Lion - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Lion Reviews

Page 1 of 52
March 23, 2017
House of cards
Spotlight
March 22, 2017
Välgjord och lågmäld, men ändå känslomässigt mycket stark film om pojken Saruu som kommer vilse på ett tåg som korsar Indien och inte finner sin väg hem utan istället hamnar i... Australien. Som ung vuxen kommer minnen av barndomen tillbaka, och med dem en obetvinglig önskan att återse sin ursprungliga familj. Välspelad, inte minst av den unge Saruu, känsligt gjord och duckar inte för att visa utsattheten i de väldiga klyftornas Indien, men utan att vara eländespornografi. Och slutet är en riktig snyftare, utan att kännas manipulativ eller tillrättalagd.
March 22, 2017
Straight forward story of loss and the search for connection, but told in an epic way. A beautiful and poignant film that is deserving of it's Oscar nomination. Plus this true story delivers an emotional ending that is a moving, rewarding payoff.
March 22, 2017
Saw this movie last weekend with my significant other. We both truly enjoyed this movie, it's one of the best movies we've seen!
March 21, 2017
??????????????????????????????b.o t
Up
½ March 21, 2017
A little Indian boy (Sunny Pawar) gets separated from his family and ends up far away from home, living on the streets and in orphanage, until he's adopted by a nice couple who take him to Australia.

Also starring: Dev Patel as boy as an adult, Nicole Kidman and David Wenham as his new parents, Rooney Mara, Diwian Ladwa.

Based on a true story which was turned into book, written by the boy himself, and now a movie.

I liked "Lion" a lot, for the most part it's gripping and packs a strong emotional punch. But the two-hour story as a whole is uneven, losing steam during its last quarter and - even worse - starting manipulating with the audience in unconvincing way.

This big shift doesn't kill the movie but the whole experience would win if adult Saroo's journey was compressed into shorter period of time. As it is, the last quarter is not quite compatible with the previous hour and a half and ends up killing the mood that has been masterfully built up and maintained almost from the start.

The adult cast offers impressive performances during that last quarter which is totally worth the awards recognition it has garnered. I am especially glad to see Nicole Kidman and Rooney Mara getting strong, well-written female characters and thus turning in more interesting work as usual for them.

But the movie makers could have easily shortened the adult Saroo's detective work part which really bogs the story down and seems to be more of an excuse to show Patel hanging around aimlessly.

He'd still have enough screen time for all those stronger acting scenes with the girlfriend and family, or just showing off his fab new looks. Watch out, girls and manlovers, he's turned into quite a heartbreaker indeed, wild hair and strong body, and all...

"The mood that has been masterfully built up and maintained almost from the start", as mentioned above, is the main reason why "Lion" turns out to be such a moving journey.

The director uses as little dialogue and talking as possible, concentrating on just showing this lost little boy wandering around - sometimes enhancing the events with not too intrusive music.

The environment becomes a character of its own - alien, dirty, sometimes hostile. Watching this little guy just trying to get by, without trying to make him act", or remind us to feel something, gives the story a lot of poetic power and unexpected dimension of depth.

Sadly they are unable to repeat or resuscitate this feeling later on, although Patel gives an strong performance of his own, as stated above.

Interestingly, 2008's "Slumdog Millionaire" - Dev Patel's breakthrough hit which also shows the shadow side of India and its childrens' lives - is also a movie of two halves, the first of which excites a lot and the second kind of kills the buzz.

So, it's a great movie for the first three quarters and just okay after that.

"Lion" is one of the frontrunners during this award season, with 60 nominations and 32 wins already under the belt. It's nominated for 6 Oscars: movie, adapted screenplay, supporting actor (Patel) and actress (Kidman), cinematography and music. Was also nominated for four Golden Globes but did not win any.
March 21, 2017
No words to describe. Sensational with a sea of emotions. The way it progresses, its enough to get you in pieces. How beautifully it generates the emotion,is a spell casting. In love with it!
March 20, 2017
Best movie of the year!!!
½ March 20, 2017
Should have won Oscar for Best Picture
But I guess it's not political correct to put a film about a native Indian above a gay African-American
Sorry to state the truth! I am a liberal but I also believe in judging objectively and recognizing outstanding achievement.
March 20, 2017
Interesting story and good acting. The young child actor is very likable and him and Patel get your emotions going. For me it was the best picture of 2016.
March 20, 2017
I liked it. A nice little story, the sort of thing you could show your grandmother (although not sure she would appreciate the 20 minutes or so in Hindi). Very good story, but I felt it lost some momentum once he moved to Australia.
March 19, 2017
Very touching film. You will cry. A true story that I'm still in awe that it happened.
½ March 19, 2017
Wonderful. Inspiring movie with a great cast . I wish it would have picked up some Academy Awards.
March 19, 2017
The little boy who plays Saroo was extraordinary but once into adulthood the story derails. Not sure what the Oscar hype is about, it's a workaday story.
½ March 19, 2017
Number 2 voted by me as Best Picture . Strong performance, strong set, and strong story.
March 19, 2017
A truly heartfelt uplifting story. Yes it may be ridden with cliches, but when adapting from a true story, the cliches may be all the necessary. Fantastic performance from Dev Patel, but was upstaged by his younger self Sunny Pawar.
March 19, 2017
Amazing. Uplifting, soulful and hopeful. Wonderful music and cinemetography.
March 18, 2017
Movie is so good and predictable at the same time that instead of just knowing the "touching" part is coming, you instead start crying before it drops....the fact that this was real life just adds a whole layer of depth to the story it's hard to explain. Love for your mother, love for your brother....
March 18, 2017
A great movie!! Written so beautifully, based on a true story of success and determination. From the an admirable child who wishes to find his roots as he gets older. An adventure which taken you along this magical ride and find yourself truly attached to the screen.
March 18, 2017
I loved it. Dev Patel really shines and Nicole Kidman as his adoptive mother was superb. The story lion is as solid as they come because it is rooted in the truth. You can't make this stuff up! Heart wrenching, seeing a young boy lost in the slums of India and surviving, only to thrive, and then make his way back home. A must see.
Page 1 of 52