Boogie Nights - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Boogie Nights Reviews

Page 1 of 324
½ July 23, 2016
I feel if a movie is going to go past the 2 hour mark, and especially if it's going to go past the 2 and a half hour mark, it better have a damn good reason for doing so. I don't really know that Boogie Nights does. Every character has an arc, there's tons of stuff going on, and a lot of it feel could ultimately be cut out. It feels like a really long script that never got cut down. I love the idea of a film set in the porn industry, since it's such a bizarre world to explore, but I don't think it needed to be this much of an epic.
Having said that, there's nothing in the movie I didn't like, I just felt like there was too much of all of it and it kind of overstayed its welcome. But I still liked it all. I liked Wahlberg's story of a rising porn star, I loved Burt Reynolds as the legendary porn producer, I liked the journey through the decades of porn from the golden age to the modern age, and it had enough heartfelt drama to keep me invested while still being just an all-around fun movie that I really just plain enjoyed. It's a damn entertaining movie that given a few cuts could have been damn near perfect, but as it stands its overlong pacing issues keep it from greatness. I didn't love it, but I came very close. I really really liked it.
Super Reviewer
June 22, 2016
Very interesting look into the late 1970s and early 1980s pornography industry. The drugs and sex are very much a part of this film. Mark Wahlberg, Julianne Moore, and Burt Reynolds are all excellent in this film. The script is very well written and gives us a very clear trajectory for Dirk Diggler (Wahlberg) throughout the film that ends very appropriately.
½ May 30, 2016
Paul Thomas Anderson's controversial film Boogie Nights remains great to this day. The raunchy subject material is handled in a sleazy, raw kind of way-- exactly what was intended. Character development is surprisingly good, and the direction is excellent. Haters of the film most likely can't handle the pornographic material. But, the movie captures the 70s porn scene very well, and the film is excellent, albeit a little too long.
May 26, 2016
Boogie Nights plays well with our juices and imagination till the last second when it appears to reveal its big deal but it is nothing close to our big imagination.
½ May 20, 2016
"Boogie Nights" is a conventional cycle of stardom story told against the backdrop an unlikely industry. It also flaunts a talented cast, and stand out direction from Paul Thomas Anderson.
May 19, 2016
Fantastic performances all around, and Paul Thomas Anderson's direction is flawless. The film paints a vivid and complex picture of the adult film industry in the '70s, and it takes the subject matter seriously and masterfully. The only downside is that the movie is a little too busy at times and could've done without a few of the characters and their subplots.
May 6, 2016
My Favorite Film Of All Time Is 1941's Citizen Kane.
April 17, 2016
A feature laced with excellent performances from its outstanding ensemble cast, Paul Thomas Anderson's fully realized vision of the porn industry is realistic to the point of disbelief and thoroughly rewarding for those who can last the lead character's tough journey.
April 16, 2016
Filled with great performances from all the actors and directed brilliantly this film looks at the porn industry and what happens after the cameras are off great film 4/5
½ April 12, 2016
Insightful, fun, and emotional. Boogie Nights give the viewer a peak behind the curtain of a taboo business that informs, entertains, and follows diverse and well-written characters that are an absolute blast to watch. Boogie Nights is "PIMP!!!"
April 9, 2016
Paul Thomas Anderson's porn epic is a masterpiece of film making. hysterical dark comedy blends with graphic realistic sex scenes and perfect characters to create a really fascinating and mind blowing character study. The acting is sharp, the writing is spot on, the directing is masterful, the cinematography is beautiful, and the way character arcs turn out is very satisfactory, if not disturbing. very very very smart movie and a great introduction to Paul Thomas Anderson.
March 29, 2016
A hugely-ambitious work that brings together a brilliant cast (okay, so Wahlberg may not always be brilliant but he really is here!) and beautifully intricate and convincing characters who all exist in the same vacuum of boobies and 70's 'staches.

Certainly the closest that Paul Thomas Anderson ever came to really being similar to Tarantino and, whilst I'm glad that he went his own way, I must say that this one is right up there with the likes of Pulp Fiction when it comes to stories jam-packed with engaging characters and some action to boot.

There's a strong mix of comedy and drama, with neither ever being shoved in your face. Instead you are just kept constantly interested as you watch each character move through the motions, with Anderson kindly giving them all a shining moment in there somewhere.

Of course, the downside to this kind of approach is that so much goes on over the course of two and a half hours that you may find yourself wishing that a little more had hit the cutting-room floor.

Still, there aren't many serious films about the porn industry. There also aren't many films with Don Cheadle selling stereos whilst dressed as a cowboy (there's only this one, in fact). Most importantly though, there aren't many films that can string together so many unique and interesting characters, allow them to live within such an odd and niche world, and still leave you feeling like no-one was shortchanged- neither the characters, nor the viewer.
February 7, 2016
The movie Martin Scorsese never made. Instead taken at the helm by Paul Thomas Anderson, who just might be the director to beat, "Boogie Nights" takes its audience on a raunchy, heartstopping, and perilous ride that turns you on and leaves you shocked for hours after its conclusion.
½ February 6, 2016
Yet another masterpiece from Paul Thomas Anderson.
January 30, 2016
Great characters. Great performances. The tone is perfect. A masterpiece of a sad farce. Note the 5 stars. I'm not gonna get into it that much.
½ January 29, 2016
They almost got it right. Then, they completely. One of the biggest and wholly issues that I have with this film is the last half or less. Absolutely worthless and garbage and could have been thrown out. For lack of a better reasoning and to avoid spoiling, when the film shifts gears with the characters' focus in the '80s, the film goes completely downward.

Basically, it gets really boring and includes a lot of pointless details that could have been removed which doesn't help the need for resuscitation of an already long film. Acting, excellent. Music, great. Character development, great. Acting choice, brilliant. The cast was nailed perfectly the film flows very nicely, pacing is great. The film is considered a comedy drama, but I barely noticed the comedy because the drama was so overwhelming. It's a very interesting and good film and is for the most part, highly recommend by me.
January 22, 2016
One of the most memorable and profound stories about family ever made. "Boogie Nights" is all style and slick, sexy but original fun on the surface, yet manages to tell a story focused on each one of its many delightfully hilarious and heartbreaking characters as authentically as Robert Altman underneath it all. Yes, Paul Thomas Anderson is ripping off some other directors here, the master Altman as mentioned, as well as Scorsese with his whip-pans and musical sequences with long takes, but he manages to take all those inspirations and story motives and craft something all his own together here. It's the film that shows you what it's really like to have a voice as a writer/director. Not many films come close to this one for me, and there's not a single moment that drags in its enthralling long running time.
January 16, 2016
One of the only good Wahlberg performances, and this one was by far the best. Extremely entertaining and packed with future stars, Boogie Nights is bold and brilliant.
½ January 4, 2016
I better keep this short. Boogie Nights is a movie that is not for me. This gave me the same feeling I get when I watch a gangster movie. What I mean is, about 30 minutes in I start to ask myself questions like "Am I supposed to care about these people??" "Why would I ever want to spend two and a half hours in their world??" Others can go ahead and enjoy it, I am not programmed right to find this entertaining.
½ December 24, 2015
Whenever someone mentions this movie, I chuckle. Not because of the obvious nature of the film; but by how awesome it is. It is a masterpiece. The directing, music, script, and the superb cast make this movie what it is. I can't help but feel that this movie is alive when watching it as it's been filmed at that very moment. It makes me recall 'Pulp Fiction' when I first watched it. I'm not that huge of a Mark Wahlberg fan but this movie proves he can act. Burt Reynolds is amazing as the sleazy director. Julianne Moore is sensational as the drug addicted mother; the Academy dropped the ball on not giving her the award that night. My only complaint is the third act when the 1980's start and it kinda loses it's momentum but it's a small nitpick in a great film. It's literally one of my favorite movies of all time.
Page 1 of 324