We Were Soldiers - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

We Were Soldiers Reviews

Page 1 of 8
December 29, 2010
One of the most violent movies ever released.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
December 22, 2006
The war genre, vigorously energized with Saving Private Ryan and Black Hawk Down, takes several steps backward with this old-fashioned moralistic saga, a tribute not only to the soldiers in combat in Vietnam but also to the homefront.
Full Review | Original Score: B-
December 6, 2004
I was impressed by Wallace's emphasis of Moore's faith, but the violence struck me as excessive, taking valuable time that could have been used to develop characters.
Full Review | Original Score: C
January 7, 2004
... A fitting tribute to all the men and women who have fought and died for their country -- and for each other.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
October 19, 2003
Gibson wears a rictus of distaste which seems more suggestive of dodgy on-set catering than the horrors of combat.
July 25, 2003
Mais uma patriotada que mostra os americanos matando milhares de vietcongues, mas sendo mais 'humanos' que os inimigos.
| Original Score: 3/5
February 13, 2003
Ultimately, it staggers out bloodied, partially bowed, but at least not totally beaten.
February 8, 2003
...A gripping, fast-moving film that will be added to the short list of quality movies focused on the U.S. conflict in Vietnam.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
January 13, 2003
Almost always competent, but never brilliant. Its textbook approach to moviemaking is so common in Hollywood war films that it can't be called new or enlightening.
Full Review | Original Score: 6/10
December 19, 2002
I didn't mind the film's sentimental view of GIs. It's stuff like this that gets me crying, especially in times of combat like now. I wasn't the only one wiping tears away. It's hard not to when you're proud to be an American.
December 8, 2002
This is a good film; strong, honest, strikingly photographed (by Dean Semler) and appropriately devastating.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
November 7, 2002
Mel Gibson's Vietnam drama breaks under the weight of its contradictions.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
August 26, 2002
Not that anything's inherently wrong with a patriotic war movie, but there's a distastefulness in the film's simpleton view of mass suffering.
Full ReviewRead More
August 22, 2002
It's refreshing to see a pre-acid rock movie about Vietnam.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
August 7, 2002
Presenta los hechos de una manera que recuerda a lo peor de la derecha republicana, asemejándose a la patética y triste época del senador McCarthy y su 'cacería de brujas'
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
July 20, 2002
Probably the best thing you can say about We Were Soldiers is that it does justice to an awful conflict.
Read More | Original Score: 3/4
July 9, 2002
Another in a long line of ultra-violent war movies, this one is not quite what it could have been as a film, but the story and theme make up for it.
Full Review
June 28, 2002
We were soldiers es la voz de los soldados muertos que reclaman el haber sido enviados a defender un país, para luego ser simplemente dejados atrás.
| Original Score: 8.5/10
June 7, 2002
This is an incredible story badly told.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
June 5, 2002
The first war picture in recent memory that owes more to John Ford than to Sony PlayStation.
Page 1 of 8