Spring Breakers - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Spring Breakers Reviews

Page 1 of 190
June 3, 2016
With Spring Breakers Harmony Korine pulls off something truly incredible, he manages to create an action-packed film filled with violence, popular music, T&A and bikini-dressed sexy girls really boring. Spring breakers detracts its entertainment with redundant, empty-headed dialogue, hammy Franco performance, thrilles action sequences, and headache-inducing editing. Several scenes cut up and disassemble shots in a montage like fashion (scenes of characters having conversations cut to random moments while the conversation continues). There's nothing compelling here.
June 2, 2016
Spring Breakers feels like it tries to do something far greater than it really end up accomplishing. The slow motion scenes are all great, and the little character development it had I really liked the direction it was going. But in the end, Spring Breakers is nothing more than a soft core porn with a great performance by James Franco thrown in. Seriously, this guy carried the movie for me, without him I would've been bored to tears. There is some great shots that are breathtaking at times, but it is only a distraction from the absolute nothing that happens through most of the film. The ending was far better than expected though, so there's that
½ June 20, 2016
Do not waste your time. Horrible movie.
June 17, 2016
i feel like im watching the life and times of rift raft surrounded by hot women... and thats a good thing!
½ June 15, 2016
I was trying to decide just how much I dislike this film and came to the conclusion of "very much so". Party scenes and nudity strung together followed by absurd violence. James Franco was the only positive feature I can give this film, he had a few amusing scenes for me before things get 'serious" in the third act. I suppose this is a warning about "kids these days"? For me when I wasn't bored I was shaking my head at how dumb this was. "Alien" needed to be in a better film, that's for sure.
½ June 10, 2016
What might seem like your average teenage party comedy movie is in fact a brilliantly shot, unique film that takes dark turns. The performances of James Franco and Selena Gomez stand out and work perfectly for this film. It's not an easy movie to watch, but I do recommend seeing it.
½ May 30, 2016
Crappy movie about crappy people, that is poorly acted. Other than that, the boobs were nice.
March 10, 2015
March 8th 2015
May 21st 2016
½ May 19, 2016
Aesthetic. Mesmerising. Grisly.
½ February 27, 2014
Don't let the eye candy fool you. Plot and characters are pretty engaging. Sort of a "Point Break" for feminists
May 8, 2016
Really not as bad as I thought it would be.
½ January 10, 2016
It will be tough to outdo this badness
April 27, 2016
"Spring Breakers" is interesting. On one side, some might say it's a dumb movie about teenagers wanting to be free and independent -glued together by boobs & drugs - while pretending to be critical, and I can see why certain people feel that way. There are sequences that feel strange, even for somebody in my age - like they were trying to squeeze a certain message in every scene that somehow never transcends to the viewer. But there's something in the way it's shot - it looks beautiful - and I think the overall tone makes me like this movie for the most parts. And of course - the cast is beautiful.
April 20, 2016
I don't know what they were trying to do: trying to make some sort of artsy movie or an off beat comedy. Whatever it was it just didn't work and was weird and hard to follow.
April 1, 2016
You won't see anything like this, for better and worse. Its got the bling and bitches aesthetic, but is far darker underneath the skin. Its an artsy movie hidden beneath a shallow Project X movie, ready to give the current partygoing generation a gutpunch they will likely hate. Definitely a divisive movie, where it goes overboard with the deep existential sequences at times, but at others there is pure brilliance in here. Flawed genius best describes this, and definitely worth a look. Loving/hating the movie is to be expected.
½ March 9, 2014
This is the most horrible and awful movie. This is the most disgusting second half a movie could have. This is the worst movie. Why would Selena Gomez be part of it? Why would anyone?
½ July 5, 2015
Harmony Korine is a misunderstood filmmaker, and rightly so. His films are downright experimental, disturbing, and overly indulgent. Some even call them pointless and aimless, yet they completely miss the point. Korine's films are artistic, brutally honest, and eye-opening snapshots of life. And they're unshakeable, memorable, and mesmerizing. Spring Breakers is his latest effort and it is by far his most accessible, comprehensive, polished, and frank portrayal of life. A neon-hazed hedonistic nightmare of warped fulfillment and debauchery.

Spring Break is a right of passage in today's society, a getaway for many to indulge in endless nights of partying, drugs, booze, sex, and hedonism. The film in itself is a statement of the corruption of today's youth, even changing the statuses of Disney icons Vanessa Hudgens and Selena Gomez as they star in their best, and most iconic, performances, well, ever. Their transition to such a mature subject film further reiterates the vile corruption that plagues the youth of today.

"The film follows four college friends as they rob a Chicken Shack with water pistols in order to pay for their spring break trip to Florida. The BFF soak up sun, drink and drugs as the days and nights merge into one long party of excess. However, after a brush with the law they find themselves in the care of a drug dealing rapper called Alien who invite the girls into his fantasy world of money, guns and amorality."

-Adam Cook (excerpt from his wonderful review because he summed up the film better than I could ever do)

Although heavy on the indulgence cinematic devices, Korine merely satirizes the senseless and hedonistic vapidity of today's youth; the most compelling aspect of this transformation is how open the girls are to corrupting their own moral compasses rather than let the plight of the spring break fantasy ruin themselves. It's a bleak but honest portrayal that is unfortunately true.

James Franco's brilliant performance as Alien (definite Oscar nomination snub) is a twisted embodiment of the American Dream as he relishes in his materialistic instinct and belonging. Yet underneath the conniving grillz is a tortured soul that is subtly exposed in a numerous moments of exposition (one being a funny cover of Brittany Spears' "Everytime"). He then uses money, guns, and riches to seduces the four leads (sans Gomez's aptly named character Faith who leaves the film early, symbolizing that initial instinct of one's moral compass). His mantra and bravado portray Franco as "part-prophet/part-Peter Pan" as he is forced to exist as a symbolic being in the warped fantasy of Spring Break-land. Much like himself, he offers no escape as the wealth and hedonism is all he knows, and loves.

The film's hazy cinematography, repetitive nature, saturated debauchery, use of narration, and out of order clips provide a dreamlike ambiance that, combined with the languid and consistent pacing, reinforces Korine's sense of style as he sensationalizes this neon-drenched nightmare. Skrillex's aggressive dubstep and Clint Mansell's pensive score highlight the spectacular lit scenes (phone calls, discussion) that give the viewer a well needed break from the hyper-sensational imagery as the saturation perfectly contrasts the drab atmosphere of the early scenes pre-Spring Break.

For a film that was advertised as an overtly sexual experience, the film is oddly sexless and more focused on the corruption of the youth. Much like the gambit Stanley Kubrick pulled with Eyes Wide Shut , the film fools the viewer into seeing something pleasurable but towards the end, it's a sickening yet unshakeable experience.

To call this film vapid and superficial is to completely miss the point, but that only reinforces Korine's intentions. Sure, it's easy to make snap judgements of false cheap thrills and amoral pleasure, but the film is a woozy, mesmerizing, beautifully shot, expertly edited and paced hypnotic neon-nightmare that is a more than generous reflection of the twisted fantasy known as The American Dream.

Harmony Korine's films are artistic, brutally honest, and eye-opening snapshots of life. If there is any film, besides Project X , that perfectly reflects Generation Y, it's this film. Welcome to America; as Alien would say "spring break forever." Spring Breakers is the single most misunderstood piece of cinema in the past decade, shining brightly on its neon pedestal of debauchery, empty promises, and mesmerizing chaos. A cult classic to be.
½ March 27, 2016
If I had to hear James Franco say 'Sprang Brahk' one more time... I thought I might just shoot my TV. Zero redeeming qualities to this piece of trash movie.
August 20, 2013
Well directed, well acted, and well written until the second half where it loses the charm it created. Final act is an unrealistic mess.
Page 1 of 190