Kiss Me Deadly - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Kiss Me Deadly Reviews

Page 1 of 2
September 12, 2016
The actors' idiosyncratic voices, wrapped around such chrome-plated poetry as "the great whatsit" and "va-va-voom," are as hauntingly musical as Aldrich's images.
December 10, 2012
Aldrich's annihilating masterpiece, one of the decade's key works
July 9, 2011
In the years since its release, Kiss Me Deadly has been copied so many times that many of its boldest elements are familiar, but they've done little to dull its overall impact.
Full Review | Original Score: 9.5/10
July 3, 2011
The plot of the book is jettisoned for something altogether more terrifying and mysterious: Possession of a box that glows from within every time it is opened, however briefly. If that sounds like Pulp Fiction, well, it is, only 40 years earlier.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
June 28, 2011
Kiss Me Deadly was so far out there that it is usually viewed as an end point to the classic film noir cycle.
Full Review | Original Score: 9/10
June 27, 2011
... delivers a pulp punch while it savagely satirizes the entire hardboiled mythos with its bare-knuckle brutality, flights of purple prose dialogue and he-man chauvinism ...
June 23, 2011
one of the most memorable of American film noir, a remarkable fusion of hard-boiled mystery and atomic horror
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
June 20, 2011
...a cubist noir of the atomic age.
| Original Score: 4/5
June 17, 2011
As brutal and cynical as the movie is, Aldrich knows how to seduce the audience; it still resembles a crackerjack crime movie.
April 10, 2011
I theme and style, Aldrich's apocalyptic film noir is an eccentric work, in many ways ahead of its times.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
March 27, 2009
In the dingy, black-and-white halls of the film noir pantheon, they've a special place set aside for Kiss Me Deadly.
March 27, 2009
This independently produced low-budget film was a shining example for the New Wave directors -- Truffaut, Godard, et al -- who found it proof positive that commercial films could accommodate the quirkiest and most personal of visions.
October 30, 2008
The trail leads to a series of amorous dames, murder-minded plug-uglies and dangerous adventures that offer excitement but have little clarity to let the viewer know what's going on.
October 18, 2008
The brutality of the film's characters and its scenario are shocking enough today, but in 1955, they were gobsmacking.
August 9, 2007
Dazzling film noir masterpiece.
June 24, 2006
Kiss Me Deadly delivers the 'white-hot thrills' and 'blood-red kisses' promised by its publicity, as well as reminding us whence Tarantino stole his best riffs.
May 1, 2006
Never was Mike Hammer's name more fitting than in Kiss Me Deadly, Robert Aldrich's blisteringly nihilistic noir.
February 9, 2006
A crucial influence on what would become the French new wave, an irresistibly seedy trip through the Los Angeles underworld, and a valuable artifact of Cold War anxiety.
April 15, 2005
It's not the greatest thriller ever, but Kiss Me Deadly is classic film noir.
Read More | Original Score: 3/5
December 26, 2004
Best exemplifies a curious cross between "art" and pulp fiction.
Full Review | Original Score: A+
Page 1 of 2