Gray Matter


Episode Info

A dirty cop, Bruno Goergen (Harry O'Reilly) arrives in Oz, and immediately recognizes Mobay (Lance Reddick). He threatens to blow Mobay's cover if Mobay tells anyone Goergen is a cop. When Goergen's racist comments get him into trouble, and Mobay doesn't help him out, Goergen threatens him again, and Mobay decides to use Hill (Harold Perrineau Jr.) to eliminate the problem. Glynn (Ernie Hudson) is shoots a PSA, and Jonathan Demme (director of Silence of the Lambs) plays the director of the spot. A depressed McManus (Terry Kinney) accuses Murphy (Robert Clohessy) of disloyalty for not quitting when he was fired. Supreme Allah (rapper Lord Jamar), a Five-Percenter, arrives in Em City, and refuses to kowtow to the Muslims. Querns (Reg E. Cathey) removes all the Aryans and bikers from Em City, and makes the leaders of the drug trade trustees. Moses (Erik King) bickers with the redneck Miles (Michael Quill) and gets Dr. Nathan (Lauren Velez) to check on Ginsberg (Charles Busch), who has AIDS. O'Reily (Dean Winters) and Stanislofsky (Philip Casnoff) continue to plot against each other, with O'Reily finally gaining the upper hand. Rebadow (George Morfogen) feels empowered by the murder he's committed, and asks Morales (David Zayas) to let him kill again. Beecher's (Lee Tergesen) son is found dead. Sister Pete (Rita Moreno) won't see the distraught Beecher because she doesn't know how to comfort him. Beecher grows more suspicious of Keller (Christopher Meloni), and the information he gets from Zabitz (David Johansen) exacerbates the situation.


Ernie Hudson
as Leo Glynn
Terry Kinney
as Tim McManus
Rita Moreno
as Sister Peter Marie Reimondo
B.D. Wong
as Father Ray Mukada
Harold Perrineau
as Augustus Hill
Eamonn Walker
as Kareem Said
Lee Tergesen
as Tobias Beecher
J.K. Simmons
as Vern Schillinger
Dean Winters
as Ryan O'Reily
Lauren Vélez
as Dr. Gloria Nathan
George Morfogen
as Bob Rebadow
Betty Buckley
as Suzanne Fitzgerald
Reg E. Cathey
as Martin Querns
Anthony Chisholm
as Burr Reading
Robert Clohessy
as Off. Sean Murphy
Carl DiMaggio
as Off. Len Lopresti
John Doman
as Col. Edward Galson
Sean Dugan
as Timmy Kirk
Christopher Meloni
as Christopher Keller
Rick Fox
as Jackson Vayhue
Joel Grey
as Lemuel Idzick
Ray Iannicelli
as Off. Roger Breese
Zeljko Ivanek
as Gov. James Devlin
Brendan Kelly
as Wolfgang Cutler
Tom Ligon
as Alvin Yood
Patti LuPone
as Stella Coffa
John Lurie
as Greg Pender
Tom Mardirosian
as Agamemnon Busmalis
Ellen McElduff
as Elenor O'Connor
Milo O'Shea
as Dr. Frederick Garvey
Blayne Perry
as Samuel Gougeon
Larry Pine
as Arnold Zelman
Sandra Purpuro
as Catherine McClain
Blake Robbins
as Off. David Brass
R.E. Rodgers
as James Robson
Kristin Rohde
as Off. Claire Howell
Otto Sanchez
as Carmen `Chico' Guerra
Paul Schulze
as Off. Rick Heim
Philip Scozzarella
as Off. Joseph Mineo
Jon Seda
as Dino Ortolani
Lou Sones
as Steve Dawkins
Thomas G. Waites
as Henry Stanton
Joel West
as Glen Shupe
Steven Wishnoff
as Tony Masters
Michael Wright
as Omar White
Emanuel Yarbrough
as Clarence Seroy
David Zayas
as Enrique Morales
Chuck Zito
as Charles Pancamo
Granville Adams
as Zahir Arif
Dena Atlantic
as Floria Mills
Tim Brown
as Off. Jason Armstrong
Bobby Cannavale
as Alonzo Torquemada
Antoni Corone
as Frances Urbano
Show More Cast

Gray Matter Photos