Lovecraft Country: Season 1, Episode 5 Reviews

Collier Jennings
But Why Tho? A Geek Community
June 25, 2021

Features more twists than a pretzel stand and manages to put its own spin on a classic story.

Full Review | Original Score: 8
Jean Henegan
Pop Culture Maniacs
December 30, 2020

I've watched a lot of television in my time and I think this episode of Lovecraft Country was far and away the grossest thing I've seen on TV. That being said, it was also a pretty great episode of TV.

Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Jeffrey Lyles
Lyles' Movie Files
December 30, 2020

"Strange Case" was Lovecraft Country's biggest mind screw episode yet with its own creative spin on the monster genre within a la Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde.

Full Review | Original Score: 9.5/10
Mekeisha Madden Toby
Black Girl Nerds
December 30, 2020

In an age where cultural appropriation is all the rage, it was fascinating and disturbing to see Ruby, a proud and outspoken Black woman from the South Side of Chicago, metamorphose into a white woman.

Allie Gemmill
Collider
December 30, 2020

This is the halfway point of the season, a point where one would hope Lovecraft Country would be hitting its narrative stride. Instead, the HBO newcomer is still getting lost in the weeds.

Fiona Underhill
JumpCut Online
December 30, 2020

Viewers can live in hope that these decisions are for a purpose and that they're going somewhere/will tie together, but so many sub-plots have arisen and died off, that it's difficult to maintain faith at this point.

Lex Pryor
The Ringer
December 30, 2020

"Strange Case" leaves us with a multitude more questions than answers, but the single most important query I have after this gross-ass episode is this: Where does all the skin go?!

Ellen E Jones
Guardian
December 30, 2020

This was the goriest episode yet. But also the sauciest.

Alan Sepinwall
Rolling Stone
December 30, 2020

Is whiteness in and of itself a superpower? This is the question asked and answered by the fantastic "Strange Case."

Kavya Christopher
The Times of India
December 30, 2020

The gruesome metamorphosis shown when Hillary transforms back to Ruby gives you the creeps.

Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Tom Fitzgerald and Lorenzo Marquez
Tom & Lorenzo
December 30, 2020

On the surface, we can say that blending body horror with the history of Black people who passed for white is a pretty brilliant concept, but the results were confusing to us, with a message that didn't resonate as well as it might have.

Charles Pulliam-Moore
io9.com
December 30, 2020

As plot-dense as it is, "Strange Case" makes the solid choice to fast-track through its plots involving Atticus and Leti, and Montrose, in favor of focusing on Ruby.

Terry Mesnard
Gayly Dreadful
December 30, 2020

Everything after [the first episode] has been various shades of frustration. And the last two episodes, in particular, have left an intense sour taste in my mouth.

Martin Carr
Flickering Myth
October 20, 2020

Whichever side of the line you sit on the subjects everyone has their struggles. Lovecraft Country merely shines a light on our misconceptions, miscommunications and knee jerk judgement calls.

Joelle Monique
AV Club
October 20, 2020

It is technically too early to label "Strange Case" the breakaway episode. But I'm going to do it anyway, because tonight's episode, directed by Cheryl Dunye, is radical. I've never seen the trials of a single, fat, Black woman on screen-until now.

Full Review | Original Score: A
Steffan Triplett
New York Magazine/Vulture
October 20, 2020

I felt icky after this episode. And I'm choosing to believe this is intentional, that it's meant to be a difficult watch.

Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Kevin Lever
Tell-Tale TV
October 20, 2020

"Strange Case" feels a little half-finished. It has a great concept and has the right idea, wearing the shoes of another to see the privilege that comes with skin color, but it doesn't exactly go far enough.

Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Sean T. Collins
Decider
October 20, 2020

"Strange Case," the strongest episode of Lovecraft Country so far and by far, presented me with both scenarios, and I couldn't be happier.

Toussaint Egan
IGN Movies
October 20, 2020

The result is an admirable, well-told story, somewhat soured by a climactic act of retributive sexual violence that crassly reduces Ruby's righteous fury into something monstrous and distressingly out of character for the sake of a Cardi B needle-drop.

Full Review | Original Score: 7/10
Dale McGarrigle
TV Fanatic
October 20, 2020

It will be intriguing to see what that talisman that Ruby planted in Lancaster's office ends up doing. He strikes me as someone who is in over his head, attempting to advance on just brute force and no finesse.

Full Review | Original Score: 4.6/5