The Disappearance of Alice Creed - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Disappearance of Alice Creed Reviews

Page 1 of 60
August 29, 2016
I don't usually like movies with a majority dialogue focus. Film is a visual medium and it is best told through simple visuals. With that in mind, I really loved this movie. Why? Because of the characters.

If you're going to have to spend so much time in what is essentially one or two rooms for most of the run time, with a cast of three, you'd better make them enjoyable. And boy do they. Each character has their own unique feel, perspective, and stakes in the film. The tension builds slowly as different character bits are explored and played upon.

I would also like to take my hat off to actress Gemma Arterton. It couldn't have been an easy part to play. It's rare when one of your most physically and psychologically tense characters never leaves a bed. Geez.
½ July 16, 2016
This is typically Hitchcockian in terms of setting most of the film in one location, the acting is of a pretty good standard, which makes some of the scenes uncomfortable, twists and turns aplenty, a recommendation
June 5, 2016
It's good but it's not quite great. A terrific opening isn't quite made the most of, despite several twists and three top performances.
½ June 4, 2016
Good tense thriller. Excellent twists in the story including unexpected back stories.
May 13, 2016
The movie is good at drawing you in from the very start and will hold your attention with the tension it creates and twists it throws in. Some is predictable and some is a surprise. However the end is a mess and it becomes a bit much to believe especially in one glaring plot hole. But overall it is good. Not great.
Super Reviewer
½ March 31, 2016
J Blakeson as writer/director crafts a witty little dance for three in his kidnapping/extortion plot party. Just who is who is the question that drives the dilemma. Brave performances by all his principals. Good stuff. Am looking to more from this guy.
March 14, 2016
Well-made, British thriller with a cast of just three actors.
December 21, 2015
We didn't finish watching this tedious movie.
½ October 22, 2015
Starts off like it might be the worst kind of torture-porn but soon reveals itself to be rather more interesting than that. Piles twist upon twist, even if you can guess exactly what it's building up to.
½ October 6, 2015
Taut kidnapping thriller with fine performances and many plot twists.
September 5, 2015
I really enjoyed this film...
September 4, 2015
A genuinely great thriller. The Disappearance of Alice Creed is unlike any abduction movie ever made. It's got a notable cast with Gemma Arterton in the lead role of Alice Creed and brilliant cinematography that adds to the creepy mood.
½ August 22, 2015
Interesting, fast, albeit "small" regarding the overall plot, it is a nice little gem.
August 21, 2015
A satisfying 3 hander that rises above its basic premise with strong performances and unexpected twists.
½ August 10, 2015
While its conclusion may seem unremarkable given its twisted build-up, The Disappearance of Alice Creed is an effectively taut thriller grounded in its minimalism, turns, and 3 trigger-happy lead performances.
July 20, 2015
150711: I was thinking 2.5 stars but bumped it up a bit. For an obviously small budget film, this story is pretty well done. What I found weird is that I slowly developed a caring for the Vic and Danny characters and a dislike for Alice who was the victim here. The ending left me a little unsatisfied as well, perhaps because it was a little too realistic? There is no explanation of the ransom pickup either, which in reality, is the hardest part to execute. I'm not sure I'll add this to my library but will likely give it another chance one day.
½ May 14, 2015
Uneven, somewhat annoying and not very believable.
March 7, 2015
Gemma has the "The Best Naked Body" I have ever seen! I'm Completely serious for me anyways. This is the first movie w/her in it that I noticed but I was Blown Away when I saw this movie. Gemma you are what I in a Woman...I thought you were Georgics on the OUT-Side but you have got it going on Inside as well.
½ February 18, 2015
(67%)
A largely watertight, stripped-down kidnap based crime thriller that marks a reasonably high point in lower budgeted British cinema. I've seen multi-million dollar movies that aren't as engrossing or even as well made as this, and while many movies of this type run out of steam after about thirty or so minutes this on the other hand has more than a few twists lined up along the way meaning there's plenty to get your teeth into. And with only three characters featuring in the entire picture this does a fine job of keeping things fresh, with the always good Eddie Marsan lifting the film even higher. It may be a touch underwritten in parts, but this is overall well worth tracking down.
½ February 12, 2015
Bastante interesante, con varios giros imprevistos y otros predecibles. Todo lo que se puede conseguir con tan sólo 3 actores.
Page 1 of 60