Eyes Wide Shut - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Eyes Wide Shut Reviews

Page 1 of 365
July 12, 2017
Was it Stanley Kubrick's last mangled masterpiece (that he never quite finished) or was it a tightly wound watch that we're still trying to figure out? I avoid such speculation, partly because a true follower of Kubrick would probably form an opinion rather quickly and I'm not one to take issue with whatever his fans think. More to the point, I enjoyed the movie simply because it was Tom Cruise at his most vulnerable on screen. IMO, this was one of the very few films that made him genuinely likable, and then spent the next 2-3 hours emotionally gouging him. For the record, I don't think Kubrick was actually confessing or condemning anything about the Illuminati, as much as he simply used masonic imagery to toy with our imaginations, much in the way he poked us with Apollo imagery in The Shining. Kubrick was a violent dinosaur intellectually speaking and just wouldn't have felt right about leaving us a more specific social commentary.
July 11, 2017
The reason this isn't considered one of the greatest films of all time, is because it was marketed very badly, after Kubrick's death. He would never have let it be advertised as romance or erotica in 1999. It is a deep psychological thriller that studies all of the conscious and unconscious desires/fears in relationships and sex. It is subtle and powerful. Should be considered no less of a masterpiece than any of Kubrick's other films.
June 27, 2017
It is definitely Stanley Kubrick's weakest, but certainly a strongly influential work, since he passed away after doing it, playing a safe-but effective card, with strong dialogue, suspense and, especially, his typical signature in prominent and powerful visuals, creating atmosphere and tension towards the majority of the film, which is carried, for the most part, thanks to Cruise and Kidman's amazing chemistry.
½ June 24, 2017
Sexy, scary, scandalous, philosofical and insanely unsettling and tense, the last Kubrick's work might not be his best, but it was definitely better than "Fear and Desire" or "Barry Lyndon". It might get a little bit slow or dragged but, so are other Kubrick movies, if you like movies that take their time quietly, this one is ideal.
½ June 9, 2017
Okay, so I originally kinda shit-canned this one when I first saw it ages ago on video, but I have had to reassess in recent months. The film isn't bad, but it's not *that good* either - the most intriguing thing I got out of it the second go 'round was the house porn of all the super sexy mansions and expensive Manhattan apartments, which looked amazing.

Yeah, there's a lot of fun nudity, but after awhile it hits a saturation point that makes it hard to find that stuff interesting, and then you're left with a boring fairly loveless marriage that's not all that interesting, to be perfectly honest.

It's worth a rental for a bit of further observation, but it's still far from my favorite Kubrick film.
June 3, 2017
Second time round for this fellow, didn't like it first time however without the hype and hooplah it really is rather good, Rigidly assured, very measured, always good to look at and with a singular soundtrack. Thriller? No. Erotic? Not particularly. Intriguing? Definitely; illustrating, as it does a degenerative morality at the heart of Western society...could be the Illuminati or any other secret cohort of the well heeled feasting off the powers of paganism and it's inherent evil.
May 26, 2017
Kubrick's last film on the big screen. This is a very good movie that plays with your mind. It has an odd and eerie feeling to it. Great movie based on dream story. Good back story acting, drama, suspense and a really weird party.
May 22, 2017
I saw this movie in the theaters when it came out. I saw it in my youth as a teenager. Never in my entire life have i ever encountered a film that could make sex and nudity so dreadfully boring.

The plot is essentially useless and meaningless.

The sex scenes were boring and not interesting.

The acting was contrived and forced.

Literally one of the worst movies of all time.
May 15, 2017
Kubrick's most underrated film. It is an epic work of art, keeps a dreamy feeling throughout the movie in a way I have never seen before. Unique and Impressive.
½ May 6, 2017
"Eyes Wide Shut" goes on and on and on and nothing really happens. The end is surprising but makes absolutely no sense at all. The sex scenes are not really great. Cruise and Kidman, at least, are the high point of the movie.
May 4, 2017
This movie didn't really end up being what I was hoping the final film of Stanley Kubrick to be. This movie is still worth a look if you like this type of thing. Tom Cruise and Nicole Kidman are great performers, but I found they didn't really have a whole lot of interesting scenes together. This movie will mostly bore the average film fan, but as a Kubrick fan, you should see it.
½ May 3, 2017
It's a strange kind of creepy masterpiece with the stamp of Kubrick's genius printed.
April 29, 2017
The critics do not understand this masterpiece. All they are doing are watching it, not experiencing it. They cannot find the true beauty and most importantly meanings of this great film that showcases Stanley Kubrick's brilliance.
March 30, 2017
I've seen it for the 2nd time and now I can say that this is a masterpiece.
March 25, 2017
A very cold haunting movie about a husband who asks his wife a question about sex and gets an answer he wasn't expecting. That women lust after other men all the time. Kubrick then has the husband go on a long dangerous journey that deals with death and immorality. Everything I love in a movie. Good film.
March 5, 2017
Kubricks' twisted tale of a sexually obsessed subconscious is as depraved and brilliant as you've heard.
½ February 15, 2017
As a great admirer of Kubrick's work, "Eyes Wide Shut" had me at a bit of a quandary. On the one hand, I'd like to simply classify it as a movie about the temptation of sex, and thereby dismiss it. On the other hand it's also a movie about love. But not in the traditional sense. We're never really given the impression that Cruise and Kidman's characters actually love each other, all we sense is anger and resentment with any feelings of love coming out of feelings of obligation. I think this movie begs the question: is love something of the heart or the subconscious?

It also has a lot to say about dreams, given that much of the film feels like a dream, at times even a nightmare. Kubrick paints a picture of our lead characters that is relatable, but also beyond reason. Which further drives home the point that it could all be a dream. The whole film is lit with this fantastical, hazy lighting which is all very theatrical and over-the-top, commonplace in a Kubrick film. But the only time that we have simple lighting is the moments when he's in his bedroom with his wife. One particular scene when she wakes up from an erotic nightmare.

Thematic material aside, this is great filmmaking. Kubrick is one of the most skilled artists to ever grace the silver screen, and this is a fitting swan song for him. It has beautiful, lush visuals, layered performances, beautiful cinematography, a score that will stick to your ribs, and a plot that explores love and sexuality unlike any other.

Overall, much like recent films like Lars Von Trier's "Nymphomaniac" or Derek Cianfrance's "Blue Valentine," if you watch this movie simply for the sex than you've completely missed the point. This isn't simply elegant pornography, it's a work of art that is puzzling and tough.
February 7, 2017
An absolutely captivating masterpiece from the mind of Stanley Kubrick, that seems to imagine the unimaginable. What an interesting study on the human psyche and how desires are sometimes so hard to resist. This is a film that utilizes mood rather than an extreme amount of substance that will keep your eyes glued to the screen from start to finish. Amazing!
½ February 1, 2017
While it takes a while to get going, it's never wise to sleep on Kubrick.
½ January 14, 2017
Clever last film from Stanley Kubrick - can see why its not to everyone's taste though.
Page 1 of 365