Boogie Nights - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Boogie Nights Reviews

Page 1 of 325
November 25, 2017
Interesting film that slipped under the radar on its release in 1997.
The premise seems rather unfashionable. The late 1970s adult entertainment industry.
The main star is Mark Wahlberg who begins the film in 1977 as teenager Eddie Adams. His life is literally a car crash. Further education is really not his forte rather fornication is!
No what I mean is he becomes adult entertainment star Dirk Diggler. Under the direction of Jack Horner (Burt Reynolds) he becomes a top porn star.
The film isn't a porn fest rather it shoes the rapid rise of Diggler and the equally rapid fall due to drug misuse and age as the film focuses on the 1980s.
Featuring an excellent soundtrack of my childhood including the likes of 99 Red Balloons!
The cast is quite good including the already mentioned Wahlberg and Reynolds. Julianne Moore, the late Philip Seymour Hoffman and William H. Macy who suffers a shocking end to the 1970s.
Directed by young filmmaker Paul Thomas Anderson the 155 minute runtime is enjoyable.
November 22, 2017
Brimming with energy, fantastic characters and a strong, heartfelt story that discusses a genre of film that isn't talked about, Boogie Nights is a masterpiece.

5/5 stars
November 5, 2017
8,5/10

Not since Scorsese' Goodfellas have the exhilaration of success and uncontrolable madness of defeat been captured this vividly in cinema.
½ October 28, 2017
One of the best PTA movies.
October 21, 2017
Boogie Nights is a big coming out party for Paul Thomas Anderson and Mark Wahlberg. The cast is stacked with Reynolds, Moore, Reilly, Graham, Cheadle, and more adding to the film. It is missing some needed backstory on the man who becomes Dirk Diggler, and ends with a mixed message on the porn industry.
½ October 5, 2017
There isn't a single bad performance in this movie. There isn't a single major narrative flaw in this movie. So why not 5 stars instead of 4 1/2? Because the porno scene is so uncomfortable and difficult to watch that it somewhat brings the rest of the movie down. However, this is the original work of an auteur by the name of PT Anderson and he's had a 20 year hot streak since this gem.
½ September 17, 2017
Funny and entertaining but too long.
½ September 16, 2017
Boogie Night is about finding your family with porn industry as a theme.
August 29, 2017
As much ink was spilled (or something other than ink, hehehe) over Burt Reynolds' work, this was really Mark Wahlberg's iconic performance. PT Anderson elevated what could have been B-movie sleaze to pop art and tragedy. Amazing.
August 22, 2017
I wish six stars was and option.
July 29, 2017
#1 best movie ever made, no flaws perfect story of fame and deception
½ July 8, 2017
Im usually not a fan of erotic porno films but there are two exceptions, one is Stanley Kubrick's Eyes Wide Shut, the other is Paul Thomas Anderson's Boogie Nights.
June 30, 2017
Un peu long par moments.
June 26, 2017
My Favorite Film Of All Time Is 1941's Citizen Kane.
June 14, 2017
A film made up of an ensemble of incredibly stupid characters, that all manage to captivate, and present themselves as (somehow) endearing. I've seen "Boogie Nights" listed under every genre imaginable on various different websites and store shelves. To me it's always been a very dark and intense comedy, but I can see how it works as a straight-up drama for some people. It manages to cover a lot of different moods and tones without feeling scattered, and the soundtrack feels intoxicatingly upbeat. The story is phenomenal, and P. T Anderson's imagination seems to have been non-stop when it came to the events and situations the characters find themselves in. But, as with most of the writer/director's films, the characters are the biggest source of intrigue here. As I mentioned before, they're all really dumb. Some more than others, but they're all quite dumb. But they're also passionate and have an obvious desire to love someone or something, and it makes them sympathetic and engaging to watch on screen. The performances here are nothing short of fantastic. The film also portrays the passages of the decade or so it takes place over with an extreme attention to detail. It's very believable, and incredibly atmospheric. It's not hard to understand why "Boogie Nights" is a classic. It's an absolute masterpiece.
May 6, 2017
170505: Though I've enjoyed a bit of adult film in my life, this based upon a true story rendering of the 70s-80s porn industry and John Holmes does nothing for me. In fact, I did not find it very funny and, other than the optimistic ending, it was a rather depressing look at a bunch of messed up people. I've always heard about the problems associated with the early years of the boom and this film doesn't hide them. It's ugly at times and I saw no glory held within, regardless of the income. Anyway, Boogie Nights is not bad; it was just not to my tastes.
April 29, 2017
For more than an hour we are seduced by glitz, glamour, dance, joy, fun, games, music - it's a trip. The second hour is arguably another genre, radically turning on us as the consequences of falling from a peak are met.

Mark Wahlberg is sensational; incredibly focused, vivid in his portrayal, consistent to the attitudes of the story, but always entertaining. He gives the fight with his mom a comical twist that could hardly be given any direction beyond what the performance must intuitively know in order to get that idea across; he's determinedly present. In the faux coke-dealing scene at Rahad's (Alfred Molina), there's this hopeless gaze that comes over his face as he realizes the impasse of his circumstance, which we all feel as an audience; the situation is absurd, and the odds of escape don't look good. Look at his eyes, they numb over, each moving off in different directions - I'd imagine that could only happen to a person caught in such a situation in real life, but to act this seems impossible. He also develops a strong independent activity in the form of a few karate moves that thread him through key points of the picture, including a hilarious award ceremony, and a brilliant homage to Raging Bull's ending in front of the mirror. Watching Eddie develop as Dirk Diggler, one gets the sense that as we are all truly born to do something in life, most definitely Eddie is a pornographic godsend.

I love that this giant 13" protrusion in Dirk's pants is left to the imagination until the very end of the picture. My compliments to the whole third act finale, which neatly tied up everyone's story in a way that so many films frustratingly leave unresolved. It's really perfect, and a nice little comeback from some pretty awful circumstances. It makes the film less judgmental, that we could get behind these characters and actually see them end up okay, a nice little family.

Anderson's staging is amongst the best in the history of the craft, with long camera moves, but no wasted space between tracking/dolly moves, quickly picking up the action of the next set of characters, getting into their vibe, their story, and getting a sense of how interconnected everybody is.

What an amazing cast all around. Don Cheadle as Buck Swope achieves a total presence through the relation of his various appearances, the 80s New Years party Rick James look being my favorite. This is when everything is budding for changes, including Buck and the girl who will eventually be by his side - they are losing interest in this business and want to do something more legitimate. A new mustached character is introduced, one who will lead Dirk and Reed down a dark, godforsaken path. And then there's the culmination of Little Bill's (William H Macy) crisis with his cuckolding wife, which perfectly transitions us into the next phase of the film.
½ April 1, 2017
The story-telling is quite attractive.
March 24, 2017
Really captures the feel, and the look of the 70's. I also love how PT Anderson doesn't preach about how drugs are bad. Or how sex is bad. He just tells a story. One of my all time favorite movies.
Page 1 of 325