes for one of the most peculiar viewing experiences Ive had and all the violence and creativity of the manga translate beautifully to the screen with great acting and really powerful scenes.
½ April 15, 2016
Over the top gory and ridiculous. The ending is surprisingly thought provoking as to its message about violence and our consumption there of.
March 16, 2016
Why?? Its just fucked up no real story there if you like this movie you are a "special" breed
½ March 1, 2016
"There's no love in your violence"-Kakihara
½ March 1, 2016
An absolute gorefest that just doesn't have any functionality. Torture porn at its worst. The homage to the Yakuza is interesting, if not consuming, but it's completely shafted by blood splatters amidst violent attacks that have no real premise.
½ January 2, 2016
El director Takeshi Miike nos ofrece una película enferma en el buen y en el mal sentido de la palabra. "Ichi The Killer", una película de Yakuza Gore, no parece tener mayor pretensión que ser ultraviolenta y misógina y lo logra de manera elocuente. Los personajes de Kakihara (Tadanobu Asano) e Ichi (Nao Omori) serán difíciles de olvidar si usted tiene las tripas para soportar esta fuerte experiencia cinematográfica.
½ November 29, 2015
A touching coming of age tale about a boy and his blade boots.
Super Reviewer
½ November 18, 2015
Definitely shocking in its excess of gore and brutal violence, this bizarre (and inadvertently hilarious) manga story is filled with a surprising dose of dark humor and features a cute but odd anti-hero and an always fascinating sadomasochistic villain.
November 6, 2015
A young guy is manipulated into killing, which sets rival gangs, who had previously called a truce, up against each other, while trying to find out what's happened to Boss Anjo. Sadistic henchman Kakihara is on the warpath trying to find out where Anjo is & will stop at nothing to find him, but has he met his match in Ichi? No matter how often I see this film, I enjoy it every time. Is it wrong that I root for psychotic sadist Kakihara?
October 4, 2015
It was interesting, but I might have liked it more if it actually made sense.
Page 1 of 197