Cars 2 - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Cars 2 Reviews

Page 1 of 337
May 5, 2018
Pixar is an animation studio known for making creative plots. Cars 2 is a prime example of this. A James Bond style movie with cars instead of people is extremely creative and fresh. It may sound ridiculous on paper, but Pixar executes it in such an entertaining way as long as you don't mind Mater.
May 5, 2018
There wasn't enough story to go along with the action.
April 21, 2018
Cars 2 is an AMAZING AMAZING movie, I LOVE it, 10 out of 10 and 5 out of 5 stars.
½ April 20, 2018
i'm a 67 year old man in prison and i would rather be torched
½ April 17, 2018
If you can manage to look past its absurd premise, you may find that cars 2 is actually a pretty enjoyable film.
April 12, 2018
The cars becoming spies is badass.
April 8, 2018
This movie really makes you rethink Mater's personality and like him more
michael e.
Super Reviewer
March 29, 2018
Well Pixar has done it again. Cars 2 may not be the best Pixar has done , it is still fun to watch. Many new voice actors were brought in for this movie, Eddie Izzard, Jeff Gordon, Michael Caine, Jeff Garlin, Bruce Campbell and many others, my favorite was Michael Caine. Caine is good in most things, and this spy character he pulls off perfectly. AS with most Pixar movies the animation is top notch, and the final 25 minutes are great amounts of CG. The film does start out kind of stupid but it then gets really entertaining. My only gripe i have about the movie, is how it differs a lot from the firstr film, the first film was a racing movie and very heartwarming, this one is more of an action movie and spy movie than a racing movie, plus the plot is all over the place. But the comedy is still spot on with this movie, it still has all the original characters as the original, Mater, Sally, Flo, Ramone, Sarge, Filmore, Guido, Luigi, the only one not there is Doc Hudson. Now i was wondering how they were going to do Doc for the movie, if they were going to kill him off, or if they were going to get another voice actor for him like they did for Slinky in the new Toy Story. Speaking of Toy Story there is a fantastic short film before the movie that is about all the Toy Story 3 characters having a hawaian vacation. if you are looking for a fun and entertaining animated film definitely check this out.

3/0* out of 5

Review originally written 6/25/2011
March 27, 2018
Definitely the worst Pixar film of all time. Period.
½ March 16, 2018
Original, but predictable, with boring characters and a bad script.
March 11, 2018
cars 2 does not hold up the small world values cars 1 excelled at, but the comtemporary look at mater and how he copes with how others really see him still makes this film a strong entry in the pixar lineup.
½ March 1, 2018
We wanted a Cars 3, not a James Bond Pixar movie. Cars 2 takes everything we love about Cars (2006) and throws it in the trash. This is Pixars worst movie, no doubt about it.
February 21, 2018
The film is not one of the best by Pixar, but it's entertaining and cleverly shows varying cultures in a nice light.
½ February 21, 2018
I try to be optimistic when it comes to movies, and while this is definitely Pixar's "Black Sheep" anyone who says it's complete garbage is lying to themselves.
½ February 20, 2018
not impressive. i didnt like the beginning with all the guns and fire and didnt think it was great for kids... for example Mater being called an idiot. wouldn't bother watching it again. i dont have high hopes for #3
½ February 18, 2018
The mater sequel that should have been direct to Disney channel????
½ February 13, 2018
The movie is bad cars 1 is fine but this one is only the bad pixar movie the lead character is mater so it's so bad it's like a mater being a spy movie
½ February 9, 2018
Just another typical Disney sequel. They add in new characters, and then we never see them again. However, this movie manages to become one of the most hated Pixar movies. Ripping off James Bond movies, and even including a villain's motive, even though it was kind of logical, Cars 2 easily loses the charm it had in the first movie, if there was any in the first place.
January 29, 2018
this movie is certainly the weakest entry of pixar yet
½ January 27, 2018
Disney? Come on. You guys are better than this. I believe even Disney themselves didn't really want to put their logo on this one.
Page 1 of 337