Blue Is The Warmest Color - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Blue Is The Warmest Color Reviews

Page 1 of 51
December 27, 2018
a good romance movie and the quotes were quite awesome
December 20, 2018
I was planning on seeing this movie and got really interested and I was planning on watching it on my own cause it's a gay lesbian romantic drama in foreign language as in French. This is not the first time I've ever seen a foreign film and it's not the first time I've seen an NC-17 rated film considering that it has a lot of sex which are very realistic. Adèle played by who else, Adèle Exarchopoulos, is interested in falling in love with the collage boy but then finds herself with a blue-haired woman called Emma played by Léa Seydoux. So those two fall in love, go to the gay bar and have sex. So the whole movie is in French and good thing it has subtitles just so I can know what they're saying otherwise I'll get confused and won't know was going on, so I'll have to look at the subtitles while watching and all is done. Considering the fact that it's three hours long, it is completely worth it. The story is really well written, the actors and actresses who are from France have acted fantastically including Léa Seydoux and Adèle Exarchopoulos who have great chemistry on screen. And blue is my favourite colour and it is the warmest color. I have never seen in independent film with foreign language is as fantastic as I've ever seen. I gotta say my mum had no idea. I told her that people have to learn different language someday and she says that how can I order a coffee in different language. People! What do you do with them? Blue Is the Warmest Color is an impeccable drama foreign film that I've enjoyed in my point of view.
November 6, 2018
This film was great!
October 14, 2018
It was an iconic movie about a lesbian relationship with all its aspects. It starts from exploration and goes into deep romance. After 3 hours I feel like I know these girls well. Beautifully made.
½ September 18, 2018
Impeccable love story.
½ September 11, 2018
This movie... Even if it is cast in the male gaze perspective, it hit me so hard emotionally. The French really know how to tear you apart. There is no real conclusion, but that is what adds to the tragedy in this film.
August 29, 2018
An absolutely wrenching film that traces in languorous fashion the passage from finding what you really want, making a mistake you not unreasonably underestimate the effect of, and then spend a LONG time regretting. The fairly explicit, arguably voyeuristic love scenes seem to serve the purpose of allowing us to see just how deep the passion runs between the two protagonists, and filmically parallels the long gaze we lay (or not) on works of fine (but stationary) art, and finds a dozen echoes in the intimate, voyeuristic scenes of physical heartbreak, of intellectual exchange, and of domestic life (among many others).

The film cleverly fails to answer a number of questions over how far Emma is less than a simple injured party - are Adele's suspicions entirely misplaced about her fidelity for instance? And the ending is horribly, beautifully unsatisfactory.

I hesitated about giving this five stars before I thought about this review and realised we are probably dealing with a modern masterpiece here. Not to mention the jaw-dropping brilliance of Adele Exarchopoulos's Oscar-worthy performance. Future critics may wonder with surprise and surmise as to why this film was not featured.
½ August 16, 2018
BLUE IS THE WARMEST COLOR is a raw, powerfully affecting and emotionally draining love story that is very well made and superbly acted by its two leads- especially Adele Exarchopoulos, who has arrived as one of the finest acting talents of my generation. She is so goddamned good in this film that if Cate Blanchett had not done BLUE JASMINE then this would have been the performance of 2013- and it is already one of the great performances of the decade, in my opinion.
July 24, 2018
the alternativeness bled through the screen and fell flat for me.
July 20, 2018
even though this film is soon long and in french - it was great to watch - Love the lead girl Adel. The director is great he really caputured realistic moments in this coming of age style love story. Adel is a star can't wait to to watch her in more movies pref in English :)
July 11, 2018
One word: painful. In every senses it can have.
½ July 3, 2018
This movie is a Masterpiece , literally a Higher Top of the best romances ever made, sadly the director has put sex like a Porn...
June 25, 2018
Raw, passionate, moving and beautifully acted. One of my all time favourite films.
May 23, 2018
An extraordinary film of such remarkable emotional power that it will stay with you for a long time afterwards. It's the story of a rare and incredibly passionate love. Don't be put off by comments relating to the length of the sex scenes or notions of exploitation; this picture is a profound piece of theatre that may leave you in pieces . . .
May 18, 2018
A touching love story exploring different aspects of the genre. There is not a dull moment, despite its three-hour length.
April 22, 2018
The best romance film I have ever seen!

A beautiful and intense take on lesbian love in a modern era with a very respectful and complex perspective on the issue. Lea & Adele give masterful performances demonstrating real emotion in every scene of this absolute masterpiece of film. The best romance drama film I have ever seen in my life!

Gorgeous cinematography, direction, colors, lighting, and environments build up the amazingly thoughtful script and the incredibly subtle acting performances of the two leading ladies. Lea & Adele have such loving chemistry and give the performances of a lifetime.

Blue Is the Warmest Color absolutely deserved and earned the Palme D'or at Cannes. This is a very faithful adaption of Julie Maroh's graphic novel Blue Is the Warmest Color with the exception of the ending, which I will not spoil. But I will say the emotional impact of this film left me with a similar emotional state as did the novel.

A harrowing tale of unrequited love, coming of age story, sexual curiosity and maturity, and the most profound and complex look at love as there has ever been captured on film. Artistic in style, while also being so totally relatable and personable in its portrayal.

I highly recommend Blue Is the Warmest Color.
April 20, 2018
Pornografia spacciata per cultura.
½ March 4, 2018
An unconventional love presented in the most conventional way. I found it boring and sometimes soporific. I liked how emotions passed through the characters, but that's all. It feels like there is no point in the whole film.
February 13, 2018
This very successful French movie narrates how Adèle's life is changed when she meets Emma, a young woman with blue hair, who will allow her to discover desire and to assert herself as a woman and as an adult. It is a coming-of-age story, which deals with loss, love and passion. Despite the controversies with the director, who was seemingly very hard to work with, the final product was fine, although it could have been shorter, that's for sure. Léa Seydoux and Adèle Exarchopoulos could have been nominated for an Oscar, but unfortunately there were problems with release dates. Anyway this film received many awards and a lot of critical acclaim.
½ January 5, 2018
French films are overrated. This is probably the "overratiest" of all.
Page 1 of 51