Watchmen - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Watchmen Reviews

Page 1 of 2948
August 20, 2017
(5.0 out of 6)
When we see that we are part of a group of superheroes drawn into the spotlight for our heroic deeds that we can't hide from. When we see that there is plenty to hide from when our pasts are not as squeeky clean as our image may be. When we see a time where we got our beginnings that we didn't need to hide behind fear and take a stand to what we believe in, justice. When we see the world is what it is globally captivating us to our tvs, and ears that we can't hide what our actions do and whom to blame. When we see clearly the world is what it is when we have the right to be hidden from the world and not fear of being watched to restore order, we just escalated it. When we see that being human we have immoral thoughts, actions, and deeper feelings that shouldn't be judged when being human is similar to those who are superhuman. When we see we can't hide who we are by wearing masks, so that we remain transparent to society we belong in to be judged equally as others. When we see no one is above the law, that no one can't hide from it to only choose to remain visible or hidden away from the public eye. When we see not everyone can hide when their existence is the problem and solution when they are seen as a weapon and peacekeeper but standing alongside 1 and not all that others refuse to hide in fear of one day falling to a super power that war is the answer. When we see that much is needed to gain peace when we only get to see the causes and effects of war serves to us on tv but not everything is revealled when decisions are made hidden in well kept doors away from public eyes and ears to know what goes on. When we see that we can hide what we want but can't hide how we get it. When we see that we all have greater deeper yearnings that we keep hidden whether it's our humanly urges, greater purpose to do right, fight for the weak & small, moral obligation, truth in the face of darkness and to feel wanted again we keep hidden but it surfaces in our actions and eye to do good. When we don't see how much human we truly are at times but we hide it when we are too superhuman, that we remain in another state of mind then the human kind to notice what we lost. When we see what others can't see that we explore deeper and further then others couldn't possibly do when we live in a world where it's hidden in plain sight to notice whether it is underneath us, above us or all around us we can't see. When we see that there is plenty to see but nobody wants to see us again, we disappear for good and remain hidden. When we don't see all what remains hidden in society that makes it unclean and dirty that we need to bring out in the surface and end it's days of being hidden. When we see that not all things in life is meant to be not hidden when it's personal. When we see that we are the true reasons as to why there is so much no peace that we choose to ignore and remain hidden for the fear of knowing is the worst part that eliminates what we always thought we were seeing in ourselves being a symbol for good. When we see or font see things we don't know because it's hidden from us or kept a secret from us for own good or for people's own good that we now know we must have. When we see that making some truths hidden is the answer we need in times to restore peace in times where there is no other resolution, but it comes st the costs of others including ourselves that we must remain hidden. When we see that we always hated hiding or remain dishonest and out casted that it stands for everything we fight for that we can't hide and live a lie like others can when the world means more to us then superficiality but the order in which it is founded on. When we see that once we see something now it's no longer what we see when it's now deformed and nobody can't see when it is hidden in the illusion we make it to be. When we see that we don't need to be seen to make a difference for peace when our words, eyes and story is enough to paint the picture of what others see to judge for themselves and not be scared to express what they feel from being hidden and challenge what we see and always fight for what we believe the truth will set us free to break free from illusion.
August 14, 2017
Watchmen, adapted by Zach Snyder, always seemed to be an FU to Alan Moore, who claimed (and hoped) that Hollywood would understand the comic book doesn't' translate well to modern cinema. Snyder tries hard to recreate the style and look of the world, while missing the ultimate point of Moore's pessimism and criticism of humanity. He also accentuated the most obvious aspects of the book (the shock value, the character study that seemed much deeper when it was subtle) and made the casting an absolute parody, worthy of Mad TV. I say this as a person who loved the comic, loved the idea of a movie finally being made, and as a Watchmen patriot who still feels obligated to support what is probably the only film version that will try to get it right - and (barely) succeed.
August 13, 2017
This film is a lot more than what it appears. Wow. A super hero movie from a fresh and bold perspective. Please make a sequel (and I typically try never to use exclamation points)!!!!
Bradley T. Johnson
Super Reviewer
August 8, 2017
A movie that is absolutely singular in its dreary vision of the inner lives of superheroes. Watchmen is intriguing in how character based it is. It rarely devolves into full on action film like many of its Marvel rivals. This means Watchmen is thoroughly atmospheric and grim, but never really exciting. It's highly stylized and undeniably interesting, but it is polarizing in its detached storytelling. By all means worth a watch, but hard to embrace. Rating: 63
July 31, 2017
This movie is unique and realistic. These points make its become distinctive among its genre. I love every factors of this movie.
July 30, 2017
Bravo, solemn and stirring, sublime, to name a few, that this movie was up to. Watchmen, beginning with death of Comedian, a grandiosity, as well as a bombshell which the movie drops from the very beginning, successfully leading us to the dark world disarrayed by all kinds of live stuff that mixed up with the dirty city which seems to fall together along with his body and his badge from the height. Through one eye of that smiling face, the film shows us a large quantity of history stories, including some important moments such as the surrender of Japs, the assassination of president Kennedy (by Comedian), all of these was accompanied by that famous song called 'for the times they are a-changing', you many feel that nothing was left behind. Indeed, this kind of head leader was never made before, and probably will be unique for a very long time.

As the investigation into the real murder who committed to the death of Comedian, Rorschach kept warning his old friends, or his comrade-in-arms for old times' sake, other guys seemed to be, however, not quite shocked. Actually, they had plenty of reasons to be, after all, this world has been lousy and hurly-burly for a long goddamn time, dwellers crawled over the surface of this city, those who used to be heroes fell from grace. To them, it was just an ordinary murder case. Switch to another line, Nuclear Crisis between two superpowers: America and Soviet grew as time went by. How to keep people's head above water and save this world from that unimaginable calamity, no one had a clear view except one watchman: Ozymandias, who later neutralized that crisis by imputing the explosion to Doctor Manhattan.
So we can see it: this movie had a simple story: heroes finally saved the entire human race by using some tricks, although brought some burdens to bear. This movie, however, is quite more complicated, it definitely confuses you if you did not read the comic before, but how involuted does this film will be? Let's just say: it is quite meaningless to make a pectination to the contents here.

Apparently, this film seems to be an heroes film, but it tramples them, blames them and cast them into hell. Among these guys, two who always stuck to their rules and followed their own principle: Comedian and Rorschach, died miserably, two were killed by other members, which is exceeding ironical. And, again, their death was caused by not changing their credendum. Other heroes, Owlman and Silk Spectre lived their own ordinary life as usual routine, some occasional good deeds to help people was just a kind of reminiscence they made in order to recall their activities in olden days. Doctor Manhattan, he could not even emancipate himself from old times. Ozymandias, the smartest guy in the planet, did not have a real ability to save the human while not victimizing some in this world. No one was perfect in this universe, but the real bad dudes never exits. Be that as it may, they never stop redeeming themselves, but they never really made that achievement. The world was saved, but who else can save these super heroes ? At least I figure time has no such power here.

Darker than The Dark Knight, Acomplicated as it can be, As much information as it can delivered us.

The director: Zack Snyder complete an impossible mission: filmizing a comic called Watchmen.
½ July 25, 2017
Long, dark, gritty, graphic, dystopian, complex, revealing, yet strangely satisfying.
July 20, 2017
I have to disagree with the consensus--although not familiar with graphic novel, I liked that this flick wasn't just the same old heroic mold super hero action flick--the special effects were marvelous, although the art design was very dark and noir-ish, as was the plot and characters, but the plot was seriously saying some very philosophical things about the world we live in and how human nature affects it, although this view of humanity was as dark as the rest of the film. It was still very intriguing and probably true, but in reality we have no super-beings to find a way forward for us.
July 18, 2017
Rorschach. Rorschach.
½ July 17, 2017
Terrible boring long as fudge super hero dc comics movie directed by to me the worst director of all time Zack Snyder. I really found this movie boring as fudge especially the plot and the characters,i didn't feel any connections with any of the characters and in my opinion this movie is too dark. Zack Snyder sucked back then and be sucks now, what a wasted opportunity.
July 17, 2017
I loved it so much, I would watch it every day.
July 16, 2017
My first impression of Watchmen came before the DC "Extended Universe" was underway. I had never read the graphic novel (still haven't). But I did like the comics genre, and director Zack Snyder had done something interesting with 300. So I gave Watchmen a shot and was ... unimpressed.
I didn't hate it. I didn't love it. I probably would have forgotten it. But now a Watchmen TV show is in the works, Zack Snyder is a (much criticized, often unfairly) driving force in the DCEU, and the Watchmen are back in the comics scene. It seemed like a good time for a second screening.
On the surface, there's a lot to appreciate here. It's lovingly crafted by filmmakers with a passion for the source material. It has massive attention to detail. It's visually inventive. If it were about characters we knew and loved, it might nothing short of epic.
And it is epic in scope, but not in impact. We're thrown into an alternate reality where superheroes are real and even helped win the Vietnam war. As the President who won that war, Richard Nixon is in his fifth term. Superheroes, however, are outlawed, except for Dr. Manhattan, who replaces "Mutual Assured Destruction" to keep the cold war from turning hot.
The movie is also epic in length, and begins to feel a little self-indulgent. We get flashbacks and backstories from the 40's to the 70's before we really even understand the alternate 80's we've been thrown into. Sometimes it takes a moment to discern whether a scene is flashing back or moving forward. Maybe it would help if you're familiar with the graphic novel, but the narrative structure is just not going to work for everyone.
Watchmen preceded Deadpool and Logan on the R-rated comic book front, and earns the R with violence, sex, nudity and language. But in Watchmen, the R-rated content isn't for laughs, and sometimes it's a bit uncomfortable.
In fact, it's hard to find sensibilities with which to get comfortable in this movie. These are all anti-heroes, without a single character in the film to latch onto as a virtuous hero just trying to do the right thing. Several of the heroes are straight up killers. One is an attempted rapist. The movie's primary love story is an adultery tinged triangle.
Despite dealing with Vietnam, Richard Nixon and the Cold War, the politics are similarly non-committal. No one's particularly wrong or right. The end justifies the means in a world where you must do terrible things to stave off even worse things. That world is part of what makes it difficult to connect with the film. Written just a year before Ronald Reagan's "tear down that wall" ultimatum, Watchmen was written in a world that knew all too well the existential threat of nuclear war with the Soviets. As such, Watchmen is adapting a story which cannot be told apart from the sensibilities of those who lived through the 60's, 70's and 80's. Perhaps the very themes that made Watchmen resonate so powerfully with readers in 1986, make it difficult to connect with today.
Many people, perhaps most, will find Watchmen inaccessible. But maybe it's unfair to criticize it for having an unconventional structure or pace. Zack Snyder wasn't trying to make a conventional movie. He was trying to adapt a specific piece of pop culture, one many had called "unfilmable," to the silver screen. The late Roger Ebert said that he rated a movie based on whether it succeeded in what it was trying to do. By that measure, Watchmen may be very successful (and Ebert did give it four stars).
Perhaps if Zack Snyder's other movies were rated in this spirit, his DCEU movies would fare better with the critics.
July 16, 2017
I feel like Im the only one who liked this movie
July 13, 2017
Surprisingly underrated. The comic book movie that couldn't be made/adapted was, in fact, done superbly by Zach Snyder and a strong cast. A great move whether you've read the graphic novel or not. Did they change some things to the detriment of the story, I think so, but it's still a very, very good movie. Better than 65% rating by far.
½ July 12, 2017
An action packed dark and gritty action thriller filled with blood and amazing characters Zach Snyder kills it again with his amazing cinematography (must WATCH!)
July 11, 2017
What did I watch. A superhero porno?
July 7, 2017
I've seen the film a few times now and, unlike most people, I never had any problem with its complex narrative structure, in fact, I actually liked this narrative structure and the political subtext, which was crucial in the source material.
June 27, 2017
Very long but dark and entertaining.
½ June 26, 2017
A aesthetically beautiful movie which tackles a profound albeit melancholy view of the "human condition", Watchmen is a movie that appeals to an audience willing to admit and explore humanity's grimmer side. Though seemingly complex, its message is quite clear: in order to unite mankind, it is necessary to give everyone something, usually a greater enemy, to fight against. And things are always going to get worse before they get better. Despite differences from the original comic, it pulls it off quite well. My only big complaints are ones I have with the comic, but that would probably spoil too much of the movie. It's also true that I'd rather recommend the Director's Cut (I'd say 4.5 star material, though I'm having difficulty ascertaining quite why), as the theatrical version feels inadequate, kinda like an MRE -- the meat's there, but little more. On the other hand, if all you've experienced is the comic, then heads up! The ending here WILL BLOW YOUR MIND! Seriously, I'm of the opinion that this version makes a hell of a lot more sense, although the comic drops a huge bomb on the reader that is never, EVER revealed in any version of the movie... There's a reason the original material warranted a Hugo Award. Still, people craving pure action should bypass this film entirely: this is definitely not meant for you.
June 26, 2017
Criminally underrated.
Page 1 of 2948