Save Me: Save Me Too Reviews

November 6, 2020
There's a tricky tonal balance at the heart of "Save Me," which blends elements of a family drama, a detective series, and even a dash of a workplace comedy thrown in for good measure.
Full Review | Original Score: A-
August 25, 2020
Jones also plays the role of a mother in crisis with masterful restraint - pain concentrated in the furrow between her eyebrows. This might be familiar territory, but it's in very good hands.
August 25, 2020
Learning lessons and wisely evolving from its stylistic first series, Save Me Too is a successful sequel to what was already an obsessive mystery.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
August 25, 2020
All the things I found outstanding about most of the last series: realism, naturalistic dialogue, attention to detail and confident silences.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
August 25, 2020
The subject matter is distressing but never gratuitous. The focus is on the parents grieving for a lost daughter, and what to do with that grief when the news cycle and the police have moved on.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
August 25, 2020
This is shaping up to be another quality instalment, and I admire James's reluctance to take the easiest path. This does mean that the question of whether anyone will find Jody, though, remains as open as ever.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
August 25, 2020
Save Me Too digs deeper and takes even those familiar with series one on a journey they won't be expecting - satisfying yet surprising, it's sure to have its loyal audience hooked all over again.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
August 3, 2020
Far more nuanced and character-driven than many other entries in the genre.
May 4, 2020
James' triumph here is to create a cast of characters who are not great human beings, but who are believable and empathetic. The twists and turns of the narrative are completely gripping, but it is as a study in human frailty that Save Me really shines.
April 13, 2020
The performances are all superb. James is extraordinary, a tour de force, while Suranne Jones, as Jody's anguished mother, is heartbreakingly believable.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
April 8, 2020
It is, if anything, better than the original, charting the toxins spread throughout an entire community via just one tiny group's sociopathic sense of sexual entitlement, and thus the disjointed distrusts that must fester and breed.
April 2, 2020
Once again, [Lennie] James is electrifying as Nelly.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
April 2, 2020
This series builds to some stunning places, with real tension and surprises. It's a drama foremost, but one that happens to play all the right thriller notes, though not necessarily in the "right" order. The result is something original and captivating.
July 4, 2019
It's funny, clever, sometimes melancholy and often beautifully unsettling.
June 27, 2019
Save Me doesn't have to make big statements; it can just watch people be people.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5