Assassin's Creed - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Assassin's Creed Reviews

Page 1 of 9
June 1, 2017
Against all odds, with a quirky franchise and a team of star talent, Assassin's Creed succeeds at being an enjoyable action film -- and I walked out of my theater genuinely, truly excited about where the story could go.
April 3, 2017
"Assassin's Creed" doesn't allow us to hold the controller but you want to stay in the room to watch how the story unfolds.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
March 3, 2017
As I squinted at the screen, mentally parsing reams of exposition, trying to distinguish one character from the next, I wondered if playing the game for 150 hours would have helped. I have my doubts.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
March 1, 2017
Adapting video games was never easy but, honestly, Fassbender didn't manage to do so. [Full review in Spanish]
February 7, 2017
Assassin's Creed is neither better nor worse than the average adaptation of a video game; there's no doubt that the film has nice performances but it's mediocre, dumb, confusing, and even boring at times. [Full review in Spanish]
February 6, 2017
If you saw the trailers and liked what you saw, go ahead and just buy one of the older video games in the series used for $4.99.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/10
January 27, 2017
Justin Kurzel's movie is flawed in part and occasionally bewildering in its decisions, yet it has a distinct filmmaking philosophy that extends all the way through to its imperfect finale.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
January 24, 2017
Even though it has a good cast, 'Assassin's Creed' leaves the reasons why gamers love these characters in the way, presenting only a universe without soul and heart. [Full review in Spanish] 
January 24, 2017
The only good thing about the movie are the action choreographies, although there comes a point where they get exhausting. [Full review in Spanish]
January 20, 2017
... ultimately akin to a never-ending cutscene from a game you're never allowed to play.
Full Review | Original Score: Not Recommended
January 19, 2017
Despite a high-class cast, this fantasy-battle movie -- based on a video game series -- is disorienting, makes very little sense, and, worst of all, is a terrible, humorless bore.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
January 19, 2017
I have never seen a group of A-list actors look and act so disinterested.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/5
January 18, 2017
A self-contained story would have worked so much better and interesting, but the ambition for a blockbuster only leaves us with something that didn't manage to entertain at all. [Full review in Spanish]
January 18, 2017
A film that could have turned out better if it had dared to take advantage of the concept, the choreography and production design. [Full review in Spanish]
Full Review | Original Score: 4/10
January 18, 2017
In spite of its fails and superficial plot, the numerous action sequences, music and visuals are more than enough to keep the spectators entertained. [Full review in Spanish]
Full Review | Original Score: 6.5/10
January 13, 2017
Director Justin Kurzel adapts the eponymous violent video game and gets right to the point of religious and moral conflict in this postmodern, medieval, gothic sci-fi flick.
January 13, 2017
This time-tripping, sci-fi fantasy rarely rises above incoherence.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/10
January 12, 2017
The thrilling action sequences in medieval Spain provide a glimpse of how a less convoluted version could have played out. But whenever we're about to get lost in the action, Kurzel yanks us back into the present day for more hogwash.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
January 12, 2017
The filmmakers get a few points for effort but, in the end, Assassin's Creed is a failure.
January 12, 2017
An empty film (like most videogame-inspired movies) that makes a ridiculous critic on the management of power today. [Full review in Spanish]
Page 1 of 9