Sorority Row - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Sorority Row Reviews

Page 1 of 235
½ July 22, 2016
One of the better remakes. The kills are inventive and so is the choice of weapon. Evigan as good girl Cassidy and Pipes as the bitch make it all the better.
½ July 22, 2016
i hated hated hated this movie
June 6, 2016
A dark comedy slasher remake of the 1983 film 'House on Sorority Row'. Off the bat, rubs people the wrong way being a dark comedy, slasher and a remake. While destined to be a failure, if you go in without any expectations or bias it'll surprise you. Leah Pipes steals the scene as the HBIC Jessica. Yes, she is horrible. Yes, the stuff that comes out of her mouth will rub people the wrong way. This movie isn't trying to be anything more than it is, a fun slasher flick with a hot cast and high body count.
Super Reviewer
½ October 31, 2015
The daughters of Bruce Willis and Greg Evigan team up in Sorority Row, a remake of the 1983 Horror classic, The House on Sorority Row. The remake is of course modernized and takes the classic independent horror film to the next level, with terrific effects, increased levels of fright and gore, and of course a ton of beautiful people. Where is this college and how soon can I apply?! Every guy and girl featured in the film, with the exception of Carrie Fisher, could be models, despite being well passed the age of most college students. The story starts out much like the original film does, with a Sorority prank that goes horribly wrong. The girls decide to cover up the incident and put it behind them, but at a large cost to their sisterhood. A year later, at the same party, someone knows what happened last year, and have decided to make the whole Sorority pay for their crimes. This film is a classic 'who done it' mashed together with a slasher film, and the results are pure excitement. The truth is that most of these film don't have much in the way of a story line and the killer is obvious to everyone, but not this time. This film is very reminiscent of Scream, and it really had me on the edge of my seat. A good Horror film is hard enough to find, but one with all that suspense and a compelling story to follow, that's worth it's weight in gold! Sorority Row is a perfect choice for those who want to spend Halloween, in front of the TV watching a scary movie!
October 23, 2015
Only good part of this film is Carrie Fisher with a shotgun!
October 22, 2015
I hate when I figure out the ending to a movie and who the killer is that easy... still a decent slasher with a bad motive.
October 19, 2015
Total rip off of Jawbreaker and I Know What You Did Last Summer, but not completely terrible.
October 2, 2015
It was fairly solidly bad and useless. The whole plot was just a mess. A bunch of hot girls in a mess of a revenge slasher, a completely crapier version of I Know What You Did Last Summer. Even when they made the sequel to that film, it was useless. It couldn't top the original. Anyway, it's an okay movie and hot girls will keep girls and guys both peeled to make it through the entire film.
½ August 27, 2015
Despicable characters and convoluted plot developments populate this bland slasher.
½ August 24, 2015
decent horror flick. The murders were done well but everything else was kind of lame.
August 22, 2015
I wanted to turn this movie off about 30 seconds in and it just got worse and worse from there. Incredibly predictable and formulaic. You can figure out the killer the second he is introduced. The ending gets convoluted, and no one's motivations are clear. Plus, everyone is a bitch. There are just degrees to how bitchy they are. There's mega bitch, stupid bitch, naive bitch, skanky bitch, judgmental bitch, and so on and so forth. Why am I supposed to care when any of them get killed? There is very little suspense until near the end and most of the kills happen quickly with little inspiration behind them.

This would have been so much better if (like the original movie) it was sort of comedic. The unique thing about the original was that it was sort of a goofy, dark comedy (like Don't Tell Mom the Babysitter's Dead) and became a really atmospheric slasher towards the end. This remake has nothing going for it. Nothing to make it stand out from many of the post-Scream era slashers. It's not even really a remake, so there's no point watching it for that. Basically, like most slashers and remakes, it's a pointless waste of time. And not a good one at that.
August 15, 2015
Wow - Teen slashers are back with a bang in this one! If you liked 'I Know What You Did Last Summer' you'll like this. Very similar storyline with a psycho killer seemingly intent on getting their revenge on a bunch of lovelies that got up to no good the previous year, but in this instance it's all set within the confides of an all girl school, clearly promoting the whole girl power thing. With plenty of scares, and plenty of gore, the action more than compensates for an albeit slightly traditional horror film ending. This has to be one of the best slasher films thats been released in a while, which is made all the more comical given the bitchiness between the female dominated cast. This movie is very recommendable and equally as good after a second viewing..............and a third viewing, but I'm STILL eagerly awaiting the potential sequel that the ending has suggested (and warranted)! I'm also left wondering how on earth Carrie Fisher managed to become more like Rikki Lake than the Chelsea bun stunner we all knew her as from the Star Wars films - certainly not up to the standard of the other fresher beauties (before they are all carved up via a pimped up tyre iron that is).
½ August 9, 2015
For being a fairly paint by numbers re-make of typical '80s slashers, I have to admit to enjoying this more than I expected to. I suppose I'm just an easy mark for Briana Evigan.

Granted, it's not re-inventing the wheel or anything, but as far as a fun timewaster, you could do worse.

Rental?
August 7, 2015
Not bad, had a good ending.
August 6, 2015
Sorority Row was just a major knockoff of the Scream and I know what you did last summer franchises. Everything from the caped, masked killer, to the group of girls throwing away a dead body after they accidentally killed someone. It was all predictable and not thrilling but it did have some exciting moments. The kills were all very gory and unique and the killers weapon of choice, a tire iron, made for something different then just a knife. What were supposed to be funny lines all fell flat and the horror moments, were pretty nonexistent. When you find out who the masked man is, it doesn't make any sense and the ending seemed rushed and underwhelming. This is pretty much an all girls version of Scream only without the comedy and nothing to set itself apart from the other teen, slasher flicks.
½ August 6, 2015
The story was good, but it pretty basic and was very similar to the Scream movies. Good acting, but crappy originality. However, I was still interested from the beginning and couldn't stop watching.
½ August 5, 2015
Not much driving this slasher besides a few pretty faces. The character's act in such an absurd manner that you find yourself actually on the side of the killer.
August 5, 2015
Sorority Row is creative and alluringly casted, but it isn't enough to save it from its formulaic plot and less-than-perfect thrills.
Super Reviewer
½ August 4, 2015
You know, some people are simply against the term torture porn. Part of me can really understand that, but there's also a huge part of me that couldn't disagree with that more. The fact of the matter is that some people watch horror movies simply to watch unlikable characters die horrific deaths. Why do you think Saw was so successful, for the most part, in spite of its declining quality with each successive installment? It's because people got off, perhaps not in the traditional sense, on seeing detestable people die in a gruesome fashion. So, really, as much as some people hate the term, in some cases it really does fit. And this is one of those cases. And people can use whatever term they want to describe a film, I'm not an elitist to say how a person can or can't express themselves in regards to a film. And, to be honest, in spite of the negative reviews, I think that this is one of the few horror remakes, and I honestly haven't seen the original, but I think this capture the spirit of 80s slashers. And 80s horror movie in general, there's a B-movie quality to the proceedings that makes watching, actually, quite a bit of fun even if the film isn't what I would call a traditionally good horror film. I think the film tries to make its point about sisterhood in a pretty fucked up way. Like the film spends almost its entire narrative pitting Cassidy and Jessica against each other. Jessica being the manipulator in trying to cover up Megan's murder to protect her own ass while doing so under the guise of sisterhood and protecting the other sisters. It's clear she's doing it out of selfish reasons and not because she actually cares about any of them. So as the film is ending, somehow, I think there's a certain amount of respect between Cass and Jess, despite the fact that Jess was the one that got them into that situation in the first place. Of course, not that it's justified that there's this random guy killing the sisters for what they've done, but they did make their own bed, so to speak, by refusing to do things responsibly. So the film trying to make Cass and Jess sort of 'respect' each other at the end doesn't feel earned, in the least. Particularly because Jessica, literally, spends the entire film being a bitch to everyone. You just want her to die right from the get go. And good on Leah Pipes for doing a good enough job at portraying this character, because Jessica immensely unlikable. Jessica's "redemption", if you can even call it that, is not earned. It just feels like lazy writing honestly. Some of the the deaths are actually pretty funny and entertaining. The laundry chute death was my favorite. So, essentially, Mickey, Claire's boyfriend, is trying to flee from the killer. So he finds a laundry chute nearby and he tries to escape through it. Mickey is then killed with the Swiss army tire iron and he's stuck in the chute, with his feet sticking out. This guy looked so stupid that it was obvious that this death was done for the LOLZ. And when Cass and Jess take Mickey's phone and he falls down the chute was even better. Lots of LOLZ to be had with Mickey and his death. The acting is fine, I think Carrie Fisher is great here and should've had a larger role to play. But, honestly, this might not be the best horror movie ever made, but I did have some fun watching it. Perhaps it was charming in its badness, but I didn't mind watching this at all. Wouldn't exactly give it a glowing recommendation, but it's fun for a laugh with pals.
½ July 27, 2015
If you are walking into this one looking for a masterpiece, i would recommend you keep walking. But if you walk into this looking for a bloody good time, then stop and have a seat. It's a slasher movie that finally does it right for a change. It takes place at a sorority house (obviously) where there are the main 5 girls, The bitchy leader of the group, the sex addict slut faced hose bag, the shy innocent one, the girl who knows the right thing to do, and the off white/asian girl (there is one in ever movie). Now, when a prank on one of the boys goes horribly wrong, the bitch tells the others that they need to cover it up to not ruin any of their lives because that's what sisterhood is all about. Months later they all receive a text message that someone is after them and knows what they did, they all start dying one by one. This type of movie has been done many, many, many times before but for some reason this one worked for me and I really liked it.
Page 1 of 235