Southland Tales Reviews

Page 1 of 2
December 7, 2007
Frustrating and finally rather pointless.
December 7, 2007
The film has a dated feel - it has more in common with 1960s-style wacky satire than the cutting edge of 21st-century cinema.
December 7, 2007
There's too much sizzle and not enough steak.
December 7, 2007
By the climax, his truly ambitious, truly flawed film finally disappears into the 'time-space rift' (or whatever) to achieve some sort of cosmic transcendence.
November 19, 2007
One of the most confusing, ridiculous, pretentious and disastrous cinematic train wrecks I've ever seen.
November 16, 2007
By the time the movie rolls into its third hour, it's exhausted most of its comic energy, leaving you disoriented and unable to remember much of what you just saw.
November 16, 2007
Immature, crude, poorly made and a waste of time.
November 16, 2007
No amount of reworking could salvage what was a misbegotten and unfunny idea to begin with.
November 16, 2007
You can't be both political and incoherent.
November 16, 2007
Even if the world Kelly's concocted always seems screamingly incoherent, you have to hand it to him. He's made a movie of our messy times that's too ambitious to settle for merely capturing the mess. It actually is the mess.
November 16, 2007
Consequently, I can recommend it to 'enhanced interrogation' practitioners who are tired of waterboarding.
November 16, 2007
The movie's failure to come together -- indeed to make sense for most of its 144 minutes, each one passing with the speed of molasses -- is a major disappointment.
November 16, 2007
A Schwarzeneggerian actor, related to a political dynasty, has been kidnapped, replaced with a double, and -- I give up. A plot synopsis would require that the movie have a plot.
November 15, 2007
Writer/director Richard Kelly misses the mark with this bubbling stew of images and ideas that never quite congeals into a viable film.
November 15, 2007
There's more. Much more, all of it absurd and confusing. That isn't necessarily meant as a complaint.
November 15, 2007
Dizzyingly incoherent and subversively surreal, this sophomore effort from the man who made the great, strange Donnie Darko is certain to have its fans. I'm not going to be one of them.
November 15, 2007
Southland may be ambitious in its genre-defying abandon, sideswiping science fiction, satire, film noir and melodrama along the way, but it's also exasperatingly convoluted, self-amused and politically sophomoric.
November 15, 2007
We're plunked down in the middle of an apocalyptic mess. This time the mess is not so much addressed as embodied by the film itself -- but damned if it doesn't roll around in your head a while.
November 15, 2007
Compared to the seemingly unsalvageable disaster Kelly screened at Cannes, this overcooked folly is a miraculous, Frankensteinian resurrection. Maybe this is grading on a curve, but I'd always rather have an excess of ambition than the opposite.
November 15, 2007
Kelly seems to think that to merely mention Fallujah or global warming -- or to name a bank after Karl Rove -- is the same as actually having an opinion about them.
Page 1 of 2