Boogie Nights - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Boogie Nights Reviews

Page 1 of 325
July 29, 2017
#1 best movie ever made, no flaws perfect story of fame and deception
½ July 8, 2017
Im usually not a fan of erotic porno films but there are two exceptions, one is Stanley Kubrick's Eyes Wide Shut, the other is Paul Thomas Anderson's Boogie Nights.
June 30, 2017
Un peu long par moments.
June 26, 2017
My Favorite Film Of All Time Is 1941's Citizen Kane.
June 14, 2017
A film made up of an ensemble of incredibly stupid characters, that all manage to captivate, and present themselves as (somehow) endearing. I've seen "Boogie Nights" listed under every genre imaginable on various different websites and store shelves. To me it's always been a very dark and intense comedy, but I can see how it works as a straight-up drama for some people. It manages to cover a lot of different moods and tones without feeling scattered, and the soundtrack feels intoxicatingly upbeat. The story is phenomenal, and P. T Anderson's imagination seems to have been non-stop when it came to the events and situations the characters find themselves in. But, as with most of the writer/director's films, the characters are the biggest source of intrigue here. As I mentioned before, they're all really dumb. Some more than others, but they're all quite dumb. But they're also passionate and have an obvious desire to love someone or something, and it makes them sympathetic and engaging to watch on screen. The performances here are nothing short of fantastic. The film also portrays the passages of the decade or so it takes place over with an extreme attention to detail. It's very believable, and incredibly atmospheric. It's not hard to understand why "Boogie Nights" is a classic. It's an absolute masterpiece.
May 6, 2017
170505: Though I've enjoyed a bit of adult film in my life, this based upon a true story rendering of the 70s-80s porn industry and John Holmes does nothing for me. In fact, I did not find it very funny and, other than the optimistic ending, it was a rather depressing look at a bunch of messed up people. I've always heard about the problems associated with the early years of the boom and this film doesn't hide them. It's ugly at times and I saw no glory held within, regardless of the income. Anyway, Boogie Nights is not bad; it was just not to my tastes.
April 29, 2017
For more than an hour we are seduced by glitz, glamour, dance, joy, fun, games, music - it's a trip. The second hour is arguably another genre, radically turning on us as the consequences of falling from a peak are met.

Mark Wahlberg is sensational; incredibly focused, vivid in his portrayal, consistent to the attitudes of the story, but always entertaining. He gives the fight with his mom a comical twist that could hardly be given any direction beyond what the performance must intuitively know in order to get that idea across; he's determinedly present. In the faux coke-dealing scene at Rahad's (Alfred Molina), there's this hopeless gaze that comes over his face as he realizes the impasse of his circumstance, which we all feel as an audience; the situation is absurd, and the odds of escape don't look good. Look at his eyes, they numb over, each moving off in different directions - I'd imagine that could only happen to a person caught in such a situation in real life, but to act this seems impossible. He also develops a strong independent activity in the form of a few karate moves that thread him through key points of the picture, including a hilarious award ceremony, and a brilliant homage to Raging Bull's ending in front of the mirror. Watching Eddie develop as Dirk Diggler, one gets the sense that as we are all truly born to do something in life, most definitely Eddie is a pornographic godsend.

I love that this giant 13" protrusion in Dirk's pants is left to the imagination until the very end of the picture. My compliments to the whole third act finale, which neatly tied up everyone's story in a way that so many films frustratingly leave unresolved. It's really perfect, and a nice little comeback from some pretty awful circumstances. It makes the film less judgmental, that we could get behind these characters and actually see them end up okay, a nice little family.

Anderson's staging is amongst the best in the history of the craft, with long camera moves, but no wasted space between tracking/dolly moves, quickly picking up the action of the next set of characters, getting into their vibe, their story, and getting a sense of how interconnected everybody is.

What an amazing cast all around. Don Cheadle as Buck Swope achieves a total presence through the relation of his various appearances, the 80s New Years party Rick James look being my favorite. This is when everything is budding for changes, including Buck and the girl who will eventually be by his side - they are losing interest in this business and want to do something more legitimate. A new mustached character is introduced, one who will lead Dirk and Reed down a dark, godforsaken path. And then there's the culmination of Little Bill's (William H Macy) crisis with his cuckolding wife, which perfectly transitions us into the next phase of the film.
½ April 1, 2017
The story-telling is quite attractive.
March 24, 2017
Really captures the feel, and the look of the 70's. I also love how PT Anderson doesn't preach about how drugs are bad. Or how sex is bad. He just tells a story. One of my all time favorite movies.
March 12, 2017
Classic 90's movie. Mark Walhberg is great as Diggler
Super Reviewer
March 5, 2017
An unsettling film about what goes on in the pornography industry. Wahlberg plays a young rising star in the industry trying to make a living in this dark world. It's a little overrated, aside from an interesting subject, the film itself has very little to offer.
February 24, 2017
a brilliant movie funny and dramatic
February 11, 2017
Bold, emotional, hilarious and unforgettable. This '90s masterpiece takes the classic rise and fall story, but plays with it in the '70s porn industry and pairs it with strong and ambitious themes. An extremely talented ensemble cast delivers a plethora of skillful performances. Paul Thomas Anderson is a master and he hit an amazing creative stride very early on in his career with this near flawless character study.

This film, however, studies the porn industry as a kind of single collective character. It's shallow, vain, na├├,┬»ve, and relatively unintelligent, but we see that these are human beings with aspirations and goals in life, people that are capable of love.
January 29, 2017
5 out of 5 stars! This was a really great film! My kind of film! A really powerful, harrowing, yet fun, original and interesting tale. I wish I had seen it sooner, but I'm so happy I finally got around to it! I really like stories that focus on the 70s as it seemed like such an interesting, exciting, and transitional time period for the world, music, film, and the culture at large. This conveyed a lot of that very well.
½ January 26, 2017
I don't know why I've put off seeing this for so long, it's absolutely awesome. The pacing of this movie makes the 2:30 run time feel short and in the end I was ready to keep watching more. From super fun and light-hearted to dark and extremely tense this movie runs the gamut of emotion.
½ January 23, 2017
Big stuff here. Big stuff
January 23, 2017
One of Paul Thomas Anderson's better movies, though it still is full of his usual faults - overly long, too many characters, redundant sequences and an over-the-top and completely obvious commentary and message. It's mildly entertaining, has some really funny scenes and features some great performances, but it never finds a balance or gains a focus on what its tone is, and the camera work is average at best.
January 22, 2017
Loved this as a kid. Very entertaining with a great cast.
½ January 15, 2017
Leave it to Paul Thomas Anderson to make a movie about the porn industry into a funny, dark, effecting drama.
½ January 10, 2017
Favorite Mark Wahlberg movie (except Lone Survivor).
Page 1 of 325