Dogville - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Dogville Reviews

Page 1 of 176
September 8, 2017
Ben tre ore di film sperimentale girato tutto nella stessa stanza, senza cambio di ambientazione o di location. Suona come un'esperienza noiosissima, ed infatti così è stato. Quando è troppo è troppo, non sono riuscito ad apprezzare il film neanche in un istante: trovo che l'idea del regista semplicemente non abbia funzionato, il risultato è un film apatico, vuoto, noioso, pesante, con una morale talmente nascosta che in fin dei conti risulta inconsistente. E' giusto che i registi trovino nuovi modi per emozionare il loro pubblico, ma questo esperimento si è decisamente spinto troppo oltre, offrendoci un film troppo ambizioso e senza anima.
½ September 3, 2017
What it says about arrogance and bad American values is interesting, and I understand its experimentation, but I just wish I could see the actual world around the characters.
September 3, 2017
Dogville is rich with evil interesting characters, but immaterial in the environment presented by Lars von Trier with little to look at other than the characters which is what he wants. It is a long and experimental film which has a lot of room for interpretation and this can either be a fascinating film or a disgusting bore. Although the film is a hard interpretation of humanity what is truly frighting is that we understand where von Trier is coming from and that we might even slightly empathize with his perspective.
July 13, 2017
Dogville might not be my personal favorite, but I wouldn't argue with anyone who said it it's the best movie ever made. It combined everything I love about the theater with everything great about independent films and foreign films. I have forgotten most of the movies I've watched over the past 17 years but I still remember the first time I watched Dogville and the second time I watched it, with my parents, who were scandalized, but of course very enthralled with the allegorical subject matter. It's very long and minimalist but it's very much anti-imperialist America, which is why I liked it. It's classified as an international film since Lars is Danish, the production companies are multiple countries, and the cast is British / American. The movie got pretty savage reviews by the US media, mostly decrying the fact that it was vitriolic, anti-American and bitter. That was one of my coming-of-age moments when I realized most critics don't know what they're talking about. Since when is passion in art a bad thing?

Few films, outside of the torture porn genre, will fill you with as much righteous fury as Dogville. The film is an exceptional allegory for mankind's gross sins against his own people. As much as we would all like to believe that the film is about man's suffering and the injustice of mob mentality, there is one important point we're all missing. This is about your country! Dogville is the harshest criticism of American values I've ever seen and that is strictly because of its allegorical simplicity and G-rated content. This ambiance makes Lars Von Trier's vitriolic commentary seem like a Disney cartoon on crack. Nicole Kidman's performance is brilliantly naive and yet subtle enough to suggest she doesn't know what the movie's about. (She does...she's an Aussie) The many bizarre cameos by American actors just amaze me. (Sonny Corleone, what were you thinking?) Dogville is a triumph of manic depressive, prejudicial rage.

What I Learned: Definitely one of the movies that made me lose faith in humanity. Realizing that your own country is capable of great evil, and that people you trusted are fully capable of exploiting your weakness and your forgiveness, is frightening. I think Dogville is a movie that disillusions you and brings you to a new level of consciousness. Like Kubrick, another influence of mine, I think Lars' voice-his distrust of humanity-is a strong voice in my head I have yet to shake.
June 21, 2017
Dogville is an inventive and daring masterpiece that pulls no punches.
½ May 15, 2017
August 2010: This was an impactful movie. Being filmed on stage was unusual. Little long but ends hard.
April 26, 2017
Its a play, not a movie. Not my kind of thing
April 9, 2017
Seria Grace a representação de Jesus e os moradores da vila a humanidade? Seria o pai de Grace a representação de Deus? Tudo se encaixa e revemos o quão egoísta a humanidade pode ser e que talvez, esteja na hora de sumirmos.
February 28, 2017
Cuando pensamos en que reunir todos los problemas de una decadente sociedad no pueden transmitirse al mismo tiempo en un solo mensaje, pues al parecer puede tratarse de una tarea imposible, Lars von Trier consigue idear un largometraje que recopila todo ello. ¿Quiénes somos realmente?, ¿hacia qué futuro se dirigen los colectivos de occidente?, ¿qué destino nos depara a este ritmo? Von Trier logra contestar todas aquellas incógnitas a través de una obra reveladora de poco más de dos horas: "Dogville"
Narrada a través de una elegante y poética prosa, el personaje de Grace (Nicole Kidman) llega al pequeñísimo poblado de Dogville, huyendo de un grupo de gánsteres, por lo que no tiene otra opción más que alojarse en este lugar, tratando de ganarse la confianza de sus pobladores. Con el tiempo, la aparente amabilidad y gentileza de la población se va transformando hacia algo diferente y muy inesperado. En primer lugar, la película muestra cómo el mal se puede propagar como una plaga en esta comunidad de personas que lucen aceptablemente decentes. "Dogville" nunca pretende ser completamente realista, pues las situaciones mostradas se exageran y también se satirizan. Visto hacia un nivel más profundo, la película es una historia increíblemente oscura que habla de la hipocresía humana, las voluntades y deseos secretos, los crímenes indescriptibles, la culpa incapacitante, y la racionalización del egoísmo. Todo esto es meticulosamente elaborado de forma que uno comprenda directamente que se está hablando de la sociedad misma en la que nos desenvolvemos y la cultura e ideologías que arrastramos. Los temas hacen alusión a todos los problemas que afectan a nuestra enferma y decrépita sociedad y a las que no hacemos mucho caso. Peor aún, todo lo negativo que pasa en nuestro mundo se ve como normal y pasa frente a nosotros de forma inadvertida; somos responsables de lo que pasa y la rutinización e indiferencia ante situaciones vinculadas al abuso de mujeres, discriminación, pobreza, aislamiento, entre otras, agravan aún más el contexto propio.
Como el resto de sus películas, von Trier insiste en que los humanos no somos más que reflejos de nuestro propio ser interno. No importan los discursos ni las ideas que "firmemente" se comparten y discuten ante el mundo, pues al final, las reacciones y decisiones responden a nuestras pasiones y emociones más internas que no son más que la parte más animal e instintiva que todos tenemos.
Sin duda esta es también una de las mejores películas nihilistas que se han trabajado en el cine. Normalmente es fácil detectar rasgos antisociales en las películas de este director, pero en este caso su idea del nihilismo es diferente: sus personajes principales no son nihilistas, sino personas íntegras. El problema es que el mundo entero que los rodea es un vacío cruel e injusto. El director crea una compleja trama psicológica y, para enfocarse en ella él quiere mostrar la omnipresente injusticia de los hombres, situación que está presente en toda sociedad y que la hipocresía no merece ninguna salvación. Dogville presenta un mundo demasiado cruel para cualquier liberación y también la perversidad ocasiona una inevitable desmoralización tanto individual como colectiva, eliminando la importancia hacia los valores y hacia las concepciones que disuaden entre el bien y el mal.
Cínicamente, el castigo corporal y la educación moral estricta son temas de ámbito conservador que se sostienen a lo largo de toda la película, recalcando esta idea de la oscura naturaleza humana, surgiendo conclusiones morales que por muy duras que sean, incómodas y preferibles de evitar, son en realidad verdades que deben tomarse en serio. Von Trier también insiste y es muy efectivo y conciso al momento de describir cómo la gente esconde, suprime, y libera sus celos, deseos sexuales, mala voluntad, y su fetiche moral para el castigo de otros. La película retrata las formas de estas acciones de forma precisa y astuta, y a pesar de que exagera la magnitud de los deseos a niveles poco realistas, sí que incitan a una rígida reflexión, pues todo lo presentado son las verdades indeseables de las que siempre preferimos evadir e ignorar. Por ello mucha de la crítica se siente ofendida y rechaza mucha información de "Dogville", puesto que no acepta lo que ve y no puede reconocerlo, dejándolo hacia un lado por comodidad. La gran creatividad con la que se crea la historia, los lugares, el guión mismo y el haber utilizado a este elenco, en el que cada personaje encierra un interesante conjunto de características referentes a pecados y al cinismo, son elementos cuya implementación no tienen comparación, pues sin duda nadie más que von Trier pudo haber sido capaz de crear una obra de tal magnitud y poder que trasciende ahora y lo seguirá haciendo por mucho tiempo más.
95/100
½ February 9, 2017
Von Trier's tedious torture of the heroine would be thought provoking if it actually served a broader artistic narrative or if the film at least felt like it was going some where. Since it doesn't, Von Trier asks us to forgive his malicious cynisism so that we may simply gawk at his novel approach. Von Trier's contempt for his characters could only be matched by his pretentious contempt for his audience.
½ December 23, 2016
Von Trier is a genius!
December 4, 2016
Structurally, there's nothing else like it.
½ November 21, 2016
A must-see if you're interested in drama or film. Strangely prophetic, given the choice of the next President of the USA and the increasing exposure of the US proclivities for enslavement, rape and mass murder, both domestically and abroad. Admittedly, nowadays polluting drinking water takes the place of starving a dog, drones are much more effective than machine-guns and economic slavery is more widespread than chaining people to a deadweight.
November 19, 2016
Best movie ever made.
½ November 9, 2016
Brilliantly original. Relied on captivating small town screenplay. The menacing feel and philosophical undercurrent mark this out as one of the better films of the decade. A memorable performance from Kidman caps off a bit of a modern classic.
½ November 5, 2016
"Dogville" is a cinematic experience, or should I say a social experience? Good, do not know. The fact is that Lars Von Trier tells a story about human nature in a city that is no more risk on the ground in a film that is 3 hours long, impossible? fulsome? silly? no, nothing like that, quite the contrary, the genius of "Dogville" is in its simplicity, everything is simple, but everything is extremely technical quality, let's talk about the best thing in the film, the script, which goes in the 30s and tells the story of Grace (Nicole Kidman) who is running away from gansgters and decides to take shelter in Dogville, a town with 15 inhabitants who decides to hide in exchange for favores.E is there that Lars Von Trier makes a study on human evil, showing the extent to which human being is able to act when it has power over the other, and how it takes situations of advantages when you can, benefits those who go this the rapes to simple favors, going to leave Grace chained as a dog, but Lars von Trier also tells us in the final scene that is intrinsic to the human being and to the fact that Grace did not kill the dog is a message for us, because the dog is not evil by nature as human beings. Technically, the file has a otina photograph, although the city does not really exist, all climate change are flagged with perfect care, she spends host and fear at the same time, the picture is good, sound mixing is amazing, because we have doors, windows, or anything, but we have the sounds, and it does that as long you just forget that this city simply does not exist, and the performances are very good, Nicole Kidman is great. I love Dogville, pos despite its three hours he has pace, and has something to say, and is a very intelligent comment, I love the fact that the city does not exist, it goes on the idea that can be any city, I love the story third-person and especially love the theatrical atmosphere of the film, "Dogville" is more than a movie, it's a lesson on the human being.
October 25, 2016
Executed on a bare, colourless set through a handful of talented actors, this story slowly gets under your skin and holds a mirror up to every ugly and unnerving bump of our humanness. Nicole Kidman plays very well and John Hurts familiar and homey voice narrating at intervals throughout tie the experience all together.
October 23, 2016
I can't quite decide whether the 'film as stage play' conceit is inventive or just missing the point of cinema (after all, if Von Trier wanted to write a play, he could have done...)
½ September 27, 2016
I loved this movie. It's more like a theater play, and it focuses on the issue of free will, and whether or not it exists, and if it does (or doesn't), what consequences this has for the actions of people. I loved the stage, acting, music, narration and story, go watch this!
August 8, 2016
In one word: Masterpiece. Can satisfy both, art and commercial audience. Camera is perfect. Screenplay, one of the greatest ever.
Page 1 of 176