Little Children - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Little Children Reviews

Page 1 of 393
Super Reviewer
October 16, 2016
Maybe my lack of understanding is what provides a low rating compared to its apparent popularity, but there is simply nothing to like about this pointless and uneventful movie about being disenchanted and disconnected with the world and people around you.
August 22, 2016
Amazing storytelling. Amazing filmmaking. Amazing lead performances.
August 12, 2016
"Little Children" lands a resonant punch on suburban life with equal conviction and sensitivity - and gets a hefty dose of powerful acting from its superb cast.
½ August 7, 2016
It's sexy and thoughtful. The chemistry between all the characters is dynamite and the writing is lovely.
½ July 15, 2016
Little Children is an urban chronicle that makes you think how humans are full of flaws. Todd Field make a little masterpiece when he deconstructs the perfect life of suburbia revealing his dirty secrets. (4,5/5)
½ July 4, 2016
A surprising watch on the plane - the storyline is quite original, but I felt like the ending left me kind of empty. Everything turned out the way it was supposed to, but the story diverges from these two characters and instead focuses on living your life with your own version of a 'life with meaning.' An interesting take on uprooting regular suburban lives. The storyline with the pedophile added an extra depth to this story, and sometimes you'll feel sorry for him. Everyone in this movie is trying to live their own life, and you'll feel almost dirty for getting caught up in it.
June 27, 2016
I think a major theme of Little Children is that present unhappiness shouldn't affect future happiness.  And just because people are unhappy now doesn't mean they can't be happy later.  Is that redundant?  Repetitive?  The thing I found most  interesting was the narration by Will Lyman (he does a lot of narration).  It made it feel like you were reading a book but it was so sporadic.  You never knew quite when it would pop up again and there were times when I found myself wondering "where's that narrator?"  Patrick Wilson is very nice to look at for over two hours especially when he gets all naked.  The final scene of this film is burned into my memory.  But in the end I would recommend this movie.
April 7, 2016
An amazing character study. Near perfect writing and a stellar cast highlight this look into a flawed suburbia. It's worn out formula feels fresh, thanks to its intense blend of insightful narration and subtle direction.
½ March 31, 2016
Total drivel : some idiot doing a voice over, describing every character's thoughts all the way through? I don't think so. Avoid.
February 18, 2016
Nice and rich character study with many wonderful performances. Maybe it's not flawless but though-provoking about the values in your life.
February 14, 2016
This was good until the nonsensical last scene
February 12, 2016
Brilliant brilliant film I cannot fault.
Super Reviewer
½ February 9, 2016
Little Children is a fascinating and disturbing glimpse into suburban life, without a group of intriguing and diverse characters. The performances here are just outstanding. Kate Winslet and Jackie Earl Haley truly stand out, giving raw and unflinching performances that both terrify and amaze me. Patrick Wilson is also fantastic, giving us a real look into the life of this empty man. Noah Emmerich is very underrated as well, as he steals the show in some scenes. Everyone in the film was at the top of their game. This detailed vision came together extremely well, and it really left me thinking for days after I had saw it.
December 15, 2015
An Oscar worthy performance for sure.
November 30, 2015
Nearly ten years after seeing this film I hate it as much as ever. This has to be one of the most overrated films of all time. There is a complete lack of a protagonist with any moral center. Hubby lied about watching porn? Cheat on him with that hunky neighbor dude, your a FEMINIST, so you can do what you want. Forget about that oath you made your husband, that voluntary promise you made to him. Don't even make an effort to fix your marriage, or don't even get a divorce. Just become a cheater! It's easy! Because all men are either gross pervs that watch porn or are super HUNKY, flawless fathers. Never in a movie has the main character been so deluded with herself and gets away with it at the end of the movie. This is just porn for women made by men, that's all there is to it.
November 25, 2015
Little Children is one of those films that I'm very excited to see it, but would not get a chance to watch it because either DirecTV doesn't have it, or Netflix. I managed to get to watch it because I found it in the city library, and after watching it, Little Children didn't disappoint me. I didn't really know much about what it's about when I saw the trailer, but now that I watch it, it's a bit of a small plot, but really kept me interested not only on what's going on, but on the characters too. The characters are very three-dimensional that you really see from their point of view about why are they doing this, even if it makes me mad at some of them for doing what they are doing. The film did a pretty good job at portraying dark side of what the life is these days in this world, and the writing by Todd Field and Tom Ferrotta is really good. Patrick Wilson is good in this, Kate Winslet is great which I can see why she was nominated for an Oscar, and the most surprising of them all, was Jackie Earle Haley who got nominated for an Oscar too. When I saw that, I was very curious to know why as I only saw him in Watchmen and that pointless remake of A Nightmare on Elm Street, and he portrays it in a way that is different to other nominees or winners, and that is that he portray it in a very real way that felt the most human to me which I never thought that I feel sorry for a pedophile. I thought that Little Children is a fantastic movie that really shows that everyone is not perfect, and they have a little bit of a dark side.
September 18, 2015
Fine drama with fine performances with Haley giving his best performance.....good watch.
September 18, 2015
"Little Children" has a convincing portrayal in a story that glances into the dark side of suburbia which is treated sensitively and ventures deeply while showcasing impressive performances from Kate Winslet, Patrick Wilson, and Jennifer Connelly.
September 1, 2015
This one might actually be a good one. Besides, Kate Winslet is a really good actress!!
Page 1 of 393