Twin Peaks - Fire Walk with Me - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Twin Peaks - Fire Walk with Me Reviews

Page 1 of 4
Matt Brunson
Creative Loafing
September 25, 2016
An ungainly and unnecessary prequel to the excellent TV series.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
Sean Burns
The ARTery
May 12, 2015
A horrible masterpiece. Ugly, abstract and unrelenting, it's like having someone else's nightmare.
Cole Smithey
March 20, 2015
As much an essential missing piece for audiences of David Lynch's groundbreaking 1991-'92 television series ("Twin Peaks") to gain closure as a stand-alone film, "Twin Peaks: Fire Walk with Me" is an alternately funny, harrowing, and bizarre experience.
Full Review | Original Score: A-
Christopher Runyon
Movie Mezzanine
February 21, 2014
One of Lynch's darkest, most disturbing films precisely because it is able to delve into the places that the show simply wasn't allowed to explore on national television.
Full Review | Original Score: A
Top Critic
Calum Marsh
Village Voice
December 13, 2013
In its own singular, deeply strange way, Fire Walk With Me is David Lynch's masterpiece.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
Dan Jardine
July 15, 2013
A fascinating tightrope-walk: Lynch's ultra-cool unconventional storytelling techniques are modified just enough to allow the movie to reach a broad audience
Full Review | Original Score: 81/100

Total Film
May 3, 2013
With typical perversity, Lynch avoids cosy closure, instead riffing on his TV themes that seem even more baffling with big-screen expansion.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Stephen Hunter
Baltimore Sun
May 3, 2013
If you didn't get it then, you're not going to get it now.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Top Critic
Owen Gleiberman
Entertainment Weekly
May 3, 2013
There have always been two sides to Lynch: the inscrutable, demonic prankster and the rhapsodic dreamer. In Fire Walk With Me, he's at least trying to recover his poetic sincerity. If only his dreams weren't starting to look like reruns.
Full Review | Original Score: C
Top Critic
Michael Wilmington
Los Angeles Times
May 3, 2013
At its best, it's a dream within a dream, a nightmare in endlessly reflecting pop mirrors, a screen full of TV-movie sex and horror kitsch blowing up right in our faces.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
David Sterritt
Christian Science Monitor
May 3, 2013
Fire Walk With Me contains not a single moment of genuinely felt emotion.
Top Critic
Steven Rea
Philadelphia Inquirer
May 3, 2013
In Twin Peaks the movie, all the twists get straightened out. The thrill is gone.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Top Critic
Jay Boyar
Orlando Sentinel
May 3, 2013
For those who are willing to go the distance with Lynch, the return trip to Twin Peaks is well worth the trouble.
Top Critic
Dave Kehr
Chicago Tribune
May 3, 2013
For a film with a pre-established conclusion, Twin Peaks: Fire Walk With Me seems depressingly interminable.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Jennie Kermode
Eye for Film
May 3, 2013
Twin Peaks: Fire Walk With Me reveals the side of this quiet American town that could never be shown on television.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
Brian Orndorf
August 27, 2012
Promoted as a prequel to Twin Peaks, but it was actually Excalibur pushed through the heart of a phenomenon, leaving the faithful to grieve, while newcomers were left baffled, or in my case, ravenous for more.
Full Review | Original Score: A
Jay Antani
Cinema Writer
September 7, 2010
This fire dampens fast, and the results are rather dreary, and nonsensical.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
Rob Humanick
August 18, 2009
Every image, sound, and color ultimately clicks into place, like a puzzle one is only subconsciously aware of.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
Top Critic
Variety Staff
May 14, 2008
Suspense is clearly lacking in this story with a preordained outcome. Another significant drawback is that long before the climax Laura has become a tiresome teen.
Richard Luck
May 14, 2008
A convincing case can be made for this being Lynch's finest film to date.
Page 1 of 4