Blue Is The Warmest Color - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Blue Is The Warmest Color Reviews

Page 1 of 48
January 22, 2017
It's long, and perhaps much too stuffed with extended sexual content, but BITWC is a fascinating analyses on same-sex attraction, belonging in the same kind of exploratory category that Boyhood resides in. Although their were controversies over the relationship between the crew and director, the overall project ended up looking polished. While the acting was mesmerizing, particularly from both leads, I think the star of the film was controversial director Kechiche. He uses an insane amount of symbolism that really shows the effort he put into the movie, from color of clothes, to certain foods the lead characters order when they go to a restaurant.
½ January 19, 2017
The original story would be interesting and the acting of the two main characters is very good but... the director ruined everything by making this a pornographic movie, a real act of voyeurism from the first minute to the last, making it very uncomfortable to watch because, dear director, not everybody is a dirty voyeur like you! I feel very sorry and embarrassed for the two actresses that had to go through the filming of this movie. But you, director, certainly had a lot of fun watching them... such a shame...
½ January 18, 2017
You can find better directors on Youporn
January 17, 2017
Great performances. I looked up their bios because they were so good. Howver, I liked the first time they made love but thougnt the seccond time was unecessary. The book author wasn't happy with too much sex bordering on porn. It was overkill. The criticism that they cast non-lesbians might be valid esp. for the sex scenes but the 2 actresses had a chemistry that was very sensual and real. You would never see this in the US. Foreign movies have less hang-ups than American ones. The fact that this was done so movingly and not rough make it appealing. I liked the different angle and close-up cinematography shots of Adele. I liked her messy hair. Will tell my friends. I saw it on TV through Netflix. Saw it was a French film and I lived in Paris when I was 19 so love the French language and films.
January 17, 2017
The most graceful, and stunningly beautiful film I have ever seen!
It is so pure and heartfelt and heart aching, that in the end you feel either a glass half empty or full. In other words you are angry that things weren't okay with the characters, or you find out there is hope for our poor Adele.
January 6, 2017
Zlatna Palma vo Kan 2013
December 27, 2016
Powerful, moving, coming of age film, superbly acted. Hardly puts a foot wrong. One of the finest films of the last ten years.
December 18, 2016
France is a unique city with a unique culture. It is also home to what many call the city of love Paris. So its only fitting that Something like Blue is the warmest color take place there. One of the most extensive, honest, real romance stories one can see in this decade of the 2010's. Lea Seydoux, and Adele excharpolous bring to life two women who teach each other about love, life and happiness. Director abdellatif Kechiche gives viewers one incredible story.
The movie begins with Adele as a young teenager who does well in school but doesn't quite know who she truly is. At the same time her sexual desires are flaring at an alarming rate. She tries out a relationship with a guy which doesn't work out but then one day she meets a blue haired girl named emma who changes her life. The movie explores their relationship and all the trials and tribulations that come with it as they both come of age.
Kechiche brings to life this story that is raw but done in an honest fashion. Through his writing in this script and his directing, he shows every bit of what makes desire, freedom, love and passion, and heartbreak so important in everyone's lives. he even sprinkles in some philosophy and extensionalism in here to show that's a bit more than just a lesbian romance film. There are so many motifs in here such as Blue, Food, music, and of course sexuality and all its forms.
adele exharplous performance is incredible! she has this incredibly genuine look of curiosity that she nails everytime. She showcases a true coming of age with her character and takes us on a slow but meaningful journey into the teenage angst and later full grown woman-hood. she is a young French beauty looking to define herself in some kind of way and it was breath taking to see. lea seydoux is outstanding! her acting was subtle but their purpose behind every facial experession the tone of voice and how she provided a unique and colorful aura of mystery to this woman. Blue is an alluring color and she is the embodiment of that here. Like adele she also is looking to have a fulfilling life. The breakup scene is the standout for her here. this is without a doubt seydoux best role of her career so far.
For me it was a beautiful display of French culture and why its one of the most romantic places in the world. The film is sexy, and intoxicating at times to watch. despite its 3 hour time limit the director hooks you with excellently timed moments that are crucial to the plot. it remded me of boyhood a bit as we see these ladies go from being girls to women in a methodically paced story.
its very artsy too especially with all the closeup shots. The scene were adele and emma are together and looking at each other you can paint a distinct picture and can use over a thousand words to describe what they are feeling and iminating towards each other.
This ladies and gentlemen is a really solid French picture, one of the best I've ever seen from the country.
December 9, 2016
One of the greatest love stories of our time and all-time or just movies period.
½ November 21, 2016
fantastic honest film, really impressive
October 30, 2016
Beautiful movie with very real emotions, but anti-climactic, with flat, semi-developed characters. Even so, the actors really gave their best performance and if it wasn't for them, the script could be a huge failure.
½ October 26, 2016
As a rough, sexually explicit, and slightly punk-ish modern love story, Blue is the Warmest Color might seem like an unlikely film to be awarded the prestigious Palm D'or certificate at this year's Cannes Film Festival. On the other hand though, it has all the elements of a genuinely great film ostensibly on point, from adept pacing to elegant camera work that makes use of both distance and extreme close-ups, but most importantly it's the chemistry between the two stunning lead actresses that has awarded this "teen" movie so much attention. Léa Seydoux and Adèle Exarchopoulos are sexy and joyful in the most honest way, especially in regards to the latter. Exarchopoulos is in literally every scene of this three-hour film, and her performance makes us intrigued by her every movement, and seek out character development through the most subtle of moves. Much talk has been made about the film's explicit and lengthy sex scenes since its premiere, and it is not without reason to call them gratuitous or even pornographic, but still, they work within the film's realistic sense of young love, and may even go down as huge strides for queer cinema's acceptance into the mainstream. Few romantic films are as epic and ambitious as this one, and while at times Blue is the Warmest Color is a bit more conventional than it may act, it's just too sublime as a whole to give its flaws any major thought. A wonderful film, that will easily stand among the year's best.
October 25, 2016
A gorgeously shot human experience drama that makes great use of close angles. Most of the movie is focused on Adèle's face and invites the viewer to read her emotions as she is affected by her environment. The dialogue is very human and adds to the anxiety and believability of the atmosphere. The sex scenes are necessary, but the first encounter between Adèle and Lea is poorly paced and just seems to drag on for far too long. Almost to the point where eroticism gives way to comedy.
October 15, 2016
Los franceses no andan con mates muestran la realidad a como es. Excelentes actuaciones. Lo único que demasiado larga para una historia simple.
½ October 10, 2016
It's easy to get enchanted by the emotional deepness that Léa Seydoux and Adèle Exarchopoulos manage to give with their amazing chemistry.
For sure one of the top romantic dramas of the year.
September 19, 2016
beautiful in its reflections .. felt like it could be even more subtle. A few moments or expressions that were too direct & explicit - like it was meant for camera than in life. Still, a gorgeous film in its connection .. & Seydoux looks so different, amazing. Also, loophole about why they didn't see that Emma was at fault too .. that ending, dissatisfying.
August 26, 2016
horrible. dunno why anyone was even into it
August 25, 2016
This movie has received justifiably good reviews. It was shown on TV earlier in the year and I have been reluctant to sit down with Eleanor to watch three hours of teenage lesbian romance with lots of nudity and explicit sex. However: this is an extraordinary movie with tremendous central performances. Adele Exarchopoulos is at the heart of it, with a good third of the film focussing in closeup on her face as she experiences her first deeply passionate romantic relationship. We watched it in three sittings which made the length more acceptable.
½ August 24, 2016
First of all I loved the ending.... I wish it came about 90 minutes earlier but whatever. Sometimes in life we're just always going in the wrong direction and sometimes we never get out of the stages of grief. "Blue is the Warmest Color" is an intimate look on passion, love, and many other emotions. It takes a lot of energy to watch as the intensity is unlike most movies. This French film is fine but flawed. You can't watch this tired. Best viewed in segments.
½ August 18, 2016
I finally saw this film because of all the noise around it. What a shame. Lea Seydoux can't act, dialogues are bland, philosophical references are real travesties and the worst of it: more graphic scenes are not passionate at, they are simply unwatchable. It feels like you're watching a X rated movie when you're seeing a Cannes-selected thing. A very hyped and overated movie which ends up being an arrogant effort, very far from the spot.
Page 1 of 48