Eyes Wide Shut - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Eyes Wide Shut Reviews

Page 1 of 365
½ September 4, 2017
I knew before watching Eyes Wide Shut that there was a lot I was going to hate in it. I don?t care for graphic nudity and sexuality in film, and that?s a big thematic part of this movie. I did not enjoy that aspect (although it felt oddly horrific instead of sexual in the way it was presented.) What might have bothered me just as much was the fact that the 2 main characters are so unsympathetic. They behave horribly towards one another and constantly make moronic decisions. Also many of the lines are worded in a way that normal people would never speak, and delivered in a strange fashion that feels stilted and unnatural. Yet there was something in Eyes Wide Shut that lifted it above my hatred to be a film I admired despite not enjoying it. There?s this dream-like quality to everything that happens in the film, and the way it is presented. It?s so strange that I wouldn?t have been surprised if we found out at the end nothing was real and it all happened in Tom Cruise?s mind. The visuals are gorgeous, the set design helps with that, and the exterior night shots are also brilliant. There?s something hypnotic about Eyes Wide Shut, it almost made me feel sucked in as if I were experiencing these things alongside the protagonist. I struggled to make it through this film, because so much of it was like my movie kryptonite, but I can?t deny Kubrick?s artistry and vision. I may not like it, but he made something special out of this film, and I can actually see why others love it.
½ August 6, 2017
Kubrick's coldest film.
August 5, 2017
This film is absolutely brilliant. Like many of Kubrick's films, I didn't love this movie the first time I saw it, in fact, I didn't really get it. Yet, watching it again, I realize theres a lot to work off of and think about. Kubrick considered this film to be one of his best films he has directed, and so do I.
July 26, 2017
Intensity in multiple encounters, haunting visuals and themes, complexity in the characters and intentions. Would've loved to have seen Kubrick's completed version.
½ July 26, 2017
Stanley Kubrick Last Film.
Magic and Psychedelic.
July 12, 2017
Was it Stanley Kubrick's last mangled masterpiece (that he never quite finished) or was it a tightly wound watch that we're still trying to figure out? I avoid such speculation, partly because a true follower of Kubrick would probably form an opinion rather quickly and I'm not one to take issue with whatever his fans think. More to the point, I enjoyed the movie simply because it was Tom Cruise at his most vulnerable on screen. IMO, this was one of the very few films that made him genuinely likable, and then spent the next 2-3 hours emotionally gouging him. For the record, I don't think Kubrick was actually confessing or condemning anything about the Illuminati, as much as he simply used masonic imagery to toy with our imaginations, much in the way he poked us with Apollo imagery in The Shining. Kubrick was a violent dinosaur intellectually speaking and just wouldn't have felt right about leaving us a more specific social commentary.
July 11, 2017
The reason this isn't considered one of the greatest films of all time, is because it was marketed very badly, after Kubrick's death. He would never have let it be advertised as romance or erotica in 1999. It is a deep psychological thriller that studies all of the conscious and unconscious desires/fears in relationships and sex. It is subtle and powerful. Should be considered no less of a masterpiece than any of Kubrick's other films.
June 27, 2017
It is definitely Stanley Kubrick's weakest, but certainly a strongly influential work, since he passed away after doing it, playing a safe-but effective card, with strong dialogue, suspense and, especially, his typical signature in prominent and powerful visuals, creating atmosphere and tension towards the majority of the film, which is carried, for the most part, thanks to Cruise and Kidman's amazing chemistry.
½ June 24, 2017
Sexy, scary, scandalous, philosofical and insanely unsettling and tense, the last Kubrick's work might not be his best, but it was definitely better than "Fear and Desire" or "Barry Lyndon". It might get a little bit slow or dragged but, so are other Kubrick movies, if you like movies that take their time quietly, this one is ideal.
½ June 9, 2017
Okay, so I originally kinda shit-canned this one when I first saw it ages ago on video, but I have had to reassess in recent months. The film isn't bad, but it's not *that good* either - the most intriguing thing I got out of it the second go 'round was the house porn of all the super sexy mansions and expensive Manhattan apartments, which looked amazing.

Yeah, there's a lot of fun nudity, but after awhile it hits a saturation point that makes it hard to find that stuff interesting, and then you're left with a boring fairly loveless marriage that's not all that interesting, to be perfectly honest.

It's worth a rental for a bit of further observation, but it's still far from my favorite Kubrick film.
June 3, 2017
Second time round for this fellow, didn't like it first time however without the hype and hooplah it really is rather good, Rigidly assured, very measured, always good to look at and with a singular soundtrack. Thriller? No. Erotic? Not particularly. Intriguing? Definitely; illustrating, as it does a degenerative morality at the heart of Western society...could be the Illuminati or any other secret cohort of the well heeled feasting off the powers of paganism and it's inherent evil.
May 26, 2017
Kubrick's last film on the big screen. This is a very good movie that plays with your mind. It has an odd and eerie feeling to it. Great movie based on dream story. Good back story acting, drama, suspense and a really weird party.
May 22, 2017
I saw this movie in the theaters when it came out. I saw it in my youth as a teenager. Never in my entire life have i ever encountered a film that could make sex and nudity so dreadfully boring.

The plot is essentially useless and meaningless.

The sex scenes were boring and not interesting.

The acting was contrived and forced.

Literally one of the worst movies of all time.
May 15, 2017
Kubrick's most underrated film. It is an epic work of art, keeps a dreamy feeling throughout the movie in a way I have never seen before. Unique and Impressive.
½ May 6, 2017
"Eyes Wide Shut" goes on and on and on and nothing really happens. The end is surprising but makes absolutely no sense at all. The sex scenes are not really great. Cruise and Kidman, at least, are the high point of the movie.
May 4, 2017
This movie didn't really end up being what I was hoping the final film of Stanley Kubrick to be. This movie is still worth a look if you like this type of thing. Tom Cruise and Nicole Kidman are great performers, but I found they didn't really have a whole lot of interesting scenes together. This movie will mostly bore the average film fan, but as a Kubrick fan, you should see it.
½ May 3, 2017
It's a strange kind of creepy masterpiece with the stamp of Kubrick's genius printed.
April 29, 2017
The critics do not understand this masterpiece. All they are doing are watching it, not experiencing it. They cannot find the true beauty and most importantly meanings of this great film that showcases Stanley Kubrick's brilliance.
March 30, 2017
I've seen it for the 2nd time and now I can say that this is a masterpiece.
March 25, 2017
A very cold haunting movie about a husband who asks his wife a question about sex and gets an answer he wasn't expecting. That women lust after other men all the time. Kubrick then has the husband go on a long dangerous journey that deals with death and immorality. Everything I love in a movie. Good film.
Page 1 of 365