Down to Earth With Zac Efron: Season 1 Reviews

August 22, 2020
Celeb's eco-travels more entertaining than informative.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
August 13, 2020
Misguided, maybe. Perhaps lacking fact-checkers, too. But is the show redeemable at this point? Perhaps it is.
August 4, 2020
Framed within the realm of "eco-innovators" and "superfood enthusiasts," sustainability becomes yet another pursuit for capitalism to dig its claws into and monetize.
August 4, 2020
More entertaining than it is educational. But Efron seems genuinely invested in sparking curiosity around a subject that is both vital and, speaking as a former environmental reporter, difficult to make people actually care about.
August 4, 2020
Down to Earth With Zac Efron is an easy-to-follow Netflix series that uses a star to platform a real problem - we need to save the earth and open our minds for long term survival. And there is nothing wrong with that.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
August 4, 2020
What could have been another travel documentary with a great hook [Zac Efron], turned out to be much more. [Full Review in Spanish]​
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
July 28, 2020
Even when Down to Earth stumbles, it's clear that the show is coming from a good place. There isn't a hint of cynicism in anything Efron does...
July 17, 2020
Here's the craziest part: By the end of the show, I was kind of envious of Zac Efron. His worldview is so refreshing, so free of the kind of forced irony you see from a lot of people on television.
July 13, 2020
The series is meant to focus on environmentalism, but it's all over the place-and not in a good way.
July 13, 2020
While the series' trailer heavily emphasizes the environmental angle of Efron's travels, the show feels unfocussed.
July 13, 2020
Between Zac Efron's blue eyes and the wonders of Iceland, there's a whole lot of beauty to take in while watching Down to Earth.
July 13, 2020
He has been acting since he was a kid, and he's lived his life experiencing highs and lows in the public eye, but to watch him here, you'd think he was just an ordinary hunk with the resources to travel the world looking for ways to improve civilization
July 13, 2020
It's not resonant, it's not revelatory, it's just a professional himbo going on a vacation paid for by Netflix. And honestly, I'm not mad at it! He had fun, I had fun, Wildcats in the house, etc.
July 13, 2020
We never learn why Efron has been chosen for this task. He doesn't seem to have any particular interest in the environment, or food, and is not a natural travel presenter.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5