Eyes Wide Shut - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Eyes Wide Shut Reviews

Page 1 of 364
March 30, 2017
I've seen it for the 2nd time and now I can say that this is a masterpiece.
March 25, 2017
A very cold haunting movie about a husband who asks his wife a question about sex and gets an answer he wasn't expecting. That women lust after other men all the time. Kubrick then has the husband go on a long dangerous journey that deals with death and immorality. Everything I love in a movie. Good film.
March 5, 2017
Kubricks' twisted tale of a sexually obsessed subconscious is as depraved and brilliant as you've heard.
½ February 15, 2017
As a great admirer of Kubrick's work, "Eyes Wide Shut" had me at a bit of a quandary. On the one hand, I'd like to simply classify it as a movie about the temptation of sex, and thereby dismiss it. On the other hand it's also a movie about love. But not in the traditional sense. We're never really given the impression that Cruise and Kidman's characters actually love each other, all we sense is anger and resentment with any feelings of love coming out of feelings of obligation. I think this movie begs the question: is love something of the heart or the subconscious?

It also has a lot to say about dreams, given that much of the film feels like a dream, at times even a nightmare. Kubrick paints a picture of our lead characters that is relatable, but also beyond reason. Which further drives home the point that it could all be a dream. The whole film is lit with this fantastical, hazy lighting which is all very theatrical and over-the-top, commonplace in a Kubrick film. But the only time that we have simple lighting is the moments when he's in his bedroom with his wife. One particular scene when she wakes up from an erotic nightmare.

Thematic material aside, this is great filmmaking. Kubrick is one of the most skilled artists to ever grace the silver screen, and this is a fitting swan song for him. It has beautiful, lush visuals, layered performances, beautiful cinematography, a score that will stick to your ribs, and a plot that explores love and sexuality unlike any other.

Overall, much like recent films like Lars Von Trier's "Nymphomaniac" or Derek Cianfrance's "Blue Valentine," if you watch this movie simply for the sex than you've completely missed the point. This isn't simply elegant pornography, it's a work of art that is puzzling and tough.
February 7, 2017
An absolutely captivating masterpiece from the mind of Stanley Kubrick, that seems to imagine the unimaginable. What an interesting study on the human psyche and how desires are sometimes so hard to resist. This is a film that utilizes mood rather than an extreme amount of substance that will keep your eyes glued to the screen from start to finish. Amazing!
½ February 1, 2017
While it takes a while to get going, it's never wise to sleep on Kubrick.
½ January 14, 2017
Clever last film from Stanley Kubrick - can see why its not to everyone's taste though.
January 7, 2017
One of Kubrick's weaker films, however, it is still a great movie experience.
December 27, 2016
Eyes Wide Shut is easily my favorite Tom Cruise movie, my favorite Stanley Kubrick film, and one of my favorite Christmas movies as well.
½ December 25, 2016
Intriguing relationship sexual tensions and an expose of the underbelly of high society. A really good Christmas film that constantly feels like the season with cold weather and Christmas lights in nearly every shot. I love the Christmas time in New York atmosphere from the New York streets and shops, to cafes, to cramped humble apartments to the lavish lifestyles (although not actually filmed in NYC). The film is also better when you are aware of the ritualistic history of American society and know that there are secret parties among the most powerful.
½ December 10, 2016
Although inferior to his classics, Stanley Kubrick's erotic last film is a movie I ended watching not really knowing what to say, as I was perplexed by what exactly the film was trying to say.
Super Reviewer
½ November 28, 2016
A slow-burning Kubrickian exploration of extramarital sexual desire and jealousy full of symbolism, and it throws us together with the characters in a nightmarish odyssey highlighted by a terrific game of colors using blue and red to suggest menace and unconscious sex impulses.
½ November 24, 2016
Chock full of esoteric symbolism. This film can be seen on many different levels. The score added much tension and was driving me crazy. Friggin illuminati and their sex rituals...
November 8, 2016
I wish I couldn't disrespect the legend's final work, but I have to. The movie was missing the touch of neorealism all his previous movies had, not to mention it was littered with witty dialogue and mediocre acting. And the last hour was just a load of awkward silence of music that was already getting annoying and over used. The last word of the movie... his movies never had any end lessons for the characters or audience.

I'm sorry Stanley Kubrick, but you left us without a bang.
November 4, 2016
An intriguing film that has so many twists and turns. This was the first Kubrick film I ever saw, and it was definitely a surreal experience. Although it doesn't hold as much weight has films like 2001, A Clockwork Orange, or Dr. Strangelove, it's definitely a film worth checking out. Not only because it is Kubrick's final film, but it's one with sequences that are visually surreal and it has a story that is an intense one.
½ October 25, 2016
This film is absolutely brilliant. Like many of Kubrick's films, I didn't love this movie the first time I saw it, in fact, I didn't really get it. Yet, watching it again, I realize theres a lot to work off of and think about. Kubrick considered this film to be one of his best films he has directed, and so do I.
October 8, 2016
Kubrick... how are you this good at movie making? How do you think so differently about this art form than everyone else? This film is not for everyone, but it is objectively a masterpiece.
September 25, 2016
One of Kubrick's best works. great acting from Cruise and Kidman, as always masterful directing from the master of cinema. Kubrick's most underrated work, in his top three best ever. A+
September 19, 2016
Spellbinding, dark and multi-layered. Withstands multiple viewings and still leaves you scratching your head as you find new detail.
Page 1 of 364