A Clockwork Orange - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

A Clockwork Orange Reviews

Page 1 of 1561
December 16, 2017
A fantastic Malcolm McDowell performance and from the greatest director of all time, derived from one of the greatest English pieces of literature.
December 13, 2017
Boasting an electric cast, a bizarre yet engaging script, as well as masterful direction; A Clockwork Orange is as visually stimulating and thought-provoking as it is unnervingly disturbing.

4/5 stars
December 5, 2017
My favourite soundtrack, director, photography, script and film... Is not there something more epic, glorious or beautiful than this masterpiece?
December 2, 2017
I could watch Stanley Kubrick's Shining every day, but this, I couldn't do again.
November 25, 2017
A perfectly disturbing film about what humanity looks like when we act on darkest desires without regard, society's oppression of free expression, and the notion that personal change cannot be forced by exterior pressures--it must be willed.
November 24, 2017
So I'm honest I can not say much about this movie.
It's one of the best movies I've seen in life and one of my favorite movies.
In my life I met movies that I liked but not so good films were good or well done but I did not like it so much.
This is one of the few movies of my life where I just have to search the bad things with the magnifying glass and years later, the first look at my opinion has not changed until today.
Therefore, to give a proper review, I'll just list all the things I did not like about this movie:
The cut is a bit too fast for some places
The sound is a little bit poorly controlled from the middle (the place where Alex goes back to the house of this artist, I mean especially the truth, that's the only part of the movie that bothers me
You have to be able to get involved in this movie if you go in without knowing in this movie you get confused out until you can not do it anymore

PS: The movie is not the most brutal in the world but still has some view that makes many people shocking. I love those kind of movies, but I can see why a lot of people turned their heads around.
½ November 23, 2017
Disconcertingly dramaturgic and viscerally provocative, Stanley Kubrick's satiric adaptation of Anthony Burgess' novel is an exceedingly contentious prolegomenon on the aversion therapy for ultra-violence and the determinism of evil.
November 17, 2017
kubrick is the greatest director
November 15, 2017
A Clockwork Orange still feels like a minor work by Kubrick, and I can see why I didn't like it before, but I understand what everybody was going for and I think it does succeed as arthouse.
½ November 6, 2017
Unsettling and disturbing, a splendour that somehow makes the rapist psychopath the most human and understandable character.
October 15, 2017
Kubrick mixed genres and made a crossbred picture in 'A Clockwork Orange', and I can't really find the meaning that he tries to give to it, and it's probably better that way. Kubrick's movie has a great composition though, being fascinating to the eye, but also elaborately vulgar and sadistic. Viewing 'A Clockwork Orange' is like viewing a kaleidoscope while listening Beethoven, it is an appeal to the eye and the ear, but also spotted with disgust and 'ultraviolence' (psychological above all) and shaded with its director's relentless irony and perversity, who intentionally delivers no clear moral in his adaptation of Burgess's novel. It's an interesting reflection on the connection between entertainment and violence as well.
October 12, 2017
The second best movie of Kubrick movies
October 12, 2017
a masterpiece of cinema.
October 10, 2017
One of the finest movies ever made. It only becomes more and more relevant as time goes on and as we grow closer and closer to the future depicted herein. Stunning work.
½ September 25, 2017
Bringing subversive to a whole new level, Stanley Kubrick's dystopian nightmare serves as a biting, and quite disturbing, commentary on jaded society. It's a film that still remains shocking, even today, and dares to ask an eternally relevant (and haunting) question: "is it better to be evil of one's own free will, or good as a result of abusive conditioning?"
September 22, 2017
Very well done, with good use of violence, acting, and the music.
September 21, 2017
Iconic, astonishing, fundamental as it is at times incoherent and stuttering.
One finds himself closer to perfection when seeing the many imperfections of this film. Always beautiful despite starting to feel dated.
September 21, 2017
''Ho, ho, ho! Well, if it isn't fat, stinking billy goat Billy-boy in poison. How are thou... thou globby bottle of cheap, stinking chip-oil? Come and get one in the yarbles if you have any yarbles you eunuch jelly, thou.''

What do you mean what I'm talking about? I'm talking about the greatest controversial film of all time, A Clockwork Orange. I overall love this film especially when other people says how much a masterpiece this film actually is. I know my mum didn't like it because of how controversial the film actually is and you know what, it's not that bad. I mean, It's like that I don't care what people who haven't seen it says telling people who love the movie to stay away from it. Well, I gotta say: F$k the haters, Love the lovers. I mean it's freaking Stanley Kubrick, what more do you need? Even though much like I reviewed Full Metal Jacket in the past years, me and my friends absolutely adored it and this one is funny, violent and fantastically acted and directed. Unfortunately, what I haven't said, It's not for everyone. Malcolm McDowell is the bad guy who loves xxx and violence who is the leader of the droogies of Ultra-Violence and he got to jail, he decides to be good and be cured. Also he loves listening to classical music called Ludwig Van Beethoven but not anymore cause the people who work next to prison putting the classical music in the viddied scene about violence making him feel really sick. While the scene where Alex and his droogies assaulted the man and the women while singing ''Singing in the Rain'' is controversial for people but for me, it's just hilarious. I mean when he was singing ''Singing in the Rain.'' He also singing it while in the bath. I even sung this song in front of the teachers and my mates without letting them know that this is from this, not from the original Singin' in the Rain. Don't give anything away when I said that. Singing ''Singing in the Rain'' will never be the same again. There is also a scene that really made me chuckle where Alex shouting ''Turn it off!'' when he was listening to Ludwig Van. This is Stanley Kubrick's masterpiece that ever created. I love the designs, the artwork and the masterful film making especially the acting and directed. I don't care if it's clunky, I don't care if it has problems cause there aren't any. The stuff that works well works unbelievably well and it sticks with you. It is was one everybody's favorite films of all time along side Full Metal Jacket. If any of you people who haven't seen it, I just gotta say: Don't go hating on it because it's controversial and don't judge it for how bad it is because it's not. I'm looking at you, Mum. All you have to do is let them enjoy it and let them and me love it for Stanley Kubrick. So STFU and respect my opinion! (No Offense.)
September 16, 2017
This is a must see movie
September 3, 2017
I believe this could very possibly be, the best film to, well, be.
Page 1 of 1561