The Edge of Seventeen - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Edge of Seventeen Reviews

Page 1 of 10
March 14, 2019
Steinfeld portrays Nadine in such a way that you can't help but relate to her insecurities. A dry and witty supporting turn from Harrelson is the cherry on top of the cake for this surprising gem of a film...
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
March 13, 2019
The problem is I have no desire to spend 2 hours with a surly miserable 17 year old.
Full Review | Original Score: C
February 14, 2019
The Edge of Seventeen checks all the teen movie boxes, but does so in a fashion that feels fresh and engaging in a way that we haven't seen since the heyday of John Hughes.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
February 6, 2019
What's so disarming about The Edge of Seventeen is how its superficiality lends itself to some particularly authentic moments.
February 5, 2019
The casting is so perfect, the situations so heartbreakingly real, that "The Edge of Seventeen" is destined to become one of those great movies about a teenager, not a teenage movie we tend to outgrow.
Full Review | Original Score: A-
January 18, 2019
The Edge of Seventeen is the kind of modest, funny teen movie that we don't see enough of these days.
December 9, 2018
...it's a teen film which has come of age.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
November 12, 2018
This is a smart film about teens that's aimed at teens, and it's is a throwback to some of the best of the genre released in the 1980s.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
November 1, 2018
Insightful, thoroughly well-written, amazingly acted, deservedly touching and downright hilarious, The Edge of Seventeen needs to be seen if we want to get more movies of this quality within the well trodden genre.
Full Review | Original Score: 4.5/5
October 31, 2018
A poignant and funny coming-of-age tale that encapsulates the angst, awkwardness, and frustration of trying to find yourself in the cruel world of high school.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
October 23, 2018
"The Edge of Seventeen" is the most cringe-inducing parts of high school encapsulated in 98 minutes of runtime. Oh, and Woody Harrelson is in it!
August 30, 2018
Brings shining performances from everyone across the board especially Hailee Steinfeld and a brilliant breakthrough debut for writer/director Kelly Fremon Craig.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
August 28, 2018
Comfortable with tackling both the comedy of clumsiness and heavier sequences of despair, Steinfeld handles the tricky breakdown of Nadine's sham persona - the real existential crisis she is going through - with real generosity and humour.
August 23, 2018
It is realistic enough to make you remember your own teen years, no matter how near or far away they may be, and above all the film is hilarious.
August 3, 2018
Nothing on earth would make me watch The Edge of Seventeen except a need to be depressed, the mood that results from being bored for an extended period of time.
June 12, 2018
I'm almost embarrassed to admit how much I related to this movie, as a man several years older than its central character.
February 3, 2018
The joy of this movie is how Craig breathes new life into a cinematically commonplace narrative.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
January 26, 2018
Shows what I know cuz the movies actually pretty sweet.
January 23, 2018
I love this movie.
January 16, 2018
It's not exactly a caterpillar-to-butterfly tale. More like a grub to a beetle--a different kind of coming of age story, yet one that's oh so familiar as Nadine learns to appreciate the people right there at arm's reach.
Full Review | Original Score: A-
Page 1 of 10