Lincoln - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Lincoln Reviews

Page 1 of 448
July 24, 2016
"Lincoln" is Steven Spielberg's 2012 film that revolves around Abraham Lincoln (Daniel Day-Lewis) in the fourth and last year of the civil war in the United States, as the president, his staff, and his supporters fight to pass the 13th amendment through congress. The film also focuses on Lincoln's private life, as he has to deal with wife, Marry Lincoln (Sally Field) and his older son, Robert Lincoln (Joseph Gordon-Levitt) all of this while the war is still happening. The film is beautiful, beautifully shot, beautifully edited, and with great cinematography and all accompanied by a magnificent score composed by the one and only John Williams. "Lincoln" has barely any flaws and it shines with its stellar cast compose by Daniel Day-Lewis, Sally Field, Tommy Lee Jones, Joseph Gordon-Levitt, James Spader, Jackie Earle Haley and others. "Lincoln" is easily one of the (if not the) best films of 2012. 4/5.

*On Denial Day-Lewis as Abraham Lincoln: Lewis gives one the best performances ever seen on screen as he is able to copy Lincoln's every movement and line of speech into near perfection, there are few actors who can actually pull the act of becoming the part they're playing and making you (the viewer) fell that you're not just seeing someone play someone else but actually feel like you're watching the real thing, the real Abe. Could not see anyone else taking that Oscar home besides Lewis, very much deserved.
July 21, 2016
In contemporary cinema, there are two types of movie magic: 1) The fantasy and adventure of escapism. 2) Transporting an audience to the past, and re-creating history. Steven Spielberg has redefined both of these breeds of movie magic in the past thirty years of moviemaking.

Spielberg's LINCOLN shines as a strong example of the latter. It's a pure, breezy, well-paced example of an excellent director telling a story excellently.

Also, how could I not mention the acting, which is almost inarguably the best aspect of the movie. Lee Pace, Tommy Lee Jones, James Spader, Sally Field, (briefly) David Oyelowo, and David Straithairn all give brilliant performances, but it goes without saying that one stands out above the rest: Daniel Day-Lewis. He gives a performance so striking and compelling that it will surely stand the test of time as a towering landmark, much like the figure he portrays with such quiet humility and excellent pacing.

Simply put, this is a masterpiece.
Super Reviewer
½ July 18, 2016
This pathetic melodrama is always more interesting when focusing on the politics involved, but a very schmaltzy "life lesson" whenever Lincoln appears - shown as a wise and mythical storyteller of pure heart (but fine with bribing, of course), never a complex real man.
July 17, 2016
Despite Daniel's Oscar-worthy performance, I still couldn't shake the feeling that I was watching a History Channel documentary.
July 11, 2016
This is one of Steven Spielberg's finest pieces of film. It's the perfect combination of proper portrayal of the Presidential roles, family matters, Confederate and Union Civil War, and the 13th Amendment. The movie is mainly delivered by Daniel Day-Lewis. He was an excellent choice to portray the President himself. Also, the emotions run through you when the film shows you scenes of the war itself. There isn't just one memorable moment. The whole movie is memorable. It has become one of my favorite movies I've ever seen.
July 11, 2016
It is technically impressive and a very immersive film with an extremely talented cast, and Day-Lewis' appearance is almost scary, but it also features lame dialogue at times and seems almost apathetic as a whole. The lack of emotion and a rushed ending leave you with a hollow, empty feeling.
July 6, 2016
Amazingly acted (best actor well deserved), touching, stylish, educational- need I go on? This film is flawless historical entertainment.
June 30, 2016
I like the cast but I found it to be a bit boring
June 21, 2016
This film has all the trappings of what could have been an epic film about an epic man. Rather, this was simply a "snoozefest". This film is heavy on general political discourse and procedure and light on highlighting his history. It focuses only on a specific period in his presidential life, rather than the rise and fall of a historic president.

The film does not hold the viewer with interest, but with obligation. The obligation of watching a well acted depiction of one of the greatest presidents ever. I would dread to watch this a 2nd time.
June 20, 2016
Daniel Day-Lewis is the star in this star-studded biography.
½ June 20, 2016
Did it really have to be so long? We took a break halfway through and it still felt like the story was stretched a little too far. It's a fascinating tale, and told with little concession to populism. Daniel Day-Lewis is doing what he's very good at, and Spielberg is no slouch either. It's hard to watch as the details of passing the thirteenth amendment are pretty contorted. Eleanor likened it to a recent documentary on the hoops Obama went through to get his healthcare bill passed. Add in some low lighting levels and it wasn't an easy watch. Worth two hours-plus of our time, just. The abolition of slavery and the outcome of the American Civil War are a pretty big deal.
½ June 14, 2016
A little too heavy on Oscar flavor.
June 14, 2016
The brilliant actors monologues will give chills down your spine! While perhaps not the best films of Daniel Day Lewis, Sally field, and Tommy Lee Jones, this is film boasts their best performances.
June 3, 2016
I would like to give this movie more stars bc it is so important and based on my fav president. However, while spielberg movies are generally very emotional i found this one to be more intellectual and not as powerful. It is heavy handed with the dialogue and politics versus action or events. Also the title is misleading since u think this film will be a biopic, when it should be more appropriately titled lincolns legacy or the 13th amendment as it only focuses on that. I really did enjoy the historical accuracies/facts i didnt know about like his son dying in white house and how popular he was. Also the performances particularly daniel day lewis, tommy lee jones, and sally fields are stellar. Lewis completely embodies how i picture lincoln to have been and i liked the positive light shown on the pa congressman and mrs lincoln. Movie really shows the tenancity, leadership, and wisdom lincoln had as president.
June 2, 2016
Lincoln is the true American movie for everyone to believe in!
May 22, 2016
One of the signs of a great president is that he does what's best for his country and not what benefits -what well call today- "the cooperation" and who owns it/ them. The result in a cooperate-based America would eventually be assassination.
Movie was allover brilliantly acted and the direction was sure-handed. I just felt that it would have been better if it covered more of other parts of his life because concentrating on just the 13. amendment became tedious to follow at some parts -especially for someone who's not an American like myself-
May 18, 2016
A very interesting movie but a bit boring
½ May 8, 2016
A film that any history buff will enjoy, but may try the patience of the casual observer.
Steve Grady
Super Reviewer
½ May 7, 2016
"Lincoln" is a very well shot drama film of 2012. The plot to "Lincoln" is during 19th century the presents there is the war, racism and "Abraham Lincoln's" final months in politics. "Lincoln" portrayed by "Daniel Day-Lewis" has planned a way to end the war once and for all and to terminate the disgusting act which is slavery. The movie starts off with a war-taking place, which is very thrilling and entertaining to watch. Most of the movie shows "Lincoln" trying to have his plan/ "The Thirteenth Amendment" put into action. These scenes are very dramatic but sometimes can be found boring to the audience. The film's climax was very interesting and entertaining to watch, the scene captures the entire thrill that the movie was leading up to and didn't disappoint. Unlike some of "Steven Spielberg's" recent films "Lincoln" delivers a more dramatic plot which is due to the amazing dialogue spoken, the dialogue is very sophisticated its not a poppycock verbal fight at all. "Daniel Day-Lewis" gives "Abraham Lincoln" his calm manner from history. "Tommy Lee Jones" gives a thrilling and terrific performance as "Thaddeus Stevens". "John Williams" has once again composed an excised soundtrack and has created another perfect soundtrack for "Steven Spielberg's" movies and he composed music that captures the emotion for every scene. As stated before "Lincoln" was filmed exceptionally, "Steven Spielberg" will always film his movies to capture everything in a scene and "Lincoln" is no exception. If you are a person who enjoys some of "Steven Spielberg" recent movies then I highly recommend you watch "Lincoln" as it has superb acting from "Daniel Day-Lewis" and "Tommy Lee Jones", stunning camera shots and a great script. Although the movie has some issues these a few boring scenes throughout the movie. I give 2012's "Lincoln" a 9/10.
½ May 2, 2016
Strong performances from a large ensemble cast help elevate this otherwise by-the-numbers courtroom drama of its time.
Page 1 of 448