Baskets: Season 1 Reviews

Page 1 of 3
July 14, 2018
The humor of Zach Galifianakis is not close nor accessible, it is complicated, but above all his humor is his. More similar to Andy Kaufman than to Adam Sandler. No one can plagiarize his voice. That's the best of Baskets. [Full Review in Spanish]
August 11, 2017
Baskets is a noble effort, but it's so specific it ends up being self-contained.
April 12, 2016
Sometimes the best you can do in life is not succumb to despair. Lovelorn rodeo clown Chip Baskets (Zach Galifianakis) accomplishes that, but little more, in the fantastic but fatiguingly doleful FX dramedy.
February 22, 2016
Something is off about all these people, but most of them-and even the supposed cultural wasteland of Bakersfield-can be looked at with tenderness for the joy they bring.
January 26, 2016
Deadpan comedy about an earnest clown in a bleak world.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
January 25, 2016
There's something here worth keeping an eye on - the people, really. Galifianakis, Anderson and especially Kelly fill Baskets with possibility, even if it's not exactly brimming with energy from the onset.
Full Review | Original Score: B
January 22, 2016
Baskets doesn't have the DNA to truly soar, but it's odd and off-putting enough to succeed for a few seasons perhaps, like FX's other more jagged attempts at comedy.
Full Review | Original Score: 6.8/10
January 22, 2016
If you're on its level, Baskets is very, very funny, but more than that, it contains a unique, subdued beauty like few other TV shows on the air right now.
Full Review | Original Score: A-
January 22, 2016
[Galifianakis is] really, really good at drawing the humor out of that kind of character, and maybe the most promising thing about this new series is watching him take that in a deeper, stranger direction. I'm excited to see where it goes.
January 22, 2016
You'll hear a lot of people say Baskets is funny, you'll probably hear even more who say it isn't, but you'll have to figure this one out on your own. Me, I love it.
January 22, 2016
It doesn't have a rhythm, it just sort of floats around being weird. That's ultimately what makes it so compelling.
January 21, 2016
I can't willingly tell you to choose to endure a world so crushingly cruel and myopic that doesn't offer any synthesis or revelation, especially because it's a world that has been so well-plumbed before.
January 21, 2016
Being different just for the sake of being different doesn't work.
January 21, 2016
I just realized I started this review saying I didn't quite warm to Baskets, but here I am comparing Galifianakis to Richard Dreyfuss in Close Encounters... I guess I like it, then. Maybe being not quite like anything you've seen is enough.
January 21, 2016
Baskets builds into a character-study treasure, much like FX precursor Louie.
Full Review | Original Score: A-
January 21, 2016
Baskets is a sweet, strange little comedy with amusing characters.
January 21, 2016
When a Pierrot is gored by a bull, one should be worried, not thrilled. But Baskets is so smug, so condescending to everyone around him that for just a moment, we're rooting for that bull.
January 21, 2016
Not unusually, the show gathers depth and delicacy with time and context and as characters come into focus and into different configurations. Down to the smallest speaking part, the actors are well cast and unusually believable.
January 21, 2016
A comedy that inspires more pathos than laughter isn't necessarily failed. It just might be mislabeled.
January 21, 2016
Anderson is an odd ray of sweetness inside all of Baskets' bitterness, and it's hard not to laugh at that.
Page 1 of 3