The Firm - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Firm Reviews

Page 1 of 78
½ July 7, 2016
Customary slow moving of Pollack genre. It's firm in the beginning and in the latter part a runaway train.
½ July 1, 2016
Although seemingly bolstered down by sudden mood changes and it's formidable length, The Firm benefits from fantastic performances, a brilliant score and suspenseful mystery to it's story.

B
½ June 13, 2016
Fast paced action thriller never disappoints. Tom Cruise plays Harvard law graduate Mitch McDeer who is headhunted by a Memphis law firm who ultimately win him and his wife over. The honeymoon ends when Mitch discovers some disturbing secrets within the firm. The Firm is a classic law story that is easily the best Grisham adaptation to date.
May 19, 2016
Great movie - horrible score. The piano really aged this movie terribly, is very distracting and mood killing. Shame, because the movie itself was pretty good.
March 20, 2016
"The Firm" is drawn out and over complicated most of the time, but some parts are really intriguing.
I found myself either confused or bored for most of the movie. Regardless, I would recommend seeing since it's a classic, and some of the acting is very good.
February 12, 2016
This is one of those movies where the performances are so good you can overlook the plot implausibilities.
January 26, 2016
This movie isn't the greatest but Cruise is on point as usual and the supporting cast is solid especially Gene Hackman. I never found Jeanne Tripplehorn to be that attractive and I still don't. If it was maybe 20 minutes shorter that wouldn't be bad either.
½ January 16, 2016
A great suspense movie! Well acted, well put together. You really do feel scared for the characters. You gotta pay attention closely to get all the details, but it's worth it, because they build up an impossible situation for Cruise's character to overcome.
½ January 1, 2016
A good 90s thriller. Plot holes a plenty. But that's a given for any 90s film.
December 23, 2015
Tom Cruise plays Mitch McDeer in the movie adaptation of John Grisham's The Firm. Mitch is a hot lawyer with tons of promise and getting offers from all the top firms in the country. He manages to pick the worst one, a firm that is being back fitted by the mob. He must now use the law to save himself, his wife, and his brother to get his life back. The film is a decent adaptation of the book, but goes on way too long at 2.5 hours. The movie is a bit slow and does not have enough of a payoff to really be worth watching again.
Steve Grady
Super Reviewer
December 6, 2015
"The Firm" is a great Mystery and Suspense/Drama film of 1993. The acting in "The Firm" is amazing, the best acting is from "Tom Cruise" and "Gene Hackman". The plot to "The Firm" is great, towards the end it gets better and better, some scenes in the film are pointless/slow. Some of the music in "The Firm" isn't best suited for some scenes. I recommend you watch "The Firm" as it is a great Mystery and Suspense/Drama film of 1993. I give "The Firm" a 7.5/10.
November 21, 2015
Good movie had some cheese moments but also very good scenes when mitch bwats tge guy with a brief case funny shit movie violence
November 7, 2015
watchable, but really long
October 18, 2015
A handsomely made legal thriller with a couple of fine performances and suspenseful sequences. It is a little too long, but thankfully Sydney Pollack's smooth direction and Cruise's solid performance always keep the film going. The Firm is a thoroughly entertaining film.
½ October 4, 2015
A thrilling film. Loved the book, and this is an excellent adaptation of it. Worth seeing, even if you have to sit through a ton of lawyer-speak to understand what's going on.
½ September 12, 2015
Tom Cruise is not my favorite actor but in some movies he got something, with the other actors this movie has that something...just need a little bit more of suspense. And above all looks like any of that is happening in real world in these recently years or maybe always had been like that.
½ September 5, 2015
A well directed thriller with a fantastic performance from Tom Cruise,The Firm is a solid adaptation from the book, be it somewhat a bit too long, it nevertheless is an engaging film. Recommended.
½ September 5, 2015
It was a pretty weird movie
August 30, 2015
I very much did like the firm based on the john grisham best seller where tom cruise plays a law school graduate who joins a law firm in Memphis cruises character is unaware that the firm is corrupt and no one has ever left the firm alive. gene hackman,holly hunter,jeanne tripplehorn and ed also give good performances
August 26, 2015
brilliant film, the scene where Abby seducing Avery was really intense......To be more specific, i'd give this film a 4.1 out of 5, i didn't mind the long hours.
Page 1 of 78