Saw II - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Saw II Reviews

Page 1 of 28245
½ August 13, 2017
As stated in my review of "Saw," there was promise even if the storyline was idiotic. It was not as gory as people like to say it was and it has some creepy atmospheres that led to some decent scares. "Saw II," the beginning of a long road of disappoint for the franchise, removes the creepy atmosphere and adds gallons of blood and gore as well as multiple torture scenes.

The film starts with an unfortunate man trapped in one of Jigsaw's (Tobin Bell) torture machines, which is described as a copy of a venus fly rap. The key to release the man from the terror was surgically placed behind his right eye. After the tragic killing of the man, Detective Eric Mason (Donnie Wahlberg) arrives on scene who is determined to find the Jigsaw killer. Upon looking through evidence, he and his team find Jigsaw in an abandoned warehouse with computer screens showing 7 people trapped in a house, one of them being Daniel (Eric Knudsen), Detective Mason's son. From there, the viewer watches the gross scenes take place in Jigsaw's house of horror as people are burned alive, stabbed with needles, and facing imminent death in an toxic atmosphere.

The film is tough to watch and I am not even talking about the torture scenes. "Saw II" is poorly paced and dropped everything that made the original "Saw" interesting to watch. "Saw II" is less of a mystery and more gruesome than the original film. There is some mysteries that were solved from the original due to two to three minutes of character development on Jigsaw. Those 120-180 seconds were the only good parts of the 92 minute run time. Everything else is ridiculous nonsense that had no point.

But I guess being so critical on the torture and gore for a film like this does not make sense for a critic. You know before you watch "Saw II" that you are there to be grossed out and willing to watch characters (who you cannot relate to by any means) face horrendous options. In fact, some might find the characters picking and choosing at which torture devices to try kind of amusing. Majority of the viewers might look at this film and ask, "Why was this so popular?"

"Saw" was an average horror film that showed a now masterful horror director trying on the director pants for the first time. For "Saw II," we have a brand new director who votes for gore over tension. Obviously, I do not approve.

Grade: F
July 23, 2017
Well, I think the first one was better than this one
½ July 20, 2017
This film is so cool! I'm really surprised that flixster users didn't appreciate cause I found it really interesting and intense and the ending really pleased me! Can't to watch all the others!
July 15, 2017
i loved saw 1 and i want to see saw 2.
½ June 21, 2017
Disappointing sequel to the surprisingly quality first film. "Saw" had good plotting and a solid mystery, along with a lot of memorably grizzly horror. This sequel instead focuses primarily on the grizzly horror (the pit of dirty drug needles is by far the film's most memorable moment and unsettling) and really doesn't have much of a story outside of how-are-these-people-going-escape-Jigsaw's-deadly-traps? The film does offer one unexpected twist at the end, which led to several more sequels, but for the most part, this film set the formula for the many sequels, which was simply a new set of victims and anew set of overly elaborate traps. That was enough to hold my interest, but it's not really enough to call this a good horror film. Donnie Wahlberg, Beverley Mitchell, Shawnee Smith, Tobin Bell, Glenn Plummer, and Dina Meyer provide the solid cast.
May 17, 2017
I Like The Grisly Deaths In The Saw Movies.
May 7, 2017
While not as great a character story as the first, greater insight of Jigsaw, more cringe inducing, and still a great plot.
½ May 3, 2017
My favourite saw movie
April 19, 2017
Maybe a little worse than the first one, but the crew made great use of the location that the victims of Jigsaw are trapped in. The acting is just a middling as the first, but the villain is shown with a lot more dialogue and he nails it pretty well. Overall, less interesting than the first, but it still does a good job of being a solid 'gruesome horror' flick without falling into torture porn category
½ April 16, 2017
4/15/2017 (2): A decent horror flick. The needle scene sure made my skin crawl.
½ March 27, 2017
Not as good as the first movie. Was a let down and isn't really worth watching. The characters aren't memorable or likeable either.
March 20, 2017
A good twist at the end, but other than that this film didn't do much for it's predecessor, or for the character 'Jigsaw' for that matter, totally turning his 'philosophy' backwards and contradicting himself nearly all the way through. Ultimately he is a psycho who enjoys killing, not the 'life-appreciation-teacher' he makes himself out to be. His choice in victims and his reasoning more than support this argument. There are only a few recent 'horror/thrillers' that deserve attention, and 'Saw' was one of them. Unfortunately though it's fallen victim to the Hollywood system and spawned three 'for-the-sake-of-making-them' sequels, thinking that gore and predictable set-pieces make up for lacklustre storytelling.
March 12, 2017
Its ending lives up to the standards set by the original, but Saw II seemingly tries too hard to one-up its predecessor with more characters and traps; however, the story becomes more convoluted and its traps are so-so.
February 26, 2017
seen Saw3 which was real gory, heard 1 & 2 sooo much better
February 19, 2017
Just as good as the first one to me. Again, the genius of Jigsaw it was intrigued me about this movie.
½ February 8, 2017
??????...????????????????!
January 18, 2017
A solid follow-up to the first.
January 4, 2017
Why did they decided to make a sequel?
½ December 17, 2016
Good sequel, with new modes of history, talents, traps, and much more .....
December 11, 2016
Great film. Just like the first one it has plenty of flaws but it is a great film. Lots of twists and turns not just pointless flaws
Page 1 of 28245