Space Jam - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Space Jam Reviews

Page 1 of 874
July 26, 2016
Space Jam is ok in my opinion. I think this movie had great potential because this is such a good premise, but as a HUGE classic Looney Tunes fan, I found it pretty underwhelming. Despite good animation and a fast-paced climax, it was badly written and acted, and the Looney Tunes were poorly represented.
July 23, 2016
Favorite kid movie of all time
July 14, 2016
Space Jam is a cultural landmark and a pretty pathetic one, but the one superlative I can offer is that it's actually a pretty cool visual experiment. Blending animation and live action is a creative and unique stylistic choice. It was super cool how the worlds were combined, how the Looney Toon crew could walk around Jordan's house and interact with his kids and Jordan could play basketball, stretch his arms out to dunk and hang with the cartoon characters in their universe. The story is a waste of time, though. It's stupid, silly and tedious. Jordan has to come out of retirement to beat the monsters that stole his friends' basketball skills. The concept is thin, the story is boring and annoying and unfortunately Michael Jordan is a pretty bad actor. It has a few clever lines and some Looney Toons charm, but that doesn't compensate for its many flaws. The one thing it really has going for it is the cool animation.
½ July 5, 2016
The Looney Tunes and Bill Murray were slightly funny.
June 11, 2016
let me get this straight... the people here are trying to critiqued space jam... it's freaking space jam. it's a kid's movie, and a lot better than most of the garbage that comes out nowadays...

And the guy who doesn't understand why it's called space jam. lmao

it's called space jam because the loony toons, mj and bill murray are going against "alien creatures" in a basketball game... hence space jam. how dumb are you?

Aside from all the specials in the review, it's a great classic, better than 99 percent of the kid movies out there. and if you grew up when space jam came out, like i did. you'll love it all the more.
½ June 4, 2016
a fun kids that will keep your kids glued to the TV screen. the film is pretty outdated and has a very cringe worthy plot. all the NBA player cameos were pretty unnecessary. But if your kid your will like this film. I give space jam a C+
May 31, 2016
More entertaining for the younger audiences than older, Space Jam tries to mimic the 1988 classic Who Framed Roger Rabbit by blending live action with animation but falls minutely short despite some laughs it may generate and a fun cameo from Bill Murray.
½ May 26, 2016
Mediocre film but still harmless fun and leaves a memorable sting
½ May 22, 2016
While it uses a combination of "Looney Tunes" and Michael Jordan, it makes an awesome live-action/animation movie. Although, "Who Framed Roger Rabbit" was much better.
May 13, 2016
A sold-out insult to the original Looney Tunes cartoon
May 5, 2016
Mixed cartoon and live action isn't my cup of tea but this one is pretty enjoyable.
May 2, 2016
A silly, forgettable and stupid comedy. One of the worst films ever made.
May 1, 2016
What makes this work so well is Michael's rare willingness to become the butt of jokes. This movie remains a brilliant, culturally-significant landmark of the '90s.
April 2, 2016
Stupid, yet fun, at parts.
March 26, 2016
What is there not to love about Michael Jordan and the Looney Tunes in this light-hearted comedy that just makes you want to believe in miracles
March 26, 2016
Doesn't hold up like I remember it from my childhood.
March 26, 2016
Call me crazy, but when you have arguably the greatest athlete and basketball player of all-time with men like Patrick Ewing, Charles Barkley, Muggsy Bogues, Shawn Bradley and Larry Johnson, you know it's bound to be the greatest film of all-time! Their performances were so charismatic and light hearted, they deserve Oscars at the maximum and Screen Actors Guild awards at minimum. Keep them away from the Razzie award! That already said, the soundtrack has a lot to offer, with a lot of inspirational and angelic tracks from Coolio, R.Kelly, Seal, All 4 One, and Monica that all have a small to big hints of gospel music in it that perfectly fits the tone of the film. And for the time of 1996 and today, the animation holds up perfectly. Bugs Bunny and the Looney Tunes look very crisp and very well done. The production and directing could not get any better with Joe Pytka and Ivan Reitman working at the helm together. James Newton Howard provides a true-to-the-Looney Tunes score that you could not confuse with anything else. The costumes for the film were one of the best elements about the film considerng all the Air Jordans in the film and the Tune Squad uniforms provide for MJ, Bill Murray and Wayne Knight. The script was very cohesiveand had a "feel good" vibe to it. James Newton Howard creates a musical score that keeps the essence of the Looney Tunes alive. It really stands out on its own in a positive light to where it can not be confused with anything else and stand on its own in a very good way. This film holds nothing back and fires on all cylinders with extreme prejudice towards lack of quality
½ March 25, 2016
it's kind of sad people bash on this movie now 8/10
March 24, 2016
Comercialmente cursi, sin embargo ofrece un par de momentos genuinamente divertidos. Prácticamente un recuerdo nostálgico que siempre es agradable volver a darle un vistazo.
Page 1 of 874