The Orville: Season 1 Reviews

December 29, 2017
I don't love it at all. Indeed I could summarise that first episode in three words. Not. Very. Funny.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
September 19, 2017
Boy, does it need work.
September 14, 2017
... the show immediately and ignominiously becomes the first real stinker of the fall season, a deep-space dud, recommended only for those who like to study cases of creative bankruptcy.
September 11, 2017
Let's just say that this is not a frontier we're interested in exploring any further.
September 11, 2017
Ultimately, the most damning thing you can say about The Orville is that there isn't that much to say about The Orville.
Full Review | Original Score: C
September 11, 2017
What I'm saying is, feel free to seek out new life in whatever manner you see fit. Boldly go where you've never gone before. Go anywhere but here.
September 11, 2017
The Orville needs considerable work to accomplish whatever it wants to be -- assuming that MacFarlane and company even have that answer.
Full Review | Original Score: C
September 11, 2017
While The Orville clearly demonstrates its fondness for a show that promised to boldly go where others hadn't, it feels like MacFarlane and his crew are taking a sizable step backwards.
September 11, 2017
I share MacFarlane's yearning for the lost wonder of Star Trek, but I don't need to watch brand new C-level Next Generation episodes, especially not when some creative force behind the scenes keeps tossing out unfunny crude gags.
Full Review | Original Score: C
Top Critic
September 11, 2017
The Orville is trying so hard not to be so many things, it isn't fully any one thing. Which makes it, officially, the strangest misfire of the fall TV season.
September 11, 2017
In his first significant live-action TV role, Mr. MacFarlane's main attribute is a nervous proficiency. Ed may have to grow into his command, but that doesn't mean he should be the least memorable person on the bridge.
September 8, 2017
The only unique sounds made by "The Orville" are things we wish we'd never heard.
Full Review | Original Score: D
September 7, 2017
Solemnity and humor aren't mutually exclusive properties on a show like this, but it's a delicate balance. The Orville is neither delicate, nor balanced, and it's creator's track record suggests it probably won't ever be.
Full Review | Original Score: C-
Top Critic
September 7, 2017
As both series lead and showrunner, MacFarlane has nobody to rein in his worst impulses or augment his considerable talents. The Orville has potential but the show -- and he -- first need to get out of their own ways.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
September 6, 2017
There are no tongues in the cheeks of The Orville. It's the work of a fan of Star Trek trying to make a Star Trek show, without any of that pesky darkness or edginess modern audiences might expect.
September 6, 2017
After a rough start, The Orville actually manages to push out some decent sci-fi TV, without sacrificing bursts of slacker comedy from Grimes and fellow helmsman J. Lee.
September 6, 2017
The final result is less a parody than a poor knockoff of Trek, an attempt at humorous homage that gets lost in space.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
September 6, 2017
The way to pay homage to all things Trek (and Twilight Zone) is not with derivative storylines that awkwardly mix the frat-bro humor found on MacFarlane's animated programs with unexceptional space adventures.