Boogie Nights - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Boogie Nights Reviews

Page 1 of 324
½ January 23, 2017
Big stuff here. Big stuff
January 23, 2017
One of Paul Thomas Anderson's better movies, though it still is full of his usual faults - overly long, too many characters, redundant sequences and an over-the-top and completely obvious commentary and message. It's mildly entertaining, has some really funny scenes and features some great performances, but it never finds a balance or gains a focus on what its tone is, and the camera work is average at best.
January 22, 2017
Loved this as a kid. Very entertaining with a great cast.
January 16, 2017
Bold, emotional, hilarious and unforgettable. This '90s masterpiece takes the classic rise and fall story, but plays with it in the '70s porn industry and pairs it with strong and ambitious themes. An extremely talented ensemble cast delivers a plethora of skillful performances. Paul Thomas Anderson is a master and he hit an amazing creative stride very early on in his career with this near flawless character study.

This film, however, studies the porn industry as a kind of single collective character. It's shallow, vain, na├┬»ve, and relatively unintelligent, but we see that these are human beings with aspirations and goals in life, people that are capable of love.
½ January 15, 2017
Leave it to Paul Thomas Anderson to make a movie about the porn industry into a funny, dark, effecting drama.
½ January 10, 2017
Favorite Mark Wahlberg movie (except Lone Survivor).
January 9, 2017
With a solid plot, skillful cinematography, a great soundtrack, three dimensional characters and the committed efforts of a talented cast, Boogie Nights is a 90s masterpiece.
December 28, 2016
Another one of those films that succeeds in every way a piece of cinema could: unique, compelling voice for the director Paul Thomas Anderson, intense and madly entertaining performances from an all-star cast (many of which were made into stars, thanks to the movie's critical and commercial success), and a story worth all two-and-a-half hours of your time. Boogie Nights has a suave, sexy presentation of the lives of a pornographic film studio and the business its filmmakers, actors, crew members, and executives indulge in. Hilarity ensues at its most cocaine-induced moments, but most of the time, we see our characters in their most sobering and desperate moments. And there are far too many spoilers associated with such moments to tell here. P.T. Anderson is the true star, though you may not be able to tell right away. He is superbly crafty in NOT showing us everything -- in the storytelling, what characters are thinking / feeling, cinematography. This engages the audience in filling in the blanks, which, for all of the horrific events that occur in the movie, was very fun for me. Anderson fills in enough of the blanks to tell a story clear enough for a first-time viewing; this being the second time I have seen this, I am grateful to have discovered new secrets and characteristics of the cast, and I look forward to further discoveries for the next time I see this. And there will be a next time.
November 30, 2016
The film does a good job in humanizing people who are usually demonized or objectified.
½ November 16, 2016
The Porno industry, following big-willie Wahlberg into an adventure of making movies with passion. Reynolds is very great, with great charisma leading a scene with a vision, though no talent. Success turns to cocaine, cocaine turns to the fall.
September 25, 2016
Energising and brilliantly shot. Boogie Night's performances and writing makes this a memorable late night classic.
September 24, 2016
Paul Thomas Anderson's porn epic is a masterpiece of film making. hysterical dark comedy blends with graphic realistic sex scenes and perfect characters to create a really fascinating and mind blowing character study. The acting is sharp, the writing is spot on, the directing is masterful, the cinematography is beautiful, and the way character arcs turn out is very satisfactory, if not disturbing. very very very smart movie and a great introduction to Paul Thomas Anderson.
September 21, 2016
The movie that made me want to become a filmmaker and my personal favorite film of all time.
September 12, 2016
What I love most about Boogie Nights, besides the entertaining cast and direction from P.T. Anderson, is how believable and well written these characters are. The journey we take through their lives over the course of 7 years, through the highs & lows, is just great storytelling.
September 11, 2016
REVIEW #200! Boogie Nights is a great satire on drugs and porn in which a casual industry of porn movies finds itself in a paradox enforcing casual products but at the same time requiring a formal and disciplined production process caught up by Mark Wahlberg's character's irresponsibility landing him into desperate poverty and Don Cheadle's character realizing that he is disqualified from earning business loans for this.
½ September 6, 2016
Boogie Nights is writer/director, Paul Thomas Anderson's breakthrough film, following the ins and outs of the pornography industry (awful pun intended) told through the eyes of an up-and-coming "performer" played by Mark Wahlberg. Wahlberg plays a young, aspiring dishwasher, with an extra special appendage, who is recruited by a famed porno director, played with Oscar-winning perfection by Burt Reynolds, who then makes him the next big star of the porno world with his now-iconic stage name, Dirk Diggler. It may not sound like much, but this is an excellent film due to the hilarious, and very believable script, the memorable characters, awesome soundtrack and phenomenal camerawork. The film boasts a huge cast: Julianne Moore, John C. Reilly, Philip Seymour Hoffman, Luiz Guzman, Heather Graham, Don Cheadle, and William H. Macy, who are all given their moment to shine and breathe energetic life into their individual characters. The film spans through the 70s and 80s as styles change, people change, and their industry is affected by the advances in technology such as VHS tapes which make porno theaters obsolete. None is more affected by the changes around him than Dirk Diggler, who grows arrogant due to his fame and ultimately follows the wrong path involving himself with drugs, violence, and prostitution. Boogie Nights is not so much about the plot, but the many characters and subplots that inhabit this world and their day-to-day interactions are mesmerizing to watch. The film is a bit long, but I highly recommend sticking it out all the way to the end, for no better reason than finally seeing what made Dirk a star; arguably the film's most famous scene.
September 2, 2016
It's a bit long, but Boogie Nights does a good job of portraying an admittedly familiar tale of the rise and fall of those rapidly achieving great success with little guidance, all while tackling an interesting and not often portrayed subject.
½ August 15, 2016
Boogie Nights is definitely a niche film. You need to have an understanding of what you are getting into when you begin. Yes, this movie takes place in the 70's and 80's and yes, it is about the porn industry. I really enjoyed how characters were woven into the story and expanded upon. I most definitely plan on re-watching this in the future.
½ July 23, 2016
I feel if a movie is going to go past the 2 hour mark, and especially if it's going to go past the 2 and a half hour mark, it better have a damn good reason for doing so. I don't really know that Boogie Nights does. Every character has an arc, there's tons of stuff going on, and a lot of it feel could ultimately be cut out. It feels like a really long script that never got cut down. I love the idea of a film set in the porn industry, since it's such a bizarre world to explore, but I don't think it needed to be this much of an epic.
Having said that, there's nothing in the movie I didn't like, I just felt like there was too much of all of it and it kind of overstayed its welcome. But I still liked it all. I liked Wahlberg's story of a rising porn star, I loved Burt Reynolds as the legendary porn producer, I liked the journey through the decades of porn from the golden age to the modern age, and it had enough heartfelt drama to keep me invested while still being just an all-around fun movie that I really just plain enjoyed. It's a damn entertaining movie that given a few cuts could have been damn near perfect, but as it stands its overlong pacing issues keep it from greatness. I didn't love it, but I came very close. I really really liked it.
Super Reviewer
June 22, 2016
Very interesting look into the late 1970s and early 1980s pornography industry. The drugs and sex are very much a part of this film. Mark Wahlberg, Julianne Moore, and Burt Reynolds are all excellent in this film. The script is very well written and gives us a very clear trajectory for Dirk Diggler (Wahlberg) throughout the film that ends very appropriately.
Page 1 of 324