Jennifer's Body - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Jennifer's Body Reviews

Page 1 of 588
½ July 30, 2016
Just watch Heathers...
½ July 12, 2016
"Jennifer's Body" has it's moments and is not a bad popcorn flick but it's never really clever or entertaining as it tries to be.
June 11, 2016
megan fox delivers in what I have got to say one of my favorite movies of all time
½ May 15, 2016
At first I was surprised that this movie had such a low rating but then on skimming the top critics briefly discovered one of the main 'flaws' of the movie is that there is not enough female nudity. haha whoah sometimes chauvinism seems like a parody of itself.... anyway this is a really funny movie but it is possible that it is a film of its time. e.g. the 'emo kid' gets a crush on amanda seyfried's character the day after she has experienced a tragic event and then gets a crush on megan fox's character as soon as she is looking ill and vampiric, having not eaten tortured humans recently. I hadn't expected this film to be so funny so maybe I'm rating it higher than I should but regardless, I rate it highly.
April 24, 2016
Oscar-winning screenwriter Diablo Cody's acidic witticism is all wasted on this frivolous teenage slasher horror comedy about (literally) a high-school man-eater.
½ April 17, 2016
Watching this when it came out, I thought that it was an annoying, unfunny, unscary movie. Watching it six and a half years later, I see it for the smart, sharply written, subversive, and interesting female movie that it is, complete with engaging character dynamics and some touching moments.
March 22, 2016
The film doesn't know whether to be funny or scary and oftentimes comes across as more awkward than either. There will be instances, such as whenever J.K. Simmons shows up with a hook hand and a bad wig, when it feels like a complete farce. But then it takes itself completely seriously a few scenes later and actually tries to scare you with some truly terrible CGI. Megan Fox and Amanda Seyfried both handle their respective roles very well. Fox was an especially pleasant surprise - managing to convey the right balance of vulnerability and raging bloodlust. Unfortunately, it's not enough to save the movie. This is ultimately a major disappointment after Diablo Cody's previous great effort: Juno
Who'd like it? Only die-hard fans of Fox or Seyfried. Otherwise, give it a skip.
Super Reviewer
½ March 15, 2016
I think I like this movie more upon rewatch because I am now an out-and-proud Megan Fox fan :-P Fox came on the scene as a salty male fantasy, but in the past several years, she has proven her supporting actress mettle in low-key dramas and mainstream comedies. She has a certain quality that evokes the same charm and magnetism of Marilyn Monroe, an actress with ambiguous talent who was poorly managed and not taken seriously because of her pin-up appearance and frothy voice.

Such is the case for Fox. She possesses Monroe's bewitching beauty but also her uncannily sad eyes. Fox's physical attributes render her undoubtedly perfect for the role of the devilishly hot and eerily mercurial man-eater, Jennifer, but she actually brings some layers into the character - not only the sweetly flustered flirtation or the quietly anguished "My name is Jennifer" - but a layer that I'm not sure the filmmakers intended (more on why not later).

Even in the scenes where Jennifer is madcap elated, Fox's sad eyes seem to imply a deeper torment tugging at the surface demon. This leads me to believe that Jennifer's soul is still present and fighting for control of her body, but the film does not go in that direction.

There's much to like about the movie: the pumping soundtrack, the satirical commentary on indie bands and tragedy boners, the pervasive hotness. In the end though, it's just a cheap, crazy-chick-gets-revenge flick (the trope of which has experienced a feminist/pseudo-feminist resurgence with many of Gillian Flynn's novel adaptations). Diablo Cody tried to write a feminist horror movie in which all the tropes of helpless, preyed-upon women get turned on their heads. A woman preys on the men, and a woman ultimately kills the demon, but the eponymous woman is merely fantasy porn for sadistic man-haters. I would have liked the movie better if Jennifer only kills the men who wronged her or leched after her. Chip would be spared, and the douches of Low Shoulder will get their due without Needy having to resort to one-dimensional cracked-outedness. The script doesn't allow the demon any depth; despite Fox's nuanced gaze, her original soul is a null entity.

I was hoping that the movie would actually follow through with its truthful analysis of tragedy, but alas, it's just not-as-clever, awkwardly-executed "Juno"-esque dialogue with blood and gore. And a hot lesbian make-out. But you know, that part didn't really further the plot.
February 16, 2016
I love this movie, its not a "booga booga" jump scare feature but there are some very funny and poignant moments.
February 1, 2016
Pretty good, there was a little bit too much blood and gore for my liking but for the most part it was pretty good. I was a little tipsy when I watched this but for the most part I do remember liking this
January 30, 2016
I wanted to like this more, truly I did. For one thing, I'm a huge horror fan, and I'm all for the advancement of women in the horror genre on and off screen. I don't want it to be all about final girls and slutty victims. I appreciate a strong female protagonist. And I don't just mean the "virgin who has the final confrontation with the killer." I mean someone who is able to kick ass while retaining their femininity. The best example to date is Sharni Vinson in "You're Next." But that film was written by a man. This one here's a novelty: a horror movie about women written by a woman and DIRECTED by a woman (Karyn Kusama, director of the effective sports drama "Girlfight"). But...two things make this one a one-star failure. (I give it one star solely for the surehanded direction of Kusama during this mess.) First of all...Megan Fox. The girl's hot, yes, but she is NOT the second coming of Bette Davis, in terms of acting ability or the ability to terrify you. I don't want to say she CAN'T act, because I have seen Tom Arnold effectively portray a child molester in "Gardens of the Night," so I believe that any actor deemed "the worst" has the potential to change minds and win hearts. For Megan Fox, this is NOT that project. But a lot of it comes down to the failings of the screenplay of Diablo Cody. Were it not for the starmaking performance of Ellen Page in "Juno," I would completely despise that movie, because it's so full of itself you start to choke. The same problem permeates "Jennifer's Body." Diablo Cody's writing just translates to the screen as transparently phony, not based on actual human emotion and, worst of all, smug. That appears to be her trademark (also basing on episodes of "The United States of Tara.") Which is a darn shame, because I'm all for female screenwriters who get recognized. But everything feels forced with Cody. And she definitely doesn't have the wherewithal to set up and execute a scare properly. So by the time this WAY too long ride screeches to an abrupt and unpleasant halt, you'll feel as though it wasn't worth it. Which to me, it's not. One day we'll have a great horror movie written, directed by, and about women. But it's not this one.
January 30, 2016
It was scary and thrilling
½ January 5, 2016
This movie was really dumb. Not scary, not entertaining, just bad.
November 22, 2015
My thoughts after watching this movie: "I wasted two hours of my life"
½ November 7, 2015
Una trama bastante original, con un dialogo brillante (sello de Diablo Cody); claro que tiene fallas, pero la combinacion terror/comedia funciona, además de la elección de escoger a Megan Fox como Jennifer es ideal.
½ October 31, 2015
An awful piece of shitâ¦
½ October 15, 2015
Is this a horror mv?
½ October 6, 2015
"Jennifer's evil," high school senior Anita "Needy" Lesnicki (Amanda Seyfried) frantically explains to her boyfriend Chip (Johnny Simmons). "She's actually evil, not high school evil." Needy, resourceful and bookish, has done enough research (thanks to the Occult section of her school's library) to come to the conclusion that her lifelong best friend, the popular and abnormally attractive Jennifer Check (Megan Fox), is no longer just her shitty BFF but also her shitty BFF who has become - gulp - possessed by a demonic entity.
How does she know?? Maybe it's the way Jennifer likes to vomit up a black substance chunkier than the gunk Regan from "The Exorcist" spewed out forty-some years ago, the way she can slice up her arm with a butcher knife, burn her tongue with a cigarette lighter, get stabbed by a pack of lunatic rockers, and still manage to heal herself in an instantaneous snap of a finger akin to X-Men's own Wolverine. Or maybe it's the way she devours the flesh and blood of unsuspecting romantic liaisons like a cannibalistic Black Widow. Or maybe it's her sudden lack of conscience, which causes her to make jokes in the middle of class about all those coincidental local murders. It could be nothing at all - perhaps a bad case of PMSing? But like Jennifer reminds her alleged best friend halfway through the film, PMSing is something the male-dominated media made up in order to make an excuse as to why females can sometimes get a little crazy. So there's only one conclusion to turn to: Jennifer is possessed. Hell is a teenage girl after all.
Back in '09, "Jennifer's Body" was hyped as both the first leading role of blockbusting it-girl Megan Fox and also as the follow-up for screenwriter Diablo Cody, who won the Oscar for Best Original Screenplay two years previously for "Juno". A box-office bomb and a critical mix-up, it has long since been forgotten, a teen horror comedy undeservedly considered to be a chance to grab the attention of the male audience "Twilight" couldn't muster. (Who can forget the heavily publicized lesbionic kiss between its two female leads?)
So it's a shame that "Jennifer's Body" is, in actuality, a misunderstood oddity with a degree of wit comparable to 1989's untouchable "Heathers", blacker than black but funny as hell. You've got to be a little twisted to find joy in the humor, but I don't think I'm so much twisted as I am appreciative of the very literal approach Cody takes with the "high school is hell" cliché, concocting a brilliant cocktail of teen angst and actual threat. Her famous pop culture infused zingers are all here, and so are her neuroses that manage to be flavorful and observant. She knows her characters well enough to throw tongue-in-cheek curveballs at them without the doubts of the audience murdering her oddball sensibilities. To take it seriously (think of it as a better than usual B-movie - one critic compared it to "Drag Me to Hell") would be a mistake. It's made to have fun with.
And now that the erotic smoke has cleared from Fox's public persona, we can now appreciate her as a sultry but perfectly cast leading character, delivering Cody's snarky lines with a vicious snap; and since Seyfried is now an established name rather than the up-and-comer she was back then, we can delight in her pluckiness, her charm as a unwitting protagonist.
So blink a few times and look again - "Jennifer's Body" isn't a failure but a horror comedy for the ages, a cult classic in the making. Cody didn't make a misstep and neither did Fox; they, instead, got caught in the crossfire of a public expecting something trashy, something provocative, something to cash-in on the vampire craze but got something smart. Six-years-ago, nobody got it - but decades from now, don't be surprised if people are still laughing at "Twilight" and are instead deciding to pay tribute to "Jennifer's Body". It's too distinct to pass along, and the mainstream rarely gets this risky.
September 8, 2015
so this movie wasn't terrible, but i was probably most impressed with JK Simmons' role than anything... i didn't know he could be so diverse!
½ August 23, 2015
Strange but yet man-eating (literally)
Page 1 of 588