Blue Is The Warmest Color - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Blue Is The Warmest Color Reviews

Page 1 of 50
November 6, 2018
This film was great!
October 14, 2018
It was an iconic movie about a lesbian relationship with all its aspects. It starts from exploration and goes into deep romance. After 3 hours I feel like I know these girls well. Beautifully made.
½ September 18, 2018
Impeccable love story.
½ September 11, 2018
This movie... Even if it is cast in the male gaze perspective, it hit me so hard emotionally. The French really know how to tear you apart. There is no real conclusion, but that is what adds to the tragedy in this film.
August 29, 2018
An absolutely wrenching film that traces in languorous fashion the passage from finding what you really want, making a mistake you not unreasonably underestimate the effect of, and then spend a LONG time regretting. The fairly explicit, arguably voyeuristic love scenes seem to serve the purpose of allowing us to see just how deep the passion runs between the two protagonists, and filmically parallels the long gaze we lay (or not) on works of fine (but stationary) art, and finds a dozen echoes in the intimate, voyeuristic scenes of physical heartbreak, of intellectual exchange, and of domestic life (among many others).

The film cleverly fails to answer a number of questions over how far Emma is less than a simple injured party - are Adele's suspicions entirely misplaced about her fidelity for instance? And the ending is horribly, beautifully unsatisfactory.

I hesitated about giving this five stars before I thought about this review and realised we are probably dealing with a modern masterpiece here. Not to mention the jaw-dropping brilliance of Adele Exarchopoulos's Oscar-worthy performance. Future critics may wonder with surprise and surmise as to why this film was not featured.
½ August 16, 2018
BLUE IS THE WARMEST COLOR is a raw, powerfully affecting and emotionally draining love story that is very well made and superbly acted by its two leads- especially Adele Exarchopoulos, who has arrived as one of the finest acting talents of my generation. She is so goddamned good in this film that if Cate Blanchett had not done BLUE JASMINE then this would have been the performance of 2013- and it is already one of the great performances of the decade, in my opinion.
July 24, 2018
the alternativeness bled through the screen and fell flat for me.
July 20, 2018
even though this film is soon long and in french - it was great to watch - Love the lead girl Adel. The director is great he really caputured realistic moments in this coming of age style love story. Adel is a star can't wait to to watch her in more movies pref in English :)
July 11, 2018
One word: painful. In every senses it can have.
½ July 3, 2018
This movie is a Masterpiece , literally a Higher Top of the best romances ever made, sadly the director has put sex like a Porn...
June 25, 2018
Raw, passionate, moving and beautifully acted. One of my all time favourite films.
May 23, 2018
An extraordinary film of such remarkable emotional power that it will stay with you for a long time afterwards. It's the story of a rare and incredibly passionate love. Don't be put off by comments relating to the length of the sex scenes or notions of exploitation; this picture is a profound piece of theatre that may leave you in pieces . . .
May 18, 2018
A touching love story exploring different aspects of the genre. There is not a dull moment, despite its three-hour length.
April 22, 2018
The best romance film I have ever seen!

A beautiful and intense take on lesbian love in a modern era with a very respectful and complex perspective on the issue. Lea & Adele give masterful performances demonstrating real emotion in every scene of this absolute masterpiece of film. The best romance drama film I have ever seen in my life!

Gorgeous cinematography, direction, colors, lighting, and environments build up the amazingly thoughtful script and the incredibly subtle acting performances of the two leading ladies. Lea & Adele have such loving chemistry and give the performances of a lifetime.

Blue Is the Warmest Color absolutely deserved and earned the Palme D'or at Cannes. This is a very faithful adaption of Julie Maroh's graphic novel Blue Is the Warmest Color with the exception of the ending, which I will not spoil. But I will say the emotional impact of this film left me with a similar emotional state as did the novel.

A harrowing tale of unrequited love, coming of age story, sexual curiosity and maturity, and the most profound and complex look at love as there has ever been captured on film. Artistic in style, while also being so totally relatable and personable in its portrayal.

I highly recommend Blue Is the Warmest Color.
April 20, 2018
Pornografia spacciata per cultura.
½ March 4, 2018
An unconventional love presented in the most conventional way. I found it boring and sometimes soporific. I liked how emotions passed through the characters, but that's all. It feels like there is no point in the whole film.
February 13, 2018
This very successful French movie narrates how Adèle's life is changed when she meets Emma, a young woman with blue hair, who will allow her to discover desire and to assert herself as a woman and as an adult. It is a coming-of-age story, which deals with loss, love and passion. Despite the controversies with the director, who was seemingly very hard to work with, the final product was fine, although it could have been shorter, that's for sure. Léa Seydoux and Adèle Exarchopoulos could have been nominated for an Oscar, but unfortunately there were problems with release dates. Anyway this film received many awards and a lot of critical acclaim.
½ January 5, 2018
French films are overrated. This is probably the "overratiest" of all.
October 28, 2017
The film has a number of flaws, most of them related to a questionable indebtedness to cinema verite and its descendants. Shots go on too long; sex scenes are prurient rather than revealing, showing no more emotional depth than a clever editor could have shown in a quarter of the time. Scenes of dialogue establish characters over and over on the same territory without deepening our understanding of them. References to literature border on the pretentious: well-read people will know why the books and writers get mentioned, but it's a little too arch for my taste to name drop Sartre in the middle of a movie, like an intellectual product-placement.

Most importantly, it dabbles in the social politics of lesbianism just enough to raise the question of whether it intends to grapple with those politics. (It doesn't, conspicuously or originally.)

Against all that must be set the lead actresses, both of whom find unexpected nuance and truth in their performances. They are not presented as "lesbian types," and this saves the film from being boringly polemical. It's primarily a love story whose protagonists happen to check the "L" box. It seems them as people with complex and interesting selves, not merely complex and interesting sexuality. This makes it worth watching.
½ October 21, 2017
One of the best films I have seen in years. Compelling performances by the two young leads. Highly recommend.
Page 1 of 50