Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice Reviews

Aug 19, 2022
I had no problem following the story, understanding the motivations, or investing in the characters. I love that these heroes aren’t copy and pasted from past films. I had no problems with it being dark, serious, and humorless.
Apr 18, 2022
I want to see a great film about Batman fighting Superman, and I want to see a great film about the Justice League. Regrettably, this scattered, ambitious effort sets out to achieve too much and doesn't accomplish enough.
Jan 2, 2022
Sometimes it sins with its expository dialogues, some themes are halfway to develop, it can be a little slow... but none of these failures transform it into the misfortune that the critics have been commissioned to sell [Full review in Spanish]
Oct 9, 2021
The leads embody their characters despite creative shortcomings, and could hold up a strong Justice League if the franchise is given some new directorial talent...
Aug 27, 2021
Maybe the film industry is tapping into our culture's difficulty with intelligent and mature conflict resolution...
Aug 6, 2021
Unsatisfyingly curious.
Aug 5, 2021
Batman v Superman is almost unrelentingly dark, making the two-and-a-half hour movie tougher to get through than the lighter-toned Marvel movies. But it earns its superhero stripes thanks to great performances and some truly knockout action scenes.
Jun 24, 2021
At 2 hours and 33 minutes in length, the plot has some clear pacing issues. Too many ideas, whilst not enough happening.
Jun 8, 2021
Anticipated for decades, the grand punch-up between Superman, last son of Krypton, and Batman, lost son of Gotham, arrives not with great fanfare but with a big raspberry.
Mar 18, 2021
Altogether this is not a great film. It would not be incorrect to consider it a poor one. It is a poor film, however, with outstanding pieces in it.
Feb 28, 2021
Action-packed and epic, Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice delivers an unmissable fight between its title characters, and successfully deepens the mythology of the DC Universe as only Zack Snyder can.
Feb 10, 2021
Let's not make any bones about it - on any scale, Dawn of Justice is painful to watch.
Feb 3, 2021
There was a time when superhero movies were fun, escapist entertainment. But now our caped and cowled heroes are as dark and troubled as a reject from a Kafka novel which, in this case, makes for a rather loud but dreary night at the movies.
Feb 1, 2021
It would be nice if there was a moment of dialogue that allowed us to care about the heroes we look up to on the big screen.
Dec 4, 2020
It's bad enough that a single movie isn't big enough for both Batman and Superman; it's even worse that they must share the screen with Wonder Woman and several new villains.
Nov 20, 2020
Cinematography and editing were good. The CGI effects were not overly-done or poorly-executed and that was all this movie needed to be as entertaining and exciting as it was.
Sep 2, 2020
Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice is kind of wonderful in a steampunk meets industrial punk sort of way.
Jul 17, 2020
The ultimate edition is a superior version to the theatrical cut and certainly has restored my faith in the franchise.
Jul 13, 2020
This was a violent, miserable experience that only got worse the further it went.
Jul 3, 2020
Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice wants so badly to be an operatic modern mythological tale, but it mistakes great length for epic stature.
Do you think we mischaracterized a critic's review?