Downton Abbey: Series 06 Episode 5 - TV Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Downton Abbey: Series 06 Episode 5 Reviews

Page 1 of 1
Ceri Radford
Daily Telegraph (UK)
February 5, 2016

Downton's most savage schemer has pulled in his claws.

Kevin P. Sullivan
Entertainment Weekly
Top Critic
February 5, 2016

The fifth episode of Downton Abbey's final season has me questioning the very fabric of this show, which up until this point has been a relatively light period drama about life in the face of trying times and an evolving world.

Viv Groskop
Guardian
Top Critic
February 5, 2016

Oh, for heaven's sake, this programme is so totally bonkers. I have never seen Carrie, The Texas Chainsaw Massacre or Return of the Living Dead. But now I don't feel like I need to see any of those things. Because I've seen this. And I can never unsee it.

Emily L. Stephens
AV Club
Top Critic
February 5, 2016

As Downton Abbey races toward its conclusion, everything, and I mean everything, comes out.

Full Review | Original Score: A-
Louis Bayard
New York Times
Top Critic
February 5, 2016

Whenever the narrative battery shows signs of stalling, [Fellows] clamps on a pair of jumper cables and shocks the thing back into life.

Amy Amatangelo
Paste Magazine
February 5, 2016

The episode's biggest moment comes as an aside.

Full Review | Original Score: 8.5/10
Andy Swift
TV Line
February 5, 2016

The Crawleys' civil war over the local hospital finally became interesting on Sunday's Downton Abbey. Too bad it had to happen at Robert's expense.

Sarene Leeds
Wall Street Journal
Top Critic
February 5, 2016

There were several new developments on tonight's Downton Abbey, but let's be honest, there's only one thing anyone is going to remember from it: Lord Grantham projectile-vomiting blood all over the dining table.

Caralynn Lippo
TV Fanatic
February 5, 2016

Well, that was completely shocking. Downton Abbey Season 6 Episode 5's biggest moment featured a terrifying and unexpectedly graphic health scare.

Full Review | Original Score: 4.5/5
Jen Chaney
New York Magazine/Vulture
Top Critic
February 5, 2016

Beauty is pain, after all. Sometimes, it's even bloody.

Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Jay Bushman
indieWire
Top Critic
February 5, 2016

It's a shocking moment; death has been creeping around the edges of this whole episode.

Full Review | Original Score: B+
Page 1 of 1