Jack Reacher - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Jack Reacher Reviews

Page 1 of 311
½ April 22, 2018
Got boring after a while... Great start tho.
½ April 13, 2018
mystery starring a serene (for once) tom cruise, with a plot that gradually builds into a grander scope. the script is intelligent and disciplined, and intensive attention is needed to work out the plot, while the action scenes satisfy. cruise gets lee child's reacher right.
February 24, 2018
This movie had so many elements, it was awesome, I haven't seen a crafty movie like this in a while.
½ February 21, 2018
It looks like it was their mission to take The Da Vin Chi code and change it into a crime thriller. Did Tom Cruise think he was auditioning for Captain America in this film?
February 5, 2018
Jack Reacher is a surprisingly well-done crime thriller. There aren't many action sequences and the few there are aren't big and epic with glorious explosions to the tune of "Ride of the Valkyries" and the slow pacing can put off some audiences. Good first impression as the first 8 minutes of the movie consist of an amazing opening sequence without a single line of dialogue. It helps set up a story that is riveting with no requirement of familiarity with Lee Child's series of books to understand the movie. Note that I'm reviewing the film by its own merits meaning sorry for doing the horrific crime of not mercilessly assaulting the size problem regarding Reacher and Tom Cruise. The small amount of action sequences that there are in the movie are actually executed pretty damn well. It's almost as if a cameraman was filming a documentary about a drifter who likes to beat people up. Tom Cruise is more than just a badass, he's a frickin terrifying guy. If you see Reacher giving you a dirty look almost as if he's prepared to beat you up then you'd better make like Shaggy and Scooby and run, run, RUN!!! I enjoyed the narrative technique used in this movie. Mainly that the story is told in chronological order but we get to see flashbacks that provide a retrospective look at the opening sequence. I thought that Jack Reacher was going to be boring but I ended up liking it far more than I should've. The moral of the story is: Crime thrillers don't need to be full of nonstop action to succeed.
January 15, 2018
This was such a solid movie all around. Great ending and Tom Cruise at his finest.
December 27, 2017
Tom Cruise may not be the quintessential Jack Reacher depicted in the books, but he owns this role. He brings his Mission Impossible persona straight across as the titular Jack Reacher, a former military investigator who is brought in to figure out if a man he once had run-ins through an incident in Baghdad is guilty of murdering 5 people in cold blood. The film goes through twist after twist effortlessly and even utilizing logic when it comes to the shooting itself. The fight sequences are well choreographed and bring with them a brutality that some movies along the same lines tend to veer away from. The performances are well put together with each character being given enough screen time to become essential to the story and also adding stakes for the climactic final sequence. Jack Reacher is a train ride from start to finish, taking you through twists and turns until it explodes on the screen. Definitely a must see for Tom Cruise fans and also fans of this genre.
½ November 13, 2017
Directed magnificently by Christopher McQuarrie and starring Tom Cruise in one of his most different roles, Jack Reacher stands way above your average modern day thriller. The film throws minimal edits and bursts of extremely well framed fight and action sequences with one of the most exhilarating car chases in film. The story keeps an even flow of mystery to keep the viewer constantly interested in where it's headed. The only real flaw here is occasional tonal shifts that may throw off some scenes of tension and jar the audience up. Other than that, it's a superb mystery thriller that may entertain most.
October 26, 2017
Underrated film, don't be blinded by your hate for Tom.
October 22, 2017
Tom's pretty good...
October 9, 2017
More like a Jack Reacharound when all you wanted was a rusty trombone.
August 27, 2017
An excellent action movie $8.50
½ August 14, 2017
Kinda liked it, decent movie.
½ August 12, 2017
Jack Reacher relies on more a strong script and an engaging crime premise rather than action and thus has some consistency flaws, but it's still enjoyable and Tom Cruise delivers a solid performance.
½ August 4, 2017
An excellent popcorn flick. Come here if you want Tom Cruise in the zone (as always) and some decent twists and turns.
½ August 4, 2017
Good story line. Similar plot as mission impossible.
Tom Cruise plays Jack Reacher flawlessly
August 3, 2017
Fun, tense, and thrilling, Jack Reacher is one of the most underrated movies in Tom Cruise's filmography. Cruise delivers one of his best acting performances ever, although War of the Worlds is definitely his best. The first 8 minutes are near-perfect; no dialogue, long takes between cuts, a lot of suspense, and most importantly NO UNNECESSARY NARRATION. The rest of the movie is no less awesome. The action is very well shot and choreographed, testing the limits of the PG-13 rating. The calm moments in between successfully keep you engaged. As a whole, the film is expertly directed by Christopher McQuarrie, skillfully written, and equally well acted. There is a bit of unnecessary exposition from time to time, but as long as you can forgive that you won't be disappointed.
July 27, 2017
The low percentage score honestly shocks me for this film. Jack Reacher is the perfect blend of action, mystery, and a pinch of comedy. The story line will keep you thinking throughout the duration of the film and the action will keep your heart rate going (all in good taste haha). This is a great film and I look forward to the sequel...

"Look at the people and tell me which ones are free"
½ July 25, 2017
Much better than I expected.
July 24, 2017
Excellent story! Rosamund Pike is a stunner. I like that there's a bi-partisanship about it. I dare say, leaning rightward. The fingers scene was horrific.

Why do people say, "I hate Tom Cruise...but I like this movie"? Where does this hate come from, other than the media? Not sure he's young enough to play Reacher, but I wouldn't change it.
Page 1 of 311