Penitentiary 2 - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Penitentiary 2 Reviews

Page 1 of 1
½ August 27, 2013
Meh, this is a silly but entertaining sequel to the blacksploitation oriented original .
May 20, 2013
"Too Sweet" has done his time and is back in the ring but unable to break ties of his prison stay. Like boxing today, this needless sequel lacks adequate punch. Mr. T and former champ Archie Moore provide a small boost.
½ April 25, 2012
More blaxploitation bullshit not even MR. T can help this crap.
May 23, 2011
A big let-down after the first Penitentiary.
November 9, 2010
This is another one of my favorite classic prison drama movie, just like the sequel. "Penitentiary 2" (1982).
½ March 12, 2010
More blaxploitation bullshit not even MR. T can help this crap.
½ April 10, 2009
Goofy and lame blaxpoitationer....... never saw the first so can't compare but nothing special. C-
March 26, 2009
It wasn't as funny as part 1 but it was cool!
February 17, 2009
"Too Sweet! The man who killed Monday and sent Tuesday and Wednesday to the hospital!" While the most esteemed thespians in the cast of "Penitentiary 2" are Rudy Ray Moore (as "Man on balcony") and Tony Cox (as horny dwarf prison inmate "T.C."), it packs a mean left hook of blaxploitation followed by a devastating uppercut of 80s kitsch. There are so many remarkable scenes in Jamaa Fanaka's sequel that a comprehensive review would threaten to turn into a checklist.

We have a text crawl at the beginning echoing "Star Wars", hip hop roller boogie, Mr. T, Ernie Hudson, as nemesis "Half Dead", with a permanent constipated scowl, leg warmers, sweat bands, unitards -- and this is all in the first 10 minutes or so. The story is about as simplistic as "Rocky 3", and Mr. T confirms his lack of acting range but makes up for it with his usual growling one liners and genuine boxing moves. Also, he is inexplicably holding an Arabian lamp that gushes out purple smoke throughout the last half of this movie. Tony Cox must have been an extra, but Fanaka liked him so much he gets his own subplot about earning enough money in a craps game to hire a singing prostitute. And the hookers' "National Anthem" rendition is surprisingly great.

Sure, Leon Isaac Kennedy as Too Sweet can't act worth a damn, but compared to Mr. T he's Laurence Freaking Olivier. Somehow Hudson ended up in the cast of "Ghostbusters" two years after this weirdness. Get a load of Half Dead's rainbow afro wig and wraparound shades during a "tense" locker room confrontation that's plenty homoerotic. That's to be expected in any movie made in the 1980s that revolves around intimate male conflict. Fanaka's "Emma Mae" and "Welcome Home, Brother Charles" are more traditional 70s blaxploitation pics with the same fearlessly weird personality transforming archetypical material. Don't blow off his commentary, sucka!
May 20, 2008
The dawn of the Crack Era!!! Everyone in this and everyone that had part in production was on crack. I'm sure of it. Inturn the greatest nonsensical movie ever. I only bought it because Mr. T was on the cover and I discovered awesomeness.
April 10, 2008
I'll eat an Irish grape farmer's Scottish terrier before I watch this eggnog-o-rama.
½ December 8, 2007
not as good as the first one, but still a pretty good film.
June 9, 2007
Jokes, though MR. T is in it, so gotta give it a go
March 24, 2007
too sweet what june i didnt see this one either seen them all go SWEET
February 18, 2007
i will never be convicted!
July 30, 2006
probably the stupidist (and most offensive) boxing movie ever made but w/ things like Mr T, crazy bathroom rape, a poony loving crap shooting midget and well placed glop of potato salad Penitentiary II is fun fun trash which is a must for psychotronic film lovers
Page 1 of 1